風化與健康(Wx + H)

風化加健康圖表2015年,華盛頓州立法機關擴大了對健康,安全和節能高效的低收入天氣化的投資。 它首次允許進行改進,以幫助兒童和成人對抗哮喘。 這個倡議是 風化加健康。 在2016年至2017年的試點階段,該計劃為全州的八個贈款項目提供了2.3萬美元。 從那時起,我們就繼續發展該計劃,為該州的大部分地區提供服務。 我們希望到2021年能夠整合 風化加健康 作為我們的節能天氣化計劃的常規服務。

Weatherization Plus Health結合了節能和節省成本的天氣改善措施,以及有助於改善患有哮喘的兒童和成人的家庭環境的措施。 它使用社區健康教育合作夥伴關係來進行客戶招募,評估以及強化的家庭教育和跟進。 事實證明,這種策略可以降低高危家庭的健康風險和醫療費用。

天氣化和健康試驗經驗

在試點項目的經驗中,我們有機會發展了社區衛生合作夥伴關係,並在該州的八個地方在實地測試了我們的模型。 我們獨特的服務受到好評。 患有高能量賬單的低收入家庭以及患有哮喘和COPD的家庭成員的健康狀況有所不同。

每個社區的需求都有所不同。 但是我們試圖提供一套通用的措施。 措施包括; 綠色清潔套件,塵蟎覆蓋物,防盜墊,一氧化碳探測器,HEPA吸塵器,地毯清除和地板更換,減少濕氣和黴菌,改善通風,排水溝和落水管的維修和更換。

我們於2017年500月在該州完成了試點項目。為XNUMX多個家庭提供了服務。 WSU能源計劃正在記錄我們模型的影響和挑戰,並正在幫助我們評估未來的“風化加健康”工作的方案。 在此處閱讀其實施報告.

試點計劃的影響

早期成功

皮爾斯縣華盛頓

Mr. Shaw is a senior citizen with a disability.肖先生是一位殘疾老人。 He spent his life working very hard to support himself and now survives on Social Security and disability income.他一生都在努力工作以養活自己,現在靠社會保障和殘疾收入生存。 When we first met, he was gasping for breath just sitting and talking with me.當我們第一次見面時,他只是坐在和我聊天時喘不過氣來。 Getting up and moving about the home to show me some of his concerns with his home was taxing on him, evident from the wheezing and his eventual excusing himself to go sit back down.起身走動到家向我展示他對他的房屋的一些擔憂使他受了累,這從喘息和他最終找回自己坐下的姿勢中可以看出。 His house was in very bad shape, and so was his respiratory health.他的房子狀況很糟,呼吸系統也很糟糕。

閱讀全文...

風化與健康的面孔

健康房屋資源

天氣化與健康資源

關於華盛頓州哮喘的事實

低收入家庭患哮喘的機會更多。

兒童哮喘的發生率最高。

64,000年,我們進行了2010次哮喘急診就診。

華盛頓州每年花費73萬美元用於哮喘住院治療; 公共資金支付60%。

需要幫忙?

勞拉·維克(Laura Viik)
laura.viik@commerce.wa.gov

試點項目對健康的影響-皮爾斯縣案例研究

我們在皮爾斯縣人類服務部和塔科馬/皮爾斯縣公共衛生部門之間開展的試點項目合作為哮喘和COPD家庭的健康和生活質量顯著改善提供了早期確認。 皮爾斯郡健康院研究 2019年XNUMX月發布的文檔記錄了這些結果。

2018-19計劃

從2018年開始,我們開始將Weatherization Plus Health的工作擴展到全州的整個網絡。 現在到2019年,有14個地方機構正在投資1.3萬美元,用於300多個房屋的工作。 我們期待改進我們的服務方法,以期對哮喘和其他呼吸系統健康問題的客戶產生積極影響,並在未來兩年內在華盛頓州提供該服務。

Weatherization Plus Health ChartIn 2015 the Washington State legislature expanded its investment in healthy, safe and energy efficient low-income weatherization. It allowed, for the first time, improvements that help children and adults combat asthma. This initiative is Weatherization Plus Health. In its pilot phase from 2016 to 2017, the program provided $2.3 million to eight grant projects around the state. Since then, we’ve continued to grow the program, serving larger portions of the state. By 2021 we hope to integrate Weatherization Plus Health as a regular service with our energy saving Weatherization Program.

Weatherization Plus Health combines energy and cost-saving weatherization improvements with measures that help to improve the home environments for children and adults who have asthma. It uses community health education partnerships for client recruitment, assessment, and intensive home education and follow-up. This strategy has been shown to reduce health risks and healthcare costs for at-risk families.

Weatherization Plus Health Pilot Experience

attic weatherization installation

During the pilot project experience, we had a chance to develop community health partnerships and to test our models on the ground in eight locations around the state. Our unique services were well-received. Low-income households with high energy bills and family members suffering from asthma and COPD are seeing a difference in their health.

Each community’s needs are a little different. But we’ve tried to provide a common set of measures. The measures include; Green Cleaning Kits, dust mite covers, walk-off mats, carbon monoxide detectors, HEPA vacuum cleaners, carpet removal and floor replacement, moisture and mold reduction, ventilation improvements, gutter and downspout repair and replacement.

We finished our pilot projects around the state in July 2017. Over 500 households were served. The WSU Energy Program is documenting the impacts and challenges of our models, and is helping  us evaluate our options for future Weatherization Plus Health work. Read their Implementation Report here.

Pilot Program Impacts

Early Success

Pierce County Washington

Mr. Shaw is a senior citizen with a disability. He spent his life working very hard to support himself and now survives on Social Security and disability income. When we first met, he was gasping for breath just sitting and talking with me. Getting up and moving about the home to show me some of his concerns with his home was taxing on him, evident from the wheezing and his eventual excusing himself to go sit back down. His house was in very bad shape, and so was his respiratory health.

Read more…

Faces of Weatherization Plus Health

Healthy Homes Resources

Weatherization Plus Health Resources

Facts about asthma in Washington state

Low-income families experience more asthma.

Children have the highest rates of asthma.

We made 64,000 emergency room visits for asthma in 2010.

Washington State spends $73 million per year for asthma hospitalizations; public funds pay for 60 percent.

Need help?

Paul Currington
paul.currington@commerce.wa.gov
360-725-2947

Pilot Program Health Impacts - Pierce County Case Study

Our pilot program collaboration between Pierce County Human Services and Tacoma/Pierce County Public Health provided early confirmation of significant health and quality of life improvements for households with asthma and COPD. The Pierce County Health Homes Study released in January 2019 documents those results.

2018 - 19 Program

In 2018 we began to expand our Weatherization Plus Health work to our full network around the state. Now in 2019, 14 local agencies are investing $1.3 million targeting work on over 300 homes. We look forward to refining our approach to providing services that positively impact our clients with asthma and other respiratory health issues, and making it available around Washington state in the next two years.