Office of Homeless Youth Committees and Workgroup

The Office of Homeless Youth works with various stakeholders across the state to address youth homelessness. The workgroup and committee listed encompass agencies and key stakeholders that are charged with reducing and end youth homelessness. 

Homeless youth on street

Interagency Work Group on Youth Homelessness​

Gov. Inslee established the Interagency Work Group on Youth Homelessness (IAWG) with directive 17-01, signed on Jan. 24, 2017. The workgroup convenes state agency partners to develop shared goals, outcomes, and action plans to prevent and design a system response to youth homelessness in Washington.

  • Kim Justice, Office of Homeless Youth
  • Sherrie Flores, Children’s Administration/DSHS
  • Cristi Devers, Juvenile Rehabilitation/DSHS
  • Vazaskia Crockrell, Office of Juvenile Justice/DSHS
  • David Stillman and Theresa Slusher, Economic Services Administration/DSHS
  • Diana Cockrell, Division of Behavior Health and Recovery/DSHS
  • Colette Jones, Health Care AuthorityMarie Bruin, Employment Security Department
  • Patrick Woods, Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board
  • Troy Goracke, State Board of Community and Technical Colleges
  • Rachel Sharpe and Becky Thompson, Student Achievement Council
  • Carri Gordon, Washington State Patrol
  • Ed Prince, Commission on African American Affairs
  • Lisa van der Lugt, Commission on Hispanic Affairs
  • Vacant, Commission on Indian Affairs
  • Nam Nguyen, Commission on Asian-Pacific American Affairs
  • Jess Lewis, Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • George Yeannakis, Office of Public Defense
  • Dr. Carl McCurley, Administrative Office of the Courts
  • Jim Mayfield, Research and Data Analysis/DSHS
  • TBD, Department of Children, Youth and Families

Advisory Committee

The office’s work is guided by a 12-member advisory committee composed of advocates, legislators, law enforcement, service providers, and other stakeholders. Except for legislative members, advisory committee members are appointed by the Governor.

  • Vicky Baker, Yakima Valley Conference of Governments
  • Rep. Lisa Callan (D) – 5th Legislative District
  • Sergeant Ritchie Fowler, Yakima Police Department
  • Erica Limon, Communities in Schools of Washington
  • Sen. Joe Nguyen (D) – 34th Legislative District
  • Rodney Robinson, Campaign to Prevent and End YYA Homelessness in Pierce County
  • Gage Spicer, youth action board coordinator, Spokane
  • Jim Theofelis, NorthStar Advocates
  • Viola Ware, REdisCOVERY at Olympia Peninsula Community Clinic

The Office of Homeless Youth does not provide services directly; please refer to this list of resources for youth and young adults in your area.

Program Links

News and Announcements



E-mail Updates
Sign up to receive updates from the Office of Homeless Youth