區域經濟,在WEDA上引起人們的關注

  • 二零二一年八月十日

在華盛頓經濟發展協會夏季會議上,與來自地方政府,部落,商務部聯合發展組織(ADOs)和其他社區合作夥伴的領導人聚會,分享我們的勝利,機遇和新想法總是令人興奮。 除了參加為期兩天的聆聽,學習和建立網絡交流的美好時光,我還有機會對小組講話。

我分享了上個季度的一些積極成果–首先是我們新成立的國家寬帶辦公室,其中包括21萬美元的新贈款和貸款,以促進數字平等並為農村和服務水平低下的社區帶來更多機會和繁榮。

現在,加上新的微型企業投資500,000美元,我們可以幫助最小的公司(無論位於何處)實現成為下一家具有傳奇色彩的華盛頓“ A”類上市公司的機會。

合作是成功的另一個關鍵,特別是在建立和培育華盛頓地區經濟方面。

經過十多年的削減,我們對ADOs的首次資助將有所幫助! 我非常感謝大家的齊心協力,為當地經濟發展贏得了10萬美元的新資金。

從遠處看,華盛頓的經濟故事是相當驚人的。 我們州的GDP增長繼續領先於全國,亞馬遜,微軟和星巴克等公司繼續創新並發展其全球成功案例。

儘管大部分的經濟活動都集中在中央普吉特海灣,但現在該州各地的一些其他地區經濟體正在撰寫或正在改寫故事。

我只是在三城市,遇到了兩家公司,他們的產品在增值農業和先進材料領域獲得了全球認可。 本頓和富蘭克林縣地區擁有優秀公司的綜合資產,WSU的校園,PNNL和一些不可思議的工程和技術人才,為下一代的經濟繁榮奠定了基礎。

成功的區域合作的更多例子包括:

來自Suquamish,Colville,Jamestown S'Klallam和西北印第安人聯盟部落的部落首領進行了精彩的小組討論:“為轉變的工作場所轉變經濟發展”

  • 克拉勒姆和杰斐遜地區 包括與多個部落國家和地方政府的合作,以利用機會區
  • 韋納奇山谷地區 合作制定“我們的山谷,我們的未來”戰略規劃,並確定創新和業務發展的重點領域
  • PAC 5 瑟斯頓,梅森,格雷斯港,劉易斯和太平洋縣的西南華盛頓ADOs之間的合作。

儘管普吉特海灣的動態經濟增長無疑使整個州受益,但通過支持和加強我們擁有的區域經濟,我們也可以從中受益。

It is great that we continue to gain tech jobs from California.很高興我們能繼續從加利福尼亞州獲得技術工作。 But when firms outgrow the Seattle market, we should be attracting them to Tacoma, Spokane, Vancouver and Yakima instead of seeing them go to Salt Lake, Denver and Detroit.但是,當公司的規模超過西雅圖市場時,我們應該吸引他們去塔科馬,斯波坎,溫哥華和亞基馬,而不是去鹽湖城,丹佛和底特律。

We need to start talking about how to grow and support our regional economies by building on their unique strengths.我們需要開始談論如何通過其區域優勢來發展和支持我們的區域經濟。 One way is to align our resources, including those found in our research institutions, to provide a workforce ready with the 21st century job skills needed to attract and sustain companies primed for the future growth.一種方法是調整我們的資源,包括在我們研究機構中發現的資源,以提供具備XNUMX世紀工作技能的勞動力,以吸引和維持為未來增長做好準備的公司。

分享這個帖子

Regional economies, collaboration in the spotlight at WEDA

  • August 26, 2019

It’s always exciting to gather with leaders from local governments, tribes, Commerce’s associate development organizations (ADOs) and other community partners to share our wins, opportunities and new ideas at the Washington Economic Development Association Summer Conference. In addition to participating in two great days of listening, learning and networking, I also had the opportunity to speak to the group.

I shared some positive results from the last season – beginning with our new State Broadband Office, which includes $21 million in new grants and loans to promote digital equity and enable more opportunity and prosperity in rural and underserved communities.

Combined with $500,000 in new microenterprise investment, we can now help our smallest companies – no matter where they are located – realize a chance to become the next legendary Washington “A” list firm.

Collaboration is another key to success, especially around building up and nurturing Washington’s regional economies.

Our first increase in funding for ADOs after more than 10 years of cuts will help! I appreciate the concerted drumbeat that resulted in winning $1 million in new funding for local economic development.

Washington’s economic story is quite amazing when you look at it from afar. Our state GDP growth continues to lead the nation and companies like Amazon, Microsoft and Starbucks continue to innovate and grow their global success stories.

While much of that economic activity is concentrated in the Central Puget Sound, there are stories being written now or are being rewritten in some of the other regional economies around the state.

I was just in the Tri-Cities and met with two companies that are achieving worldwide recognition for their products in value-added agriculture and advanced materials. With the combined assets of excellent companies, WSU’s campus there, PNNL and some incredible engineering and tech talent, the Benton and Franklin County region has the ingredients to set the table for economic prosperity for the next generation.

More examples of successful regional collaboration include:

Tribal leaders from the Suquamish, Colville, Jamestown S’Klallam and Affiliated Tribes of NW Indians led an excellent panel discussion: “Transforming Economic Development for a Changing Workplace”

  • Clallam and Jefferson Region including collaboration with several Tribal Nations and local governments to take advantage of Opportunity Zones
  • Wenatchee Valley Region collaborating on the “Our Valley, Our Future” strategic planning and identifying key focus areas around innovation and business development
  • Pac 5 collaboration among Southwest Washington ADOs in Thurston, Mason, Grays Harbor, Lewis and Pacific counties.

While Puget Sound’s dynamic economic growth no doubt benefits the entire state, we also have a lot to gain by supporting and strengthening the regional economies that we have.

It is great that we continue to gain tech jobs from California. But when firms outgrow the Seattle market, we should be attracting them to Tacoma, Spokane, Vancouver and Yakima instead of seeing them go to Salt Lake, Denver and Detroit.

We need to start talking about how to grow and support our regional economies by building on their unique strengths. One way is to align our resources, including those found in our research institutions, to provide a workforce ready with the 21st century job skills needed to attract and sustain companies primed for the future growth.

Share this Post