مكان وشراكة دليل المشاركة المجتمعية على رأس الأولويات

  • ١٦ فبراير ٢٠٢١

الإقليمية هي واحدة من أهم الموضوعات التي تشكل إطار عمل فريق التجارة هذا العام. ولاية واشنطن متنوعة في نواح كثيرة ، من اقتصادنا وبيئتنا إلى تاريخنا وثقافتنا. يعد التنوع أحد أعظم نقاط القوة في ولايتنا ، كما أنه يفرض بعض التحديات الكبيرة.

تتباين السمات والتطلعات الفريدة لمدن واشنطن وبلداتها ودولها القبلية اختلافًا كبيرًا ، وتتطلب أكثر بكثير من نهج واحد يناسب الجميع لشراكاتنا من أجل المجتمع والنمو الاقتصادي.

دولتنا لديها اقتصادات إقليمية متميزة تشهد سنوات الازدهار الأخيرة بشكل مختلف تمامًا. تدعم التجارة المجتمعات من خلال حافظة واسعة من ما يقرب من 100 برنامج حكومي تلبي العديد من احتياجات المجتمع المختلفة ، مثل الإسكان والتشرد ، والبنية التحتية ، وإدارة النمو ، والأعمال التجارية الصغيرة والتنمية الاقتصادية والطاقة النظيفة.

في العام الماضي ، أطلقنا مشروعًا تجريبيًا لمساعدتنا في البناء على تلك المحفظة من المساعدة من خلال نموذج مختلف لمشاركة المجتمع. يلبي برنامجنا التجريبي "المناهج الجديدة" المجتمعات المحلية أينما كانوا ، وذلك بالشراكة مع القادة المحليين والمقيمين لتقديم مساعدة فنية مصممة خصيصًا تتوافق مع ما يحدده أعضاء المجتمع على أنه أعلى أولوياتهم.

ضع الأمور في التنمية الاقتصادية. تعد المجتمعات النابضة بالحياة - الأماكن التي يختار الناس فيها العيش والعمل واللعب - أمرًا بالغ الأهمية للنمو وجذب الأنشطة التجارية والوظائف والاحتفاظ بها. تسير التنمية الاقتصادية والتنمية المجتمعية جنبًا إلى جنب ، وتعد التجارة شريكًا ملتزمًا مع المدن والبلدات والمجتمعات القبلية في جميع أنحاء الولاية في بناء المستقبل الذي يتصوره.

لقد أطلقنا للتو نهائي الثلاثة الأولي لدينا اتجاهات حديثة طيارين في بلدة توبينيش.

برز التقدم المحرز في شراكتنا الأولى مع شويلة في مقابلة إذاعية مع العمدة دوروثي كناوس.

في Hoquiam ، يقوم أعضاء المجتمع الآن بصقل أولويتين رئيسيتين لتلقي المساعدة الفنية المستهدفة من فريق التجارة هذا العام. يتم إجراء عمل رائع في هذه المجتمعات ، بفضل المشاركة العامة المذهلة.

لقد كان الالتقاء بالمجتمعات الريفية أينما كانوا ، والاستماع إلى ما يحتاجون إليه ويريدونه ، والعمل في شراكة للمساعدة في رسم الطريق إلى الأمام ، إيجابيًا ومثمرًا بشكل لا يصدق حتى الآن.

كما تشرفت هذا الشهر بالحضور وتقديم الملاحظات الرئيسية في اختر Mason الحدث السنوي الذي تستضيفه شركة ميسون للتنمية الاقتصادية. كان من الرائع مقابلة أفراد قبيلة سكواكسين وربطهم بأول اتصال قبلي يعمل بدوام كامل في التجارة إرني راسموسن.

لقد استمتعت باللقاء والاستماع إلى قصة نجاح أعمال صغيرة رائعة من بوب أميس ، مؤسس Skokomish Mushrooms. تخرج بوب من برنامج تدريبي ممول جزئيًا من قبل التجارة ساعد في توسيع أعماله. يصل الآن إلى 17 سوقًا ويبيع 1200-1400 جنيه من الفطر شهريًا.

لقد كان من المثير جدًا الاحتفال والمشاركة في المسار الذي تتخذه شركة ChooseMason لدعم المجتمع من خلال تسريع الاتصال بالنطاق العريض والشراكات بشأن البنية التحتية وتطوير الأعمال.

حصة هذا المنصب

Place and partnership guide community engagement on top priorities

  • February 27, 2020

Regionalism is one of the top themes framing the work of Commerce’s team this year. Washington state is diverse in many ways, from our economy and environment to our history and culture.  Diversity is one of our state’s greatest strengths, and it also poses some big challenges.

The unique attributes and aspirations of Washington’s cities, towns and Tribal nations vary greatly, requiring much more than a one-size-fits-all approach to our partnerships for community and economic growth.

Our state has distinct regional economies that are experiencing the recent boom years very differently. Commerce supports communities through an extensive portfolio of nearly 100 state programs that address many different community needs, such as housing and homelessness, infrastructure, growth management, small business and economic development and clean energy.

Last year, we launched a pilot project to help us build on that portfolio of assistance through a different model for community engagement. Our “new approaches” pilot meets communities where they are, partnering with local leaders and residents to deliver tailored technical assistance that matches what the community members determine are their highest priorities.

Place matters in economic development. Vibrant communities – places where people choose to live, work and play – are crucial to grow, attract and retain business activity and jobs. Economic development and community development go hand in glove, and Commerce is a committed partner with cities, towns and Tribal communities across the state in building the futures they envision.

We just launched the final of our initial three New Approaches pilots in the town of Toppenish.

Progress on our first partnership with Chewelah was featured in a radio interview with Mayor Dorothy Knauss.

In Hoquiam, community members are now honing in on their top two priorities to receive targeted technical assistance from the Commerce team this year. Great work is happening in these communities, thanks to amazing public engagement.

Meeting rural communities where they are, listening to what they need and want, and working in partnership to help chart the path forward has been incredibly positive and productive thus far.

This month I also had the honor of attending and providing keynote remarks at the ChooseMason annual event hosted by Mason Economic Development.  It was great to meet members of the Squaxin Tribe and connect them with Commerce’s first full-time Tribal Liaison Ernie Rasmussen.

I enjoyed meeting and hearing a great small business success story from Bob Ames, founder of Skokomish Mushrooms. Bob graduated from a training program funded in part by Commerce that helped his business expand. He now reaches 17 markets and is selling 1200-1400 pounds of mushrooms a month.

It was very exciting to celebrate and share in the path ChooseMason is taking to support the community through accelerating connectivity to broadband and partnerships on infrastructure and business development.

Share this Post