將社區合作放在首位

  • 27 月2020, XNUMX

區域主義是今年商務部團隊工作的主題之一。 從我們的經濟和環境到我們的歷史和文化,華盛頓州在許多方面都具有多樣性。 多樣性是我們州最大的優勢之一,它也帶來了一些巨大的挑戰。

華盛頓市,城鎮和部落國家的獨特屬性和期望差異很大,需要更多的“一刀切”方法來建立我們的社區和經濟合作夥伴關係。

我們州擁有獨特的區域經濟體,它們經歷了最近的繁榮時期,情況大不相同。 商業通過將近100個州計劃的廣泛組合來支持社區,這些計劃滿足了許多不同的社區需求,例如住房和無家可歸者,基礎設施,增長管理,小型企業和經濟發展以及清潔能源。

去年,我們啟動了一個試點項目,通過不同的社區參與模式,幫助我們在援助組合的基礎上發展。 我們的“新方法”試點與他們所在的社區會面,與當地領導人和居民合作,提供量身定制的技術援助,以使其與社區成員確定的最優先事項相匹配。

把事情放在經濟發展中。 充滿活力的社區-人們選擇生活,工作和娛樂的地方-對於增長,吸引和保留商業活動和工作至關重要。 經濟發展與社區發展密不可分,而Commerce是全州各城市,城鎮和部落社區在建立他們所設想的未來方面的堅定合作夥伴。

我們剛剛啟動了前三場比賽的決賽 新方法 Toppenish鎮的飛行員。

在與市長Dorothy Knauss的電台訪談中,我們特別介紹了與Chewelah的首次合作取得的進展。

在Hoquiam,社區成員現在將最優先考慮的兩個方面放在首位,以便今年獲得Commerce團隊的有針對性的技術援助。 得益於驚人的公眾參與,這些社區正在開展出色的工作。

迄今為止,與他們所處的農村社區相遇,傾聽他們的需求和想要的東西,以及與他們合作以幫助規劃前進的道路,一直是非常積極和富有成果的。

本月,我也很榮幸出席並在會議上發表主題演講。 選擇梅森 梅森經濟發展局主辦的年度活動。 很高興認識Squaxin部落的成員 並與Commerce的第一個專職部落聯絡員Ernie Rasmussen建立聯繫。

我很高興見面,並聽了Skokomish Mushrooms創始人Bob Ames講述的一個偉大的小型企業成功故事。 鮑勃(Bob)畢業於由Commerce資助的一項培訓計劃,該計劃有助於他的業務擴展。 他現在進入17個市場,每月銷售1200-1400磅蘑菇。

慶祝並分享ChoiceMason通過加快與寬帶的連接以及基礎設施和業務發展方面的合作夥伴關係來支持社區的道路,這非常令人興奮。

分享這個帖子

Place and partnership guide community engagement on top priorities

  • February 27, 2020

Regionalism is one of the top themes framing the work of Commerce’s team this year. Washington state is diverse in many ways, from our economy and environment to our history and culture.  Diversity is one of our state’s greatest strengths, and it also poses some big challenges.

The unique attributes and aspirations of Washington’s cities, towns and Tribal nations vary greatly, requiring much more than a one-size-fits-all approach to our partnerships for community and economic growth.

Our state has distinct regional economies that are experiencing the recent boom years very differently. Commerce supports communities through an extensive portfolio of nearly 100 state programs that address many different community needs, such as housing and homelessness, infrastructure, growth management, small business and economic development and clean energy.

Last year, we launched a pilot project to help us build on that portfolio of assistance through a different model for community engagement. Our “new approaches” pilot meets communities where they are, partnering with local leaders and residents to deliver tailored technical assistance that matches what the community members determine are their highest priorities.

Place matters in economic development. Vibrant communities – places where people choose to live, work and play – are crucial to grow, attract and retain business activity and jobs. Economic development and community development go hand in glove, and Commerce is a committed partner with cities, towns and Tribal communities across the state in building the futures they envision.

We just launched the final of our initial three New Approaches pilots in the town of Toppenish.

Progress on our first partnership with Chewelah was featured in a radio interview with Mayor Dorothy Knauss.

In Hoquiam, community members are now honing in on their top two priorities to receive targeted technical assistance from the Commerce team this year. Great work is happening in these communities, thanks to amazing public engagement.

Meeting rural communities where they are, listening to what they need and want, and working in partnership to help chart the path forward has been incredibly positive and productive thus far.

This month I also had the honor of attending and providing keynote remarks at the ChooseMason annual event hosted by Mason Economic Development.  It was great to meet members of the Squaxin Tribe and connect them with Commerce’s first full-time Tribal Liaison Ernie Rasmussen.

I enjoyed meeting and hearing a great small business success story from Bob Ames, founder of Skokomish Mushrooms. Bob graduated from a training program funded in part by Commerce that helped his business expand. He now reaches 17 markets and is selling 1200-1400 pounds of mushrooms a month.

It was very exciting to celebrate and share in the path ChooseMason is taking to support the community through accelerating connectivity to broadband and partnerships on infrastructure and business development.

Share this Post