数据分析和新兴趋势

GO和公共债务报告的新格式

为了向数据用户提供更好的Clearinghouse报告信息,我们不再使用自计划开始以来一直提供的打印中心PDF报告,而是为主要报告引入了新的格式。 新的公共债务和GO报告将以更具在线友好性的格式通过交互式图表发布。

我们希望这种新的格式将增加易用性,并为个人用户的数据需求提供一些可定制性。 为了不断改进我们的报告,我们邀请您 完成我们的调查。

我们也欢迎您对这些新的报告格式或任何其他信息交换所服务有任何反馈意见,网址为: BUC@commerce.wa.gov.

发行债券的成本

接上页...

有哪些可用资金来源?

债券使用者信息交换所必须首先解决债券问题,才能开始讨论地方政府可利用的资金。 债券允许政府发行长期债券,通常利率较低,这对投资者免税。 但是,与必须考虑的其他融资方案相比,债券确实具有额外的前期成本。

参与证书(COP)由财政部签发。 这些实质上是与多个参与发行人的债券。 地方政府可以参加COP来资助较小的项目,因为这些项目的发行债券可能会产生超额的前期费用。 这些对于未获得信用等级或税收收入有限的政府也很有用。 COP通过在多个发行人之间按比例分担费用来支付发行债券的前期成本,但是COP仅适用于每个参与者相对较小的发行量。

银行贷款可能是最熟悉的融资方式。 银行贷款通常需要一名机构投资者来提供贷款的全部资金,因此,投资者有很大的权力来确定融资成本和条款。 长期债务越大,这种权力的影响就越显着。

债券注意事项

根据债券101的数据,发行债券的成本(包括承销,保险,正式声明和所有外部顾问)平均仅低于票面总价值的2.3%。 对于票面金额较低的债券,此成本比例增加,票面金额为一百万美元或更少的债券,其平均票面价值的XNUMX%。 这为使用低成本项目的债券设置了很大的成本障碍。

承销成本与发行的票面价值直接相关。 通常,将此成本标准化为每千美元的成本。 出乎意料的是,一旦标准化的承销成本似乎并未受到发行面值的重大影响。 在2000年至2018年之间,平均承保价差为每千美元面值4.23美元。 尽管此成本范围很广,最高价差据报为每千美元123.51美元。

在所有债券101报告中,超过2000%的人报告了律师费。 这些成本可能与发行的票面价值有关,这可能是由于较大的发行增加了复杂性。 结果,这些成本在报告的数据中差异很大。 从2018年到XNUMX年,平均律师费超过XNUMX万美元,据报道,最高律师费仅为XNUMX万美元。

财务顾问的费用,就像律师费随发行面值的增加而增加一样,在没有顾问的帮助下发行较小面额的债券并不少见。 但是,使用这些工具时,平均的财务顾问费大约是一万美元,在一些大额发行中,甚至高达一百万美元。

保险费率是一个特别昂贵的估计成本,因为大多数发行人不需要使用债券保险。 但是,保险可以成为降低债券利率的有用工具。 债券保险为信用等级高的组织提供付款担保,签发国可以采用担保组织的信用等级,并以适合该较高信用等级的利率发行债券。 根据已报告的债券101中的保险成本(大约600个数据点),保险平均为已发行面值百分之一的一半,但范围可能高达百分之五。 保险的价值是基于有保险和无保险的实际利率之间的差异,以及吸引购买者购买债务的能力,这取决于所感知的风险和债务产品的回报。

债券的好处

地方政府在发行债券时产生了所有额外成本,为什么他们会选择这种选择? 债券当然具有比其他融资选择更高的前期成本,但这通常被债券的优势所抵消。 从历史上看,债券提供的利率要比银行贷款和私募低,但随着近期利率从历史低位回升,这种差异有所减弱,因为这种差异将变得更加明显。 利率的这种差异使政府从长远来看可以节省融资成本。

从长期来看,债券的发行期限通常比通过银行贷款合理获得的期限更长。 随着期限的延长,银行贷款和债券的利率都将上升,但是已经具有较高利率的银行贷款的上升幅度将更为明显。 虽然债券可以很容易地发行长达40年且利率固定的债券,而且如果在债券存续期内市场利率下降,债券发行人通常可以轻松地为其再融资,但长期银行贷款可以通过允许债券发行来减轻银行风险。如果市场利率上升,银行将在确定的时间点重新评估利息。

有关Bond 101报告的常见问题

是。 国家法律 (RCW 39.44)要求该州的所有债券发行人(包括州和地方)在债券收盘后的20天内向商务部报告债券和其他债务发行情况。 您将在便捷的在线工具(我们称为Bond 101报告)中输入您的信息。

大多数债券101都是由债券律师完成的。 财务顾问或承销商有时会完成报告。 发行人很少提交自己的报告。

需要报告的数据包括发行人名称和联系方式; 用户名(如果与发行人不同); 正式名称和发行类型; 发行目的; 发行面值和利率; 发行费用; 债券评级; 发行团队成员(债券法律顾问,承销商,评级机构等)

票据交换所在每月的Excel电子表格和年度公共债务报告(去这里)。 票据交换所还可以自定义数据搜索,并发送符合您指定条件的所有数据的电子表格。

票据交换所报告

其他信息

需要帮助吗?

节目经理Tammi Vellinga
tammi.vellinga@commerce.wa.gov
电话:360-725-5038

New Format for GO and Public Debt Reports

In an effort to provide data users with a better more informative experience with Clearinghouse reports, we are moving away from the print center PDF reports we have been providing since the program began and are introducing new formats for our major reports. New public debt and GO reports are being released with interactive charts in a more online friendly format.

We hope this new formatting will increase ease of use, and provide some customizability for individual user’s data needs. In an effort to continuously improve our reporting, we invite you to complete our survey.

We also welcome any feedback you may have about these new report formats or any other Clearinghouse services at BUC@commerce.wa.gov.

The Cost of Issuing a Bond

Continued from previous page…

What funding sources are available?

Bond Users Clearinghouse could not begin a discussion of funding available to local governments without first addressing bonds. Bonds allow governments to issue long term debt, generally with low interest rates which will be tax exempt for investors. Bonds do however have additional upfront costs when compared to other financing options which must be considered.

Certificates of Participation (COPs) are issued by the Treasury. These are essentially bonds with multiple participating issuers. Local governments can participate in a COP to fund smaller projects for which issuing a bond may have excessive upfront costs. These can also be useful for governments which have not obtained credit ratings or with limited tax income. COPs defray the upfront costs of issuing a bond by sharing the costs proportionally across multiple issuers, however COPs are only feasible for relatively small issuances by each participant.

Bank loans are likely the most familiar financing option. Bank loans generally require one institutional investor to supply the entirety of the funding for the loan, because of this the investor has a significant amount of power to determine financing costs and terms. The impact of this power becomes more significant with larger longer term debts.

Considerations with Bonds

The cost to issue a bond (including underwriting, insurance, official statements, and all external advisors) has averaged just below one percent of total par value, based on Bond 101 data. This cost proportion increases for lower par value issuances, averaging 2.3 percent of par value for issuances with a par of one million dollars or less. This places a large cost barrier to the use of bonds for lower cost projects.

Underwriting costs are directly related to the par value of an issuance. Generally this cost is normalized as cost per one thousand dollars. Surprisingly, once normalized underwriting costs do not appear to be significantly impacted by the par value of the issuance. Between 2000 and 2018 the average underwriting spread has been $4.23 per thousand dollars of par value. Though this cost ranges widely with the highest spread reported at $123.51 per thousand dollars.

Counsel fees were reported by more than ninety percent of all bond 101 reports. These costs are related to the par value of an issuance, likely due to the added complexity of larger issuances. As a result these costs range greatly across the reported data. The average counsel fee from 2000 to 2018 was over twenty thousand dollars, with the highest counsel fee reported just shy of one million dollars.

Financial advisor costs, much like counsel fees increase with par value of issuance, and it is not uncommon for smaller par bonds to be issued without the aid of an advisor. But, when utilized the average financial advisor fee was around ten thousand dollars ranging as high as half a million dollars on some large issuances.

Insurance rate is a particularly dicey cost to estimate, as most issuers will not need to utilize bond insurance. However, insurance can be a useful tool to decrease bond interest rates. Bond insurance provides a guarantee of payment from an organization with a high credit rating, with this guarantee the issuing jurisdiction can adopt the insuring organizations credit rating and issue at an interest rate suitable to that higher credit rating. Based on reported insurance costs in bond 101 (roughly 600 data points) insurance averages one half of one percent of the issued par value, but can range as high as five percent. The value of insurance is based upon the difference between realized interest rates with and without the insurance, as well as the ability to attract buyers for debt, which will vary depending on the perceived risk and return of the debt product.

Benefits of Bonds

With all of the added costs incurred by local governments when issuing bonds, why would they ever choose this option? Bonds certainly have higher upfront costs than other financing option but this is generally offset by the strengths bonds possess. Historically bonds have offered lower interest rates than bank loans and private placements, while this has waned a bit with recent historically low interest rates as rates recover this difference will become more apparent. This difference in interest rates allows governments to save money on financing costs over the long run.

Speaking of the long run, bonds can generally be issued for longer terms than could reasonably be obtained through a bank loan. Both bank loans and bonds will see interest rates increase as terms extended, however bank loans which already have higher rates will have a more pronounced increase. While bonds can easily be issued for as long as 40 years with a locked in interest rate and will often allow for the issuer to easily refinance if market rates decrease during the life of the debt, longer term bank loans may mitigate bank risks by allowing the bank to reassess interest at a defined point should market rates increase.

Frequently asked questions about Bond 101 reporting

Yes. State law (RCW 39.44) requires all bond issuers in the state — both state and local — to report bond and other debt issuances to the Department of Commerce within 20 days of closing on the bond. You will enter your information in a convenient online tool, which we call a Bond 101 report.

Most Bond 101s are completed by the bond counsel. At times the financial advisor or underwriter completes the report. More rarely, issuers submit their own reports.

The data that needs to be reported includes issuer name and contact information; user name (if different from issuer); official name and type of issuance; purpose of issuance; issuance par value and interest rate; costs of issuance; bond ratings; issuance team members (bond counsel, underwriter, rating agency, etc.)

The Clearinghouse publishes the Bond 101 data in monthly Excel spreadsheets and in the annual Public Debt Report (go here). The Clearinghouse can also customize a search of the data and send a spreadsheet of all data that meet whatever criteria you specify.

Clearinghouse Reports

Other information

Need help?

Tammi Vellinga, Program Manager
tammi.vellinga@commerce.wa.gov
Phone: 360-725-5038