公共設施區財務可行性審查計劃

商務部正在執行本章要求的公共設施區獨立財務可行性審查計劃 RCW 36.100.025 和章 RCW 35.57.025。 該要求於2012年生效。

照片由華盛頓州會議中心提供

可行性審查中州法律的要求

商務部根據與獨立承包商的合同進行獨立財務可行性審查, 目的是確保當地決策者能夠客觀,及時地分析項目的財務可行性。 商業的 其作用不是批准或拒絕公共設施區的計劃。

州法律進一步指示商務部在審核完成後將其公之於眾,並將其提交給參與的地方政府,州民選官員和立法機關。

法律要求必須在以下情況下進行獨立的財務可行性審查:

  • 形成新的PFD。
  • PFD發行新債務(不為現有債務再融資)。
  • PFD對設施的長期租賃,購買或開發。

審查“必須檢查公共設施區可能產生的潛在成本,以及滿足這些成本的收入或預期收入的充足性。” 這可能包括來自公共設施區與其他地方政府之間的地方間協議,債券契約,建築和運營合同,業務計劃以及其他此類文件的信息。

通常,商務部和轄區將根據《地方間合作法》(以下簡稱“RCW 39.34)。 我們選擇並與獨立方簽約以進行審核。 Commerce會直接向審稿人付款,而司法轄區會向我們補償審稿和相關費用。

Public Facility District Financial Feasibility Reviews Program

Commerce is implementing the public facilities district independent financial feasibility review program, as required by Chapter 36.100.025 RCW and Chapter 35.57.025 RCW. The requirement went into effect in 2012.

Photos provided courtesy of Washington State Convention Center

What State Law Requires In a Feasibility Review

The Department of Commerce conducts independent financial feasibility reviews under contract with independent contractors, which is intended to ensure that local decision makers have access to objective and timely analysis of the financial feasibility of a project. Commerce’s role is not to approve or reject a public facility district’s plan.

State law further directs Commerce to make the review public upon its completion, and submit it to participating local governments, state elected officials, and the Legislature.

The law requires that an independent financial feasibility review must take place before:

  • A new PFD is formed.
  • A PFD issues new debt (not refinances existing debt).
  • The long-term lease, purchase, or development of a facility by a PFD.

The review “must examine the potential costs to be incurred by the public facilities district and the adequacy of revenues or expected revenues to meet those costs.” This potentially would include information from interlocal agreements between the public facilities district and other local governments, bond covenants, construction and operating contracts, business plans, and other such documents.

Typically, Commerce and the jurisdiction(s) will negotiate a cost-recovery agreement under the Interlocal Cooperation Act (RCW 39.34). We select and contract with an independent party to perform the review. Commerce pays the reviewer directly and the jurisdiction(s) reimburse us for the review and associated costs.