黑人歷史月博客文章

  • 26 月2021, XNUMX

黑人婦女受到各種形式暴力的影響最大。 在《黑人婦女藍圖》中進行的一項研究中,有40-60%的黑人婦女報告說,他們在18歲之前遭受了強迫性接觸。在美國,經證實的性販運倖存者中有40%是黑人。 估計有51.3%的黑人成年女性殺人案涉及家庭暴力。

黑人婦女,特別是遭受暴力侵害的黑人婦女,一直處於社會正義運動的最前沿。 為了紀念黑人歷史月,我們認識到黑人婦女的領導地位和遺產,這些黑人婦女率先並塑造了反對歷史上性侵犯的運動。 我們向他們的指導,智慧和貢獻表示敬意。

哈麗特·安·雅各布斯(Harriet Ann Jacobs)

哈麗埃特·安·雅各布斯(Harriet Ann Jacobs)於1813年生為奴隸,在其主人和妻子的手中遭受了性騷擾,性虐待和暴力。 她在1842年逃脫獲得自由,後來寫道 奴隸女孩生活中的事件,重點關注奴隸婦女遭受的性剝削。 她的自傳引發了有關針對奴隸婦女的性暴力的首次公開討論。

艾達·B·威爾斯

到1909年,艾達·B·威爾斯(Ida B. Wells)是美國最著名的反私-運動家之一。 1892年,艾達(Ida)在她的朋友托馬斯·莫斯(Thomas Moss)被白人暴徒私刑後,在孟菲斯寫了一篇關於私刑的社論。 在此期間,艾達(Ida)成長為最早的調查記者之一。 林奇暴民經常刻板印象,並指責黑人強姦白人婦女。 艾達開始通過探訪私刑現場和採訪證人的方式來調查這些指控。 當艾達(Ida)返回孟菲斯變得不安全時,她開始前往美國和歐洲,以提高人們對私刑的意識。

雷西·泰勒(Recy Taylor)

1944年6月,在一次教堂活動中回家時,雷西·泰勒(Recy Taylor)被XNUMX名白人綁架並強姦。 她勇敢地向警察報告了襲擊事件。 儘管泰勒女士遭到家人的攻擊和威脅,但她在追求正義方面仍然勇敢無畏。 她拒絕保持沉默是民權運動的催化劑,並動員了全國的民權領袖。 她的故事激發了其他黑人婦女大聲疾呼。 儘管目擊者證實了她的故事,並且其中一些人供認了話,但最終沒有任何一名襲擊者被起訴。 今天,有些人稱讚泰勒夫人的英勇為婦女權利運動奠定了基礎。 她仍然是打擊性暴力和種族不公的象徵。

羅莎公園

羅莎·帕克斯(Rosa Parks)在拒絕放棄公共汽車座位的11年前,曾是爭取受害者權利運動的重要倡導者。 1944年雷西·泰勒(Recy Taylor)襲擊後,羅莎·帕克斯(Rosa Parks)在NACCP擔任調查員,並為雷西·泰勒夫人組織了阿拉巴馬州平等司法委員會。 當大陪審團未能起訴泰勒夫人的襲擊者時,羅莎·帕克斯(Rosa Parks)敦促人們寫抗議信。 當時的阿拉巴馬州州長收到數百封憤怒的信後,他下令對泰勒夫人的強奸案進行第二次調查。 1974年,羅珊·帕克斯(Rosa Parks)在底特律建立了喬安妮·利特爾(Joanne Little)國防委員會,此前喬安妮·利特爾(Joanne Little)因為自己辯護以防止來自懲教人員的性侵犯而被指控謀殺。 羅莎·帕克斯(Rosa Parks)一生致力於為黑人暴力倖存者爭取正義。

瓊·利特爾

在美國,第一個因使用致命武力進行自發性攻擊而被宣告無罪的婦女是瓊(發音為Jo-Ann)Little。 1974年被監禁時,瓊(Joan)試圖對她進行性侵犯時謀殺了一名白人囚犯。 她被指控犯有一級謀殺罪,在北卡羅來納州被判處死刑。 她的案件徹底改變了關於婦女權利,種族不公正,性暴力,死刑和囚犯權利的討論。 包括安吉拉·戴維斯(Angela Davis)和羅莎·帕克斯(Rosa Parks)在內的民權領袖是堅定的支持者,並幫助組織了利特爾的辯護。 瓊·利特爾(Joan Little)的勝利為婦女們防禦暴力襲擊保衛了大門。

金伯利·克倫肖

“交叉點”一詞是由黑人婦女金伯利·克倫肖(Kimberle'Crenshaw)創造的。 金伯利(Kimberle)是法學教授,學者和作家,涉獵廣泛,包括民權,批判種族理論,黑人女性主義法律理論,種族主義和法律。 她是哥倫比亞大學法學院和加利福尼亞大學洛杉磯分校的法學教授。 她有關交叉性的工作已成為當今美國社會正義運動的指導原則,並且對南非憲法中平等條款的發展產生了至關重要的影響。

貝絲·里奇(Beth Richie)博士

Beth E. Richie博士以其種族和社會地位影響非洲裔美國受虐婦女和性侵犯倖存者的方式的學術研究和行動主義而著稱。 她是芝加哥伊利諾伊大學犯罪學,法律和司法學系系主任以及非洲裔美國人研究教授。 她的書 被迫犯罪:受虐黑人婦女的性別陷阱在許多大學課程中都有教授,並且因其關於種族,性別和犯罪的原始論點而在大眾媒體中被引用。  

Carolyn M. West博士

Carolyn M. West博士是華盛頓大學的獲獎作家,電影製片人,主旨演講者和心理學教授。 韋斯特博士是一位全國公認的黑人女權主義學者,他研究非洲裔美國婦女生活中的基於性別的暴力,重點研究家庭暴力,性侵犯和性騷擾。 韋斯特博士已撰寫了70餘篇學術著作,並且是該書的編輯/撰稿人 黑人婦女生活中的暴力:受虐,黑人和藍色 (Routledge,2002年)。 在2018年,她製作了紀錄片“讓我告訴你回合黑人小雞:色情中的黑人女性形象”。  

塔拉納伯克

自1980年代末以來,塔拉納·伯克(Tarana Burke)一直是激進主義者和組織者,他是反對性暴力鬥爭的領導者。 在2017年哈維·溫斯坦(Harvey Weinstein)性虐待醜聞中,她的標籤“ #metoo”成為全世界倖存者的集會之聲。 僅在Twitter上,該標籤已被使用超過19萬次。 #metoo運動在2018年最高法院大法官布雷特·卡瓦諾(Brett Kavanaugh)的確認和2019年#muterkelly運動期間仍然具有相關性和影響力。

分享這個帖子

Black History Month Blog Post

  • February 26, 2021

Black women are disproportionately impacted by all forms of violence. In a study conducted by the Black Women’s Blueprint, 40-60% of Black women report being subjected to coercive sexual contact by age 18. 40% of confirmed sex trafficking survivors in the United States are Black. Domestic violence is related to an estimated 51.3% of Black adult female homicides.

Black women, particularly Black women survivors of violence, have been at the forefront of social justice movements. In honor of Black History month, we recognize the leadership and legacy of Black women who have pioneered and shaped the movement against sexual assault through history. We pay homage to their guidance, wisdom and contributions.

Harriet Ann Jacobs

Born a slave in 1813, Harriet Ann Jacobs suffered sexual harassment, abuse and violence at the hands of her master and his wife. She escaped to freedom in 1842 and later wrote Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, focusing on the sexual exploitation experienced by slave women. Her autobiography initiated some of the first open discussions about sexual violence against slave women.

Ida B. Wells

By 1909, Ida B. Wells was one of the most well-known anti-lynching campaigners in the United States. In 1892, Ida wrote an editorial in Memphis about lynching after her friend Thomas Moss was lynched by a white mob. Ida grew to be one of the first investigative reporters in this period. Lynch mobs frequently stereotyped and accused Black men of raping white women. Ida began investigating the accusations by visiting the scene of lynching and interviewing witnesses. When it became unsafe for Ida to return to Memphis, she began to travel the United States and Europe to raise awareness about lynching.

Recy Taylor

While walking home from a church event in September of 1944, Recy Taylor was abducted and raped by a gang of 6 white men. She bravely reported the attack to police. Despite attacks and threats against her family, Ms. Taylor was courageous and relentless in her pursuit of justice. Her refusal to stay silent was a catalyst in the civil rights movement and mobilized civil rights leaders across the country. Her story inspired other Black women to speak out about their assaults. Although witnesses confirmed her story and several of the men confessed, ultimately none of her attackers were indicted. Today some have credited Mrs. Taylor’s bravery with laying the foundation for the women’s rights movement. She remains a symbol in the fight against sexual violence and racial injustice.

Rosa Parks

11 years before her refusal to give up her seat on a bus, Rosa Parks served as a pivotal advocate in the movement for victim rights. Following the attack of Recy Taylor in 1944, Rosa Parks worked as an investigator with the NACCP and organized the Alabama Committee for Equal Justice for Mrs. Recy Taylor. When the grand jury failed to indict Mrs. Taylor’s assailants, Rosa Parks urged people to write protest letters. After the then-Alabama governor received hundreds of outraged letters, he ordered a second investigation into the rape of Mrs. Taylor. In 1974, Rosa Parks founded the Joanne Little Defense Committee in Detroit, after Joanne Little was charged with murder for defending herself against sexual advances from a corrections officer. Throughout her life, Rosa Parks was committed to securing justice for Black survivors of violence.

Joan Little

The first woman in the United States to be acquitted for using deadly force in self-defense against sexual assault was Joan (pronounced Jo-Ann) Little. While incarcerated in 1974, Joan murdered a white jailer when he attempted to sexually assault her. She was charged with first-degree murder, which carried a mandatory sentence of the death penalty in North Carolina. Her case revolutionized conversations about women’s rights, racial injustice, sexual violence, the death penalty, and prisoners’ rights. Civil rights leaders, including Angela Davis and Rosa Parks, were adamant supporters and helped to organize Little’s defense. Joan Little’s victory opened the door for women to be able to defend themselves against violent attacks.

Kimberle' Crenshaw

The term “intersectionality” was created by a Black woman, Kimberle’ Crenshaw. Kimberle’ is a law professor, scholar, and a writer on a wide array of topics including civil rights, critical race theory, Black feminist legal theory, racism and the law. She is a Professor of Law at both Columbia Law School and the University of California Los Angeles. Her work regarding intersectionality has become a guiding principle of social justice movements in the United States today and it was an essential influence in the development of the equality clause in the South African constitution.

Beth Richie, Ph.D.

Dr. Beth E. Richie is known for both her scholarly research and activism regarding the ways race and social position affect African American battered women and sexual assault survivors. She is the head of the Department of Criminology, Law, and Justice and Professor of African American Studies at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Her book Compelled to Crime: the Gender Entrapment of Black Battered Women, is taught in many college courses and is cited in the popular press for its original arguments concerning race, gender and crime.  

Carolyn M. West, Ph.D.

Dr. Carolyn M. West is an award-winning author, filmmaker, keynote speaker, and Professor of Psychology at the University of Washington. Dr. West is a nationally recognized Black feminist scholar who investigates gender-based violence in the lives of African American women, with a focus on domestic violence, sexual assault, and sexual harassment. Dr. West has authored more than 70 academic publications and is editor/contributor of the book Violence in the Lives of Black Women: Battered, Black, and Blue (Routledge, 2002). In 2018, she produced the documentary “Let me tell ya’ll ‘bout Black chicks: Images of Black women in pornography.”  

Tarana Burke

An activist and organizer since the late 1980’s, Tarana Burke is best-known as a leader in the fight against sexual violence. During the 2017 Harvey Weinstein sexual abuse scandal, her hashtag “#metoo” became a rallying cry for survivors around the world. The tag was used more than 19 million times on twitter alone. The #metoo movement continued to be relevant and influential during the 2018 confirmation of Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh and the 2019 #muterkelly movement.

Share this Post