برنامج الملاحظات المالية للحكومة المحلية

تم إنشاء برنامج الملاحظات المالية للحكومة المحلية لمساعدة القادة المنتخبين على فهم أفضل للتأثيرات المالية التي يمكن أن تحدثها تشريعات الولاية المقترحة على المقاطعات والمدن ومعظم المناطق ذات الأغراض الخاصة.

يبحث فريق المحللين المتمرسين لدينا في أي قضية تشريعية تقريبًا يمكن أن تغير إيرادات الحكومة المحلية أو نفقاتها. نحن ننتج أكبر عدد من المذكرات المالية لأي وكالة حكومية. هذه هي السنة الثامنة والثلاثون من تشغيل برنامج الملاحظات المالية للحكومة المحلية.

الأسئلة المتكررة

ملاحظاتنا هي جزء من السجل التشريعي لمشاريع القوانين المقترحة ، وهي متاحة عادة للمشرعين والجمهور قبل جلسات الاستماع ويتم تحديثها مع تعديل مشاريع القوانين. تعد الملاحظات المالية للحكومة المحلية جزءًا من حزمة مذكرة مالية أكبر يتم إرسالها إلى لجان السياسة والاعتمادات في كل منزل ومتاحة لأفراد الجمهور عبر الإنترنت (تذهب هنا).
لا. نحن نغطي المقاطعات والمدن ومعظم المناطق ذات الأغراض الخاصة. تتضمن ملاحظاتنا تكاليف الادعاء والدفاع ولكن لا تتضمن التكاليف الأخرى المتعلقة بالمحكمة ، والتي يعالجها المكتب الإداري للمحاكم. المناطق التعليمية مغطاة من قبل مكتب المشرف على التعليم العام. نحن نعالج فقط التكاليف التي تمتد إلى السلطات القضائية المحلية الأخرى ، مثل الانتخابات.
نحن مكلفون بمعالجة أي مشكلة تقريبًا يمكن أن تؤثر على الحكومات المحلية ، مثل الضرائب والعدالة الجنائية والتنمية الاقتصادية واستخدام الأراضي والخدمات الاجتماعية والموارد الطبيعية والعمليات الحكومية والانتخابات والأشغال العامة. هذا هو السبب في أننا قد نمتلك أوسع نطاق ترددي للسياسة لأي متجر أبحاث في حكومة الولاية خارج مكتب الإدارة المالية.
يتم تحديد الآثار المالية المحتملة للتشريعات من خلال المسوحات ونماذج البيانات ومراجعة التقارير المنشورة وقواعد البيانات عبر الإنترنت والتشاور المباشر مع مسؤولي الحكومة المحلية والولاية. يعمل محللو الملاحظات المالية أيضًا عن كثب مع جمعيات الحكومة المحلية (انظر الشريط الجانبي الأيمن).
تم إنشاء عملية إصدار المذكرة المالية للحكومة المحلية في واشنطن في عام 1977 من خلال الفصل 43.132 RCW. تزود الملاحظات المالية للحكومة المحلية الهيئة التشريعية بالمعلومات التي تحتاجها لدعم الفصل 43.135.060 RCW. يتطلب هذا القانون من الدولة التخفيف من تأثير التشريع الذي يتطلب من الحكومات المحلية إنشاء أو توسيع الخدمات إذا لم يتم سداد هذه التكاليف من خلال مخصصات الدولة المحددة أو الزيادات في توزيعات الولاية للإيرادات للحكومة المحلية التي تم سنها بعد 1 يناير 1998.
الملاحظات المالية للحكومة المحلية متشابهة في الشكل. ومع ذلك ، عادة ما تركز ملاحظات وكالة الدولة في المقام الأول على عملياتها الخاصة. في المقابل ، فإن تركيزنا خارجي بالكامل: نحن نجمع البيانات ونحللها بشكل موضوعي من مئات السلطات القضائية المحلية. لهذا السبب يمنحنا قانون الولاية خمسة أيام للرد على طلبات الملاحظات المالية من مكتب الإدارة المالية ، في حين أن الموعد النهائي القانوني لملاحظات الوكالة هو ثلاثة أيام.

نعم. نحن واحد من 42 برنامجًا مشابهًا في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة.

احتاج مساعدة؟

أليس زلة ، مدير خدمات البحوث
alice.zillah@commerce.wa.gov
الهاتف: 360-725-5035

ألان جونسون
allan.johnson@commerce.wa.gov
الهاتف: 360-725-5033

Lawmaking can be surprisingly complicated. A seemingly small change in one state statute can have unintended consequences elsewhere. Policy development can get particularly complicated when it involves the multifaceted relationship between state and local governments.

The Local Government Fiscal Note Program was created to help elected leaders better understand the fiscal impacts proposed state legislation could have on on counties, cities, and most special purpose districts.

Our experienced team of analysts researches almost any legislative issue that could change local government revenues or expenditures. We produce the largest number of fiscal notes of any state agency. This is the Local Government Fiscal Note Program’s 38th year of operation.

Frequently Asked Questions

Our notes are part of the legislative record for proposed bills, typically available to legislators and the public prior to hearings and updated as bills are modified. Local government fiscal notes are part of a larger fiscal note packet sent to the policy and appropriations committees of each house and available to members of the public online (go here).
No. We cover counties, cities, and most special purpose districts. Our notes include prosecution and defense costs but not other court-related costs, which are addressed by the Administrative Office of the Courts. School districts are covered by the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction. We only address costs that spill over to other local jurisdictions, such as for elections.
We are charged with addressing almost any issue that could impact local governments, such as taxes, criminal justice, economic development, land use, social services, natural resources, government operations, elections, and public works. That’s why we may very well possess the broadest policy bandwidth of any research shop in state government outside of the Office of Financial Management.
Potential fiscal impacts of legislation are determined through surveys, data models, review of published reports and online databases, and direct consultation with state and local government officials. Fiscal note analysts also work closely with local government associations (see right sidebar).
Washington’s local government fiscal note process was established in 1977 through Chapter 43.132 RCW. Local government fiscal notes provide the Legislature with the information it needs to uphold Chapter 43.135.060 RCW. This statute requires the state to mitigate the impact of legislation that requires local governments to create or expand services if these costs are not reimbursed through specific state appropriations or increases in state distributions of revenue to local government enacted after January 1, 1998.
Local government fiscal notes are similar in format. However, state agency notes typically focus primarily on their own operations. In contrast, our focus is entirely external: We collect and objectively analyze data from literally hundreds of local jurisdictions. This is why state statute gives us five days to respond to fiscal note requests from the Office of Financial Management, while the statutory deadline for agency notes is three days.

Yes. We are one of 42 similar programs across the United States.