地方政府财政票据计划

地方政府财政票据计划的创建是为了帮助民选领导人更好地理解拟议的州立法可能对县,城市和大多数特殊目的地区产生的财政影响。

我们经验丰富的分析师团队几乎研究任何可能改变地方政府收入或支出的立法问题。 我们生产的任何州机构的财务票据数量最多。 这是地方政府财政票据计划执行的第38年。

常问的问题

我们的注释是拟议法案的立法记录的一部分,通常在听证会之前供立法者和公众使用,并随着法案的修改而更新。 地方政府财政票据是发送给每个房屋的政策和拨款委员会的较大财政票据数据包的一部分,并可供在线公众(去这里).
否。我们覆盖县,城市和大多数特殊目的地区。 我们的笔记包括起诉和辩护费用,但不包括与法院有关的其他费用,这些费用由法院行政办公室处理。 学区由公共教育总监办公室负责。 我们只处理溢出到其他地方司法管辖区的费用,例如选举费用。
我们负责处理几乎所有可能影响地方政府的问题,例如税收,刑事司法,经济发展,土地使用,社会服务,自然资源,政府运作,选举和公共工程。 这就是为什么我们很可能拥有除州财政管理办公室之外所有州政府研究机构中最广泛的政策带宽。
立法的潜在财政影响是通过调查,数据模型,审阅已发布的报告和在线数据库以及与州和地方政府官员直接协商来确定的。 财政票据分析师还与地方政府协会紧密合作(请参见右侧)。
华盛顿的地方政府财政记录程序于1977年通过 RCW 43.132。 地方政府的财政记录为立法机关提供了维护该章所需的信息 RCW 43.135.060。 该法规要求州减轻1年1998月XNUMX日后颁布的,如果州政府没有通过特定的拨款或增加对当地政府的收入分配来补偿创建或扩展服务的立法所产生的影响。
地方政府的财政票据的格式类似。 但是,国家机构的注释通常主要集中在自己的操作上。 相反,我们的关注点完全是外部的:我们收集并客观地分析了数百个地方辖区的数据。 这就是为什么国家法规要求我们有五天的时间来回应财务管理办公室的财务票据要求,而机构票据的法定期限是三天。

是。 我们是全美42个类似计划之一。

需要帮助?

研究服务经理Alice Zillah
alice.zillah@commerce.wa.gov
电话:360-725-5035

艾伦·约翰逊(Allan Johnson)
allan.johnson@commerce.wa.gov
电话:360-725-5033

Lawmaking can be surprisingly complicated. A seemingly small change in one state statute can have unintended consequences elsewhere. Policy development can get particularly complicated when it involves the multifaceted relationship between state and local governments.

The Local Government Fiscal Note Program was created to help elected leaders better understand the fiscal impacts proposed state legislation could have on on counties, cities, and most special purpose districts.

Our experienced team of analysts researches almost any legislative issue that could change local government revenues or expenditures. We produce the largest number of fiscal notes of any state agency. This is the Local Government Fiscal Note Program’s 38th year of operation.

Frequently Asked Questions

Our notes are part of the legislative record for proposed bills, typically available to legislators and the public prior to hearings and updated as bills are modified. Local government fiscal notes are part of a larger fiscal note packet sent to the policy and appropriations committees of each house and available to members of the public online (go here).
No. We cover counties, cities, and most special purpose districts. Our notes include prosecution and defense costs but not other court-related costs, which are addressed by the Administrative Office of the Courts. School districts are covered by the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction. We only address costs that spill over to other local jurisdictions, such as for elections.
We are charged with addressing almost any issue that could impact local governments, such as taxes, criminal justice, economic development, land use, social services, natural resources, government operations, elections, and public works. That’s why we may very well possess the broadest policy bandwidth of any research shop in state government outside of the Office of Financial Management.
Potential fiscal impacts of legislation are determined through surveys, data models, review of published reports and online databases, and direct consultation with state and local government officials. Fiscal note analysts also work closely with local government associations (see right sidebar).
Washington’s local government fiscal note process was established in 1977 through Chapter 43.132 RCW. Local government fiscal notes provide the Legislature with the information it needs to uphold Chapter 43.135.060 RCW. This statute requires the state to mitigate the impact of legislation that requires local governments to create or expand services if these costs are not reimbursed through specific state appropriations or increases in state distributions of revenue to local government enacted after January 1, 1998.
Local government fiscal notes are similar in format. However, state agency notes typically focus primarily on their own operations. In contrast, our focus is entirely external: We collect and objectively analyze data from literally hundreds of local jurisdictions. This is why state statute gives us five days to respond to fiscal note requests from the Office of Financial Management, while the statutory deadline for agency notes is three days.

Yes. We are one of 42 similar programs across the United States.