Earned Income Tax Credit

Viele Menschen in Washington haben Anspruch auf die Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) vom IRS, wenn sie ihre Bundeseinkommenssteuern einreichen. Dieser Kredit ist möglicherweise Tausende von Dollar wert. Die Steuergutschrift wird in etwa 20 Prozent der Fälle nicht beansprucht, was bedeutet, dass fast eine halbe Million Washingtoner etwas verpassen. 

Arbeitende Großeltern

 

Menschen mit Behinderungen, Menschen, die in ländlichen Gebieten leben, arbeitende Großeltern, indianische Gemeinschaften, diejenigen, die dienen oder die beim Militär gedient haben und viele andere sind berechtigt, die Gutschrift zu erhalten.

Stellen Sie in diesem Jahr sicher, dass Sie sich für EITC qualifizieren, bevor Sie einreichen. Verwenden Sie die EITC-Assistent von IRS um herauszufinden, ob Sie berechtigt sind.

Finden Sie einen kostenlosen Steuererklärungsservice in Ihrer Nähe

Haben Sie ein geringes bis mittleres Einkommen? In diesem Fall erhalten Sie möglicherweise mit Hilfe von zwei kostenlosen Programmen, VITA - Volunteer Income Tax Assistance und AARP Tax-Aide, kostenlose Hilfe bei der Einreichung Ihrer Steuern. Diese Programme haben Freiwillige geschult, die Ihnen beim Ausfüllen und Einreichen Ihrer grundlegenden Steuererklärung helfen können, einschließlich der Einforderung der Steuererklärung EITC - Earned Income Tax Credit wenn Sie berechtigt sind

AARP (Web)
IRS (Web)
Meine kostenlosen Steuern (Web)
Washington 2-1-1 (Web)

Es ist nicht zu spät, Rückgaben für das Vorjahr einzureichen

Sie können weiterhin Ihre Steuererklärungen für 2017, 2018 und 2019 einreichen, um EITC zu beantragen, wenn Sie berechtigt waren. Aber Sie müssen einreichen, um es zu beanspruchen! Mehr erfahren Sie hier.

Andere hilfreiche Links

Schauen Sie sich das Washington an Finanzieller Bildungskalender um mehr über Geldmanagementkurse zu erfahren, die im ganzen Staat angeboten werden.

Earned Income Tax Credit

Many people in Washington are eligible to receive the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) from the IRS when they file their federal income taxes. This credit is potentially worth thousands of dollars. The tax credit goes unclaimed about 20 percent of the time, meaning that nearly half a million Washingtonians miss out. 

Woman working on laptop next to child

Persons with disabilities, those living in rural areas, working grandparents, Native American communities, those who are serving or who have served in the military and many others are eligible to receive the credit.

This year, make sure and check to see if you qualify for EITC before you file. Use the IRS’s EITC Assistant to find out if you’re eligible.

  • Child-related tax credits explained: The IRS recently published Publication 5585 (attached and linked below), which describes eligibility for child-related 2021 tax credits (Earned Income Tax Credit, Child Tax Credit and the Child and Dependent Care Credit) for people who may qualify to receive a tax refund even if they are not required to file a tax return.
  • Get ready for taxes: The IRS encourages taxpayers to take important actions this month to help them file their federal tax returns in 2022, including special steps related to Economic Impact Payments and advance Child Tax Credit payments.

Find a Free Tax Filing Service Near You

Do you have low to moderate income? If so you may be able to get free help filing your taxes with the help of two free programs, VITA – Volunteer Income Tax Assistance and AARP Tax-Aide. These programs have trained volunteers which can assist in completing and filing your basic tax return, including claiming the EITC – Earned Income Tax Credit if you are eligible.

It's Not Too Late to File for Prior Year Returns

You can still file your tax returns for 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 to claim EITC if you were eligible. But you must file to claim it! Find out more here.

Other helpful links

Check out the Washington Financial Education Calendar to learn about money management classes being offered around the state.