تقرير تقييم المشردين السنوي (AHAR)

  • أبريل 1

ووجد التقرير أنه بين عامي 2019 و 2020 ، زاد التشرد بشكل كبير بين السكان غير المأوى والأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد المزمن.

"نتائج تقرير AHAR الجزء الأول لعام 2020 مقلقة للغاية ، حتى قبل أن تفكر في ما فعله COVID-1 لجعل أزمة التشرد أسوأ ،" وقالت وزيرة الإسكان والتنمية الحضرية مارسيا ل. فودج. "بفضل قيادة الرئيس بايدن ، نضع مرة أخرى الإسكان أولاً لإنهاء هذه الأزمة وبناء مجتمعات قوية وصحية ، كما يتضح من خطة الإنقاذ الأمريكية. إنني أتطلع إلى العمل مع الرئيس بايدن لتنفيذ هذه الحزمة التاريخية لتقديم إغاثة قوية ومنصفة لأولئك الذين يعانون من التشرد. يجب أن يكون السكن حقًا وليس امتيازًا ، كما أن ضمان حصول كل أمريكي على منزل آمن ومستقر هو واجب وطني ".

"حتى الارتفاع الطفيف الذي حدث قبل تفشي الوباء في التشرد المخضرم بعد الانخفاض الكبير منذ عام 2010 مقلق للغاية ،" قال وزير شؤون المحاربين القدامى دينيس ماكدونو. "إن إعادة التزام إدارة بايدن بالإسكان أولاً - وهي استراتيجية مجربة وطريقة كريمة لمساعدة قدامى المحاربين وغيرهم على تحقيق سكن دائم ومستقر - سيساعد على تسريع التقدم في منع التشرد المخضرم والقضاء عليه. ستحدث خطة الإنقاذ الأمريكية أيضًا تأثيرًا كبيرًا في تحسين النتائج للمحاربين القدامى من خلال توسيع الوصول إلى خدمات الوقاية من المشردين المجتمعية وخدمات إعادة الإسكان السريعة لأولئك الذين قد لا يكونون مؤهلين للحصول على رعاية VA. "

تصدر HUD تقرير تقييم المشردين السنوي إلى الكونغرس (AHAR) في جزأين. يقدم الجزء الأول تقديرات نقطة في الوقت المناسب (PIT) ، ويقدم لمحة سريعة عن التشرد - سواء كان محميًا أو غير مأوى - في ليلة واحدة. يتم إجراء إحصاء ليلة واحدة خلال الأيام العشرة الأخيرة من شهر يناير من كل عام. توفر حسابات PIT أيضًا تقديرًا لعدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد داخل مجموعات معينة من المشردين ، مثل الأفراد الذين يعانون من أنماط مزمنة من التشرد والمحاربين القدامى الذين يعانون من التشرد.

في عام 2020 ، تم الإبلاغ عن تقديرات PIT للأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد في مواقع محمية وغير مأوى ، بالإضافة إلى عدد الأسرة المتاحة لخدمتهم ، من قبل 396 Continuum of Care (CoC) على الصعيد الوطني. غطت 396 مدونة قواعد سلوك الولايات المتحدة بأكملها تقريبًا.

تستند التعدادات في الوقت المحدد للتشرد ومعلومات جرد المساكن إلى بيانات من يناير 2020. وبالتالي فهي لا تعكس العواقب الصحية أو الاقتصادية لوباء COVID-19 على مستويات التشرد أو خصائص الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد.

النتائج الرئيسية لتقرير HUD السنوي عن تقييم المشردين لعام 2020 الجزء 1:

  • في ليلة واحدة في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2020 ، عانى 580,466 شخصًا - حوالي 18 من كل 10,000 شخص في الولايات المتحدة - من التشرد في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. ويمثل هذا زيادة بنسبة 2.2٪ عن عام 2019.
  • بعد التخفيضات المطردة من عام 2010 إلى عام 2016 ، زاد التشرد في السنوات الأربع الأخيرة على التوالي.
  • ترجع الزيادة في حالات التشرد إلى ارتفاع عدد الأفراد غير المأوى (زيادة بنسبة 7٪ عن عام 2019). أثرت هذه الزيادة على الزيادة الكبيرة في الأفراد الذين يعانون من التشرد المزمن (زيادة بنسبة 15 ٪ منذ عام 2019). الزيادة في التشرد غير المأوى مدفوع إلى حد كبير بالزيادات في كاليفورنيا ويتزامن مع الزيادات في التشرد العام.
  • لم ينخفض ​​معدل التشرد المخضرم في عام 2020. كان عام 2020 هو العام الأول الذي لم ينخفض ​​فيه التشرد بين الأسر منذ عام 2010.
  • انخفض معدل تشرد الشباب بشكل طفيف (انخفاض بنسبة 2.2٪ عن عام 2019).
  • يتم تمثيل الأشخاص الملونين بشكل كبير بين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد.

التشرد بين جميع الناس

إجمالي عدد الأشخاص الذين عانوا من التشرد في ليلة واحدة في يناير 2020 هو 580,466 ، بزيادة قدرها 2.2٪ عن يناير 2019 ، مدفوعة بالزيادات في عدد السكان المشردين غير المأوى. ارتفع عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد على الصعيد الوطني بنسبة 2٪ بين عامي 2019 و 2020 ، أو 12,751 شخصًا إضافيًا. يمثل هذا العام الرابع على التوالي الذي يزداد فيه التشرد الإجمالي في الولايات المتحدة.

التشرد المزمن

في ليلة واحدة في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2020 ، عانى 110,528 شخصًا من التشرد المزمن ، أي ما يزيد قليلاً عن ربع جميع الأشخاص المشردين. هذه هي المرة الأولى منذ عام 2011 التي يتجاوز فيها عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أنماط مزمنة من التشرد 100,000. ارتفع عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد المزمن بنسبة 15٪ منذ عام 2019.

التشرد غير المحمي

في ليلة واحدة في عام 2020 ، كان ما يقرب من أربعة من كل عشرة (39٪ أو 226,080 شخصًا) في أماكن غير مأوى مثل الشارع أو المباني المهجورة أو أماكن أخرى غير مناسبة لسكن الإنسان. بين عامي 2019 و 2020 ، ارتفع عدد الأشخاص الذين تم إحصاؤهم في المواقع غير المأوى بنسبة 7٪ أو 14,787 شخصًا. يمثل عام 2020 المرة الأولى منذ بدء جمع البيانات التي يكون فيها عدد أكبر من الأفراد الذين يعانون من التشرد بلا مأوى أكثر من الذين تم إيواؤهم. بين عامي 2019 و 2020 ، زاد عدد الأفراد غير المأوى بنسبة 7٪ ، في حين ظل عدد الأفراد المحميين دون تغيير إلى حد كبير. حدثت زيادات في عدد السكان غير المأوى عبر جميع الفئات الجغرافية.

تشرد الأسرة

كان هناك 171,575 شخصًا في عائلات لديها أطفال عانوا من التشرد في ليلة واحدة في عام 2020 ، تمامًا كما كان في عام 2019. تم إيواء تسعة من كل عشرة أشخاص يعانون من التشرد في أسر لديها أطفال ، 154,908،16,667 أشخاص. تم العثور على XNUMX بالمائة من الأشخاص في العائلات التي لديها أطفال ، XNUMX شخصًا ، في أماكن غير مأوى.

التشرد المخضرم

في ليلة واحدة في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2020 ، عانى 37,252 من قدامى المحاربين من التشرد في الولايات المتحدة ، أي 8٪ من جميع البالغين المشردين. بين عامي 2019 و 2020 ، زاد عدد المحاربين القدامى الذين يعانون من التشرد بنسبة أقل من 1٪ (167 شخصًا إضافيًا). كانت الزيادة كاملة بين قدامى المحاربين المقيمين في أماكن غير مأوى (859 قدامى المحاربين). ومع ذلك ، في عام 2020 ، كان عدد المحاربين القدامى الذين عانوا من التشرد 36,115 أقل مما كان عليه في عام 2009 ، عندما تم الإبلاغ عن هذه البيانات لأول مرة ، وانخفضت بنسبة 50٪ تقريبًا.

التشرد بين الملونين

ظل الأمريكيون الأفارقة والسكان الأصليون (بما في ذلك الأمريكيون الأصليون وجزر المحيط الهادئ) ممثلين بشكل كبير للغاية بين السكان المشردين مقارنة بسكان الولايات المتحدة. ما يقرب من 4 من كل 10 أشخاص عانوا من التشرد في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2020 كانوا من السود أو الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي (39٪ أو 228,796،47 شخصًا). كانت النسبة المئوية للأشخاص في الملاجئ من السود أو الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي (167,205٪ أو 27 أشخاص) أعلى من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التشرد في الأماكن غير المأوى (61,591٪ أو 23،1). ما يقرب من ربع جميع الأشخاص الذين عانوا من التشرد ، 5 ٪ ، كانوا من أصل لاتيني أو لاتيني (بحساب الأشخاص من جميع الأعراق الذين يعرفون أنهم من أصل لاتيني أو لاتيني). معًا ، يمثل الهنود الأمريكيون وسكان ألاسكا الأصليون وجزر المحيط الهادئ وسكان هاواي الأصليون 7 ٪ من سكان الولايات المتحدة ولكن XNUMX ٪ من السكان المشردين و XNUMX ٪ من السكان غير المأوى.

حصة هذا المنصب

The Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR)​

  • April 1, 2021

The report found that between 2019 and 2020, homelessness increased significantly among unsheltered populations and people experiencing chronic homelessness.

“The findings of the 2020 AHAR Part 1 Report are very troubling, even before you consider what COVID-19 has done to make the homelessness crisis worse,” said Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Marcia L. Fudge. “Thanks to President Biden’s leadership, we are once again putting Housing First to end this crisis and build strong, healthy communities, as reflected in the American Rescue Plan. I look forward to working with President Biden to implement this historic package to deliver robust, equitable relief to those experiencing homelessness. Housing should be a right, not a privilege, and ensuring that every American has a safe, stable home is a national imperative.”

“Even a slight pre-pandemic uptick in Veteran homelessness after significant declines since 2010 is extremely concerning,” said Secretary of Veterans Affairs Denis McDonough. “The Biden Administration’s recommitment to Housing First – a proven strategy and dignified way to help Veterans and others achieve stable, permanent housing – will help accelerate progress in preventing and eliminating Veteran homelessness. The American Rescue Plan will also make a major impact in improving outcomes for Veterans by expanding access to community-based homeless prevention and rapid rehousing services for those who may not qualify for VA care.”

HUD releases the Annual Homeless Assessment Report to Congress (AHAR) in two parts. Part 1 provides Point-in-Time (PIT) estimates, offering a snapshot of homelessness-both sheltered and unsheltered-on a single night. The one-night counts are conducted during the last 10 days of Jan. each year. The PIT counts also provide an estimate of the number of people experiencing homelessness within particular homeless populations, such as individuals with chronic patterns of homelessness and veterans experiencing homelessness.

In 2020, the PIT estimates of people experiencing homelessness in sheltered and unsheltered locations, as well as the number of beds available to serve them, were reported by 396 Continuums of Care (CoC) nationwide. These 396 CoCs covered virtually the entire United States.

The Point-in-Time counts of homelessness and the housing inventory information are based on data from Jan. 2020. They thus do not reflect the health or economic consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic for levels of homelessness or characteristic of people experiencing homelessness.

Key Findings of HUD’s 2020 Annual Homeless Assessment Report Part 1:

  • On a single night in Jan. 2020, 580,466 people – about 18 of every 10,000 people in the United States – experienced homelessness across the United States. This represents a 2.2% increase from 2019.
  • After steady reductions from 2010 to 2016, homelessness has increased in the last four consecutive years.
  • The increase in homelessness was due to the rise in unsheltered individuals (a 7% increase from 2019). This increase impacted the large increase in individuals experiencing chronic homelessness (a 15% increase since 2019). The increase in unsheltered homelessness is driven largely by increases in California and coincides with increases in overall homelessness.
  • Veteran homelessness did not decline in 2020. 2020 was the first year that homelessness among family households did not fall since 2010.
  • Youth homelessness is slightly down (a 2.2% decrease from 2019).
  • People of color are significantly over-represented among people experiencing homelessness.

Homelessness Among All People

The total number of people experiencing homelessness on a single night in Jan. 2020 is 580,466, an increase of 2.2% from Jan. 2019, driven by increases in the unsheltered homeless population. The number of people experiencing homelessness nationwide increased by 2% between 2019 and 2020, or 12,751 more people. This marks the fourth consecutive year that total homelessness has increased in the United States.

Chronic Homelessness

On a single night in Jan. 2020, 110,528 individuals experienced chronic homelessness, just over one-quarter of all homeless individuals. This is the first time since 2011 that the number of people with chronic patterns of homelessness exceeded 100,000. The number of people experiencing chronic homelessness increased 15% from 2019.

Unsheltered Homelessness

On a single night in 2020, nearly four in ten (39% or 226,080 people) were in unsheltered locations such as on the street, in abandoned buildings, or other places not suitable for human habitation. Between 2019 and 2020, the number of people counted in unsheltered locations rose by 7% or 14,787 people. 2020 marks the first time since data collection began that more individuals experiencing homelessness were unsheltered than were sheltered. Between 2019 and 2020, the number of unsheltered individuals increased by 7%, while the number of sheltered individuals remained largely unchanged. Increases in the unsheltered population occurred across all geographic categories.

Family Homelessness

There were 171,575 people in families with children who experienced homelessness on a single night in 2020, essentially the same as in 2019. Nine in ten people experiencing homelessness in families with children were sheltered, 154,908 people. Ten percent of people in families with children, 16,667 people, were found in unsheltered locations.

Veteran Homelessness

On a single night in Jan. 2020, 37,252 veterans experienced homelessness in the U.S., 8% of all homeless adults. Between 2019 and 2020, the number of veterans experiencing homelessness increased by less than 1% (167 more people). The increase was entirely among veterans staying in unsheltered places (859 more veterans). However, in 2020 36,115 fewer veterans were experiencing homelessness than in 2009, when these data were first reported, dropping nearly 50%.

Homelessness Among People of Color

African Americans and indigenous people (including Native Americans and Pacific Islanders) remained considerably overrepresented among the homeless population compared to the U.S. population. Almost 4 of every 10 people experiencing homelessness in Jan. 2020 were Black or African American (39% or 228,796 people). A higher percentage of people in shelters were Black or African American (47% or 167,205 people) than were people experiencing homelessness in unsheltered locations (27% or 61,591). Almost a quarter of all people experiencing homelessness, 23%, were Hispanic or Latino (counting people of all races who identify as Hispanic or Latino). Together, American Indian, Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and Native Hawaiian populations account for 1% of the U.S. population but 5% of the homeless population and 7% of the unsheltered population.

Share this Post