复苏数据揭示了关键部门和集团持续困难中的机遇

  • 30年2020月XNUMX日

全州数据

全州范围的数据为我们提供了华盛顿经济的广泛概览,但是当我们按行业,地区或人口统计数据细分时,我们发现了重要的差异。 这些更深入的数据中的一些提供了对促进公平和可持续恢复的关注领域的见解。

例如,商务部《经济复苏仪表盘》上最新的月度数据显示,由农业,林业,渔业和狩猎业组成的部门强劲增长,其中农作物生产的应税业务收入比去年同期增长了73%。 林业和伐木业增长了23%。 这是个好消息,对于许多华盛顿州东部和农村地区的社区来说尤其如此。 另一方面,在更深入地研究部门数据时,我们发现捕鱼和狩猎活动滞后,从而揭示了集中精力支持海洋社区的机会,例如最近为贝类养殖者提供的救济资金。

同样,我们毫不奇怪地看到,休闲和酒店业继续在整个领域遭受巨大冲击。 在这一领域的更深层次看,对表演艺术(包括观众运动)的影响不成比例,与去年同月相比减少了近70%。 这种大流行病正在摧毁我们的创意经济,要求采取一些措施,例如我们与华盛顿州艺术委员会的合作关系,以提供1.5万美元的CARES法案资金,用于向全州的艺术和文化非营利组织提供赠款。

人口统计数据显示了其他巨大影响。 继续阅读[LINK]

硬数据继续证明,黑人,土著和有色人种(BIPOC)社区正遭受来自COVID的更大的负面经济影响。 这些数据推动我们开展工作,为援助计划筹集资金,以帮助BIPOC企业主和由这些社区成员领导和服务的组织。 可靠的使者和与文化相关的沟通对于确保平等获得可用的本地,州和联邦COVID救助资金及其他资源至关重要。

我们还正在跟踪影响工人的其他趋势,例如,离开劳动力大军的妇女人数惊人。  最近的报告 数据显示,今年XNUMX月女性离职的人数是男性的四倍。 需要更多的研究,但大流行期间这些劳动力流失的主要驱动因素与远程学校教学的压力有关,在许多服务和酒店业工作中,女性所占比例过高。 在最好的时候,更大的能力和获得负担得起的儿童保育是至关重要的优先事项,但如果我们希望安全地重启和重建经济,这一点就尤为重要。

这些只是我们经济复苏仪表板和数据跟踪工作已经在帮助我们以新方式查看数据的方式的一瞥,从而使我们可以更有效地专注于高影响力投资,以支持整个州的公平经济增长和强大社区。 加利福尼亚州等其他州已经在寻求效仿。

我计划在本新闻通讯中每月分享当前数据中的关键要点。

仪表板和可下载数据可在Commerce网站上的任何人随时访问: 经济复苏仪表盘

分享这篇文章

Recovery data reveal opportunity amidst ongoing hardship in key sectors and groups

  • October 30, 2020

statewide data

Statewide data gives us a broad overview of Washington’s economy, but it’s when we drill down into the numbers by industry sector, region or demographics that we see important differences. Some of these deeper data offer insight into areas of focus for encouraging equitable and sustainable recovery.

For example, recent monthly data compiled in Commerce’s Economic Recovery Dashboard reveal strong growth in the sector comprised of agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting, led by a 73% increase in taxable business income for crop production over the same period last year. Forestry and logging increased 23%. That is positive news, especially for many rural and Eastern Washington communities. On the other hand, digging deeper in the sector data, we see fishing and hunting lagging, revealing opportunity to focus on supporting maritime communities, such as the recent relief funding made available to shellfish growers.

Similarly, we see – not surprisingly – that the leisure and hospitality sector continues to suffer mightily across the board. Looking deeper in that sector, a disproportionate impact on performing arts, including spectator sports, emerges with a nearly 70% decrease in income over the same month last year. The pandemic is decimating our creative economy, demanding steps such as our partnership with the Washington State Arts Commission to provide $1.5 million in CARES Act funding for grants to arts and culture nonprofits throughout the state.

Demographic data reveal other out-sized impacts. Continue reading [LINK]

Hard data continue to bear out that black, indigenous and people of color (BIPOC) communities are experiencing greater negative economic impact from COVID. This data drives our work to carve out pockets of funding for assistance programs to help BIPOC business owners and organizations led by and serving members of these communities. Trusted messengers and culturally-relevant communication is essential for ensure equal access to available local, state and federal COVID relief funding and other resources.

We’re also tracking other trends affecting workers, such as the alarming numbers of women leaving the workforce.  Recent reporting reveals that women are leaving the workforce at four times that of men in September this year. More study is needed, but primary drivers of these workforce losses during the pandemic are connected with pressures of remote school instruction and women disproportionately represented in many service and hospitality industry jobs. Greater capacity and access to affordable childcare is a critical priority in the best of times, but even more so if we hope to safely restart and rebuild our economy.

These are just a glimpse into the ways our Economic Recovery Dashboard and data-tracking work is already helping us see data in new ways, enabling a more effective focus on high-impact investments to support equitable economic growth and strong communities throughout the state. Already, other states such as California are looking to follow our lead.

I plan to share key takeaways from current data each month in this newsletter.

The dashboard and downloadable data are available to anyone, anytime on Commerce’s website here: Economic Recovery Dashboard

Share this Post