隐藏的影响助长了不均衡的经济复苏

  • 29月2021, XNUMX

正如我们在整个历史性的经济衰退期间所看到的那样,一些行业和社区继续以不同的方式体验到大流行的影响。 由于公共卫生措施要求餐馆,酒吧,体育馆和聚会场所的长期关闭或缩减,一些影响显而易见。 其他人不那么明显,但也同样具有挑战性。

随着我们在家里学习,工作和度过更多的时间,保持开放和全面运营的企业也陷入困境。 出于必需和选择,消费者的行为已发生重大变化。 我们不是在开车,拼车或乘坐公共交通工具。 大量的人从家里继续工作,这意味着去咖啡店,午餐场所和干洗店的站点减少了。 即使有可能继续光顾餐馆,零售商,沙龙和其他场所,有些也不再有经济能力这样做,而另一些会选择限制活动,直到他们感到更安全为止。

我们的 经济复苏仪表盘 显示全州白天在家中花费的时间减少了14%以上。 这比去年三月最初的锁定之后的25%的下降有所增加,但仍大大低于正常水平。 失去活动的滴影响是真实的,而某些行业和社区被抛在后面的“ K形”复苏的可能性将对我们所有人产生长期影响。

经济与收入预测委员会(Economic and Revenue Forecast Council)的数据显示,我们经济中的某些部门确实正在风雨如磐并在增长,包括零售贸易(主要是电子购物),建筑和IT服务,所有这些部门的表现都超过了美国平均水平。 一月更新.

商务部已努力将近1亿美元导向受灾最严重的企业和社区。 我们最近一轮的华盛顿工作小企业补助金紧紧围绕那些直接受到公共卫生措施影响的补助金-全方位服务的餐厅,酒吧,体育馆和室内场所。 我们还管理了非营利性股权救济赠款,这些赠款已帮助一些历史最欠缺的社区中成百上千的受影响非营利组织。

现在,当立法机关考虑采取早期行动时,可能会注入240亿美元用于小型企业援助,365亿美元用于租金援助,我们注意到一些商业部门和社区仍在为生计而战。 毫无疑问,对援助的需求仍然高于可用资源的数量,但是随着疫苗的分发,新的联邦援助的到来以及即将到来的州政府的额外支持,企业被证明像以往一样具有弹性和创造力。 尽管仍然很慢,但所有新开的小企业的营业曲线都呈上升趋势,在某些行业明显。 例如,与15年2020月相比,40月份新的零售和运输业务开张量下降了XNUMX%以上,而XNUMX月份的低点接近XNUMX%。

我们将继续按行业,地区和人口跟踪数据,以加强社区建设,提供平等的机会和机会进行恢复和重建,从而指导州和联邦基金的投资。

分享这篇文章

Hidden impacts fueling uneven economic recovery

  • January 29, 2021

As we’ve seen throughout this historic economic downturn, some industries and communities continue to experience the impact of the pandemic very differently. Some impacts are clear as public health measures have required prolonged closures or curtailment of restaurants, bars, gyms and gathering places. Others are less obvious, but no less challenging.

As we learn, work and spend more time at home, businesses that remain open and fully operational are also struggling. Consumer behavior has significantly changed, out of necessity and choice. We’re not driving, ride-sharing or taking public transportation as much. Significant numbers of people continue working from home meaning fewer stops to coffee shops, lunch spots and dry-cleaners. Even where it is possible to continue to patronize restaurants, retailers, salons and other establishments, some no longer have the financial means to do so, while others will choose to limit activities until they feel safer.

Our Economic Recovery Dashboard shows a more than 14% decrease statewide in time spent out of the home during the day. This is up from the 25% drop following the initial lockdown last March, but still significantly lower than normal. The trickle down impact of that lost activity is real, and the possibility of a “K-shaped” recovery in which some industries and communities are left behind will have long-term consequences for all of us.

Some sectors of our economy are indeed weathering the storm and growing, including retail trade (primarily electronic shopping), construction and IT services, all of which are outperforming the U.S. average according to the Economic and Revenue Forecast Council’s January update.

Commerce has worked to direct nearly $1 billion to the hardest-hit businesses and communities. Our most recent round of Working Washington small business grants was tightly focused on those directly impacted by public health measures – full-service restaurants, bars, gyms and indoor venues. We’ve also administered nonprofit equity relief grants that have helped hundreds of disproportionately impacted nonprofit organizations in some of our most historically underserved communities.

Now as the Legislature considers early action that could infuse $240 million for small business assistance and $365 million for rent assistance, we are mindful that some business sectors and communities are still fighting for their livelihood. There is no question the need for assistance remains higher than the amount of resources available, but with vaccine distribution underway, new federal aid underway and additional state support coming soon, businesses are proving to be as resilient and creative as ever. While still slow, the curve on all new small business openings is trending upward, significantly in some sectors. For example, new retail and transportation business openings in January were down just over 15% compared to January 2020, rising steadily from a low near 40% in April.

We will continue to track data by industry, region and population in order to steward investment of state and federal funds in ways that strengthen communities and provide equal access and opportunity to recover and rebuild.

Share this Post