第31届百年周年协议汲取智慧和经验,应对我们共同的挑战

  • 24年2020月XNUMX日

由商务部部落联络员Ernie Rasmussen

印度事务徽标办公室

华盛顿州与华盛顿州的29个主权部落之间的政府与政府之间的关系,以及俄勒冈州的两个部落,并不是完全独特的。 大多数在其疆域内拥有部落的州政府,都在努力履行最高法院大法官约翰·马歇尔(John Marshall)在1800年代初期所定义的部落固有主权。 这里的独特之处在于华盛顿州法律(RCW 43.376)定义了建立和维持我们与部落之间重要的G2G关系的责任和谨慎程度。

MTT综合医学训练疗法国际教学中心st 年度百年协议协定提供了另一个这样的机会,以加强我们与31个不同部落政府的协作和协调工作。 能够与Inslee州长,Brown局长和她的内阁代理负责人并肩坐下,向我们的部落伙伴倾听并了解他们的优先事项,是一种荣幸。 至少可以说,这很谦虚地介绍了我们商务团队的出色工作,以配合Tribes的优先事项来履行我们的使命。

Commerce中的每个部门都以某种方式触及了部落的优先事项。 能源部门负责人迈克尔·弗泽(Michael Furze)和他的团队专注于缓解气候变化的战略,包括交通电气化和建筑节能。 由马克·巴克利(Mark Ba​​rkley)领导的地方政府部门支持土地使用规划,以解决华盛顿不断增长的人口和对自然资源的影响,并致力于解决基础设施的发展。 黛安·克朗兹(Diane Klontz)的社区服务和住房部门团队继续展示与全州部落的有效合作关系,特别是与大流行期间紧急避难所的需求有关。 由克里斯·格林(Chris Green)领导的商务部经济发展与竞争力办公室与多个部落合作,共同发展更强大,更具韧性的农村经济。

当然,《百年协议》重申了宽带作为面对COVID-19维护公共健康的战略的重要性。 这是商务部明确的优先事项,这体现在社区经济振兴委员会的承诺,公共工程委员会对关键部落宽带建设项目的支持以及俄罗斯国家宽带办公室的罗斯·艾略特(Russ Elliott)在政策上的领导作用,以弥合印度国家的数字鸿沟。

远离2020年百年协议,我们仍然需要做很多工作来维护公共卫生并领导大流行后的经济复苏。 我相信与这个团队和华盛顿州部落一起合作,我们将成功并迎接未来的下一个挑战。

 

分享这篇文章

31st Annual Centennial Accord draws on wisdom and experience to meet our common challenges

  • November 24, 2020

​By Commerce Tribal Liaison Ernie Rasmussen

Office of Indian Affairs Logo

The government-to-government relationship between the State of Washington and the 29 sovereign Tribes of Washington state, along with two Tribes from Oregon, is not wholly unique.  Most state governments that have Tribes within their boundaries work to honor the inherent Tribal sovereignty as defined by Supreme Court Justice John Marshall in the early 1800s.  What is unique here is Washington State Law (RCW 43.376) defining a level of duty and care to establish and maintain our valued G2G relationship with Tribes.

The 31st Annual Centennial Accord provided another such opportunity to strengthen our efforts to collaborate and coordinate work with 31 different Tribal governments.  It was an honor to sit alongside Governor Inslee, Director Brown and her fellow cabinet  agency leaders to listen and learn from our Tribal partners about their priorities. It was humbling, to say the least, to present updates on the good work of our Commerce teams to meet our mission in alignment with Tribes’ priorities.

Every division within Commerce somehow touches on Tribal priorities. Energy division leader Michael Furze and his team are focused on climate change mitigation strategies, including transportation electrification and building energy efficiency. The local government division, led by Mark Barkley, supports land use planning to address Washington’s growing population and impacts on natural resources, along with working to address infrastructure development. Diane Klontz’s team in the community services and housing division continues to demonstrate effective working relationships with Tribes throughout the state, especially related to emergency shelter needs during the pandemic. Commerce’s Office of Economic Development and Competitiveness, led by Chris Green, works in partnership with a number of Tribes to develop stronger, more resilient rural economies.

Of course, the Centennial Accord reiterated the importance of broadband as a strategy for preserving public health in the face of COVID-19.  This is a clear priority at Commerce, demonstrated through commitments by the Community Economic Revitalization Board, support for key Tribal broadband construction projects from the Public Works Board, and Russ Elliott’s policy leadership at the state Broadband Office working to bridge the digital divide in Indian Country.

Coming away from the 2020 Centennial Accord, we still have much work to do to preserve public health and to lead a post-pandemic economic recovery. I’m confident that working together with this team and the Tribes of Washington State, we will succeed and meet the next big challenge ahead.

 

Share this Post