更新:貿易戰和關稅

  • 二零二一年八月十日

最近幾週,幾乎每天都有新聞報導貿易政策,關稅和報復行動。 華盛頓州的經濟比美國任何其他州都更注重國際貿易-這裡近40%的工作與貿易有關。 這引起了當地,國家和國際媒體的關注,這些媒體試圖了解特朗普政府的政策和行動對美國企業和工人的意義。

最新一輪的發展包括土耳其對美國許多產品徵收的高達40%的關稅,其中包括酒類,白酒,塑料,紙張和汽車。 這些對我們的國家幾乎沒有直接影響。

更令人擔憂的是,中國上週與世界貿易組織(WTO)採取了行動,就包括華盛頓在內的多個州的州級可再生能源(特別是太陽能)激勵計劃啟動了爭端解決程序。

根據美國貿易 世界貿易在線中國聲稱,美國的補貼為其國內可再生能源產業提供了不公平的競爭優勢。 一個 中國國營新聞社的文章 指美國先前對進口光伏產品徵收最高30%關稅的措施。

諮詢請求是指在加利福尼亞州,密歇根州和其他州有爭議的計劃中,華盛頓州的《可再生能源成本回收獎勵支付計劃》。 中國在14月XNUMX日提交的文件中稱,該計劃違反了美國對WTO的承諾,因為合格的客戶被授權從公用事業公司和“這些公用事業公司”獲得“每千瓦時電”的年度生產獎勵。然後有資格獲得稅收抵免,用於獎勵金。 它還提到了投資成本回收激勵措施。 目前尚不清楚世貿組織將如何或何時作出回應。

同時,我們繼續強調國際貿易和商業關係對本州經濟的高價值。 如果您錯過了它,下面是一些最近的訪談,這些訪談包括州長Jay Inslee,克里斯·格林(Chris Green),高級貿易顧問羅伯特·漢密爾頓(Robert Hamilton)和我與記者們談談對這裡企業和工作的潛在影響。

CNBC州長Jay Inslee https://www.cnbc.com/video/2018/07/12/jay-inslee-on-trade-and-tariffs-.html

中國環球電視網董事Bonlender https://news.cgtn.com/news/3567544f33454464776c6d636a4e6e62684a4856/share_p.html

OEDC助理董事Chris Green在英國范堡羅國際航空展上的BBC節目中 https://business.facebook.com/WAStateCommerce/videos/1922450247822430/

KING5的高級貿易顧問Robert Hamilton https://www.king5.com/article/news/local/washington-wheat-growers-urge-trade-not-aid/281-577837633

造船商感受到關稅的壓力(Kitsap Sun)https://www.kitsapsun.com/story/news/local/2018/08/18/puget-sound-steel-tariffs-effect-kitsap-transit-fast-ferries/1009383002/

分享這個帖子

UPDATE: Trade Wars and Tariffs

  • August 22, 2018

In recent weeks, trade policies, tariffs and retaliatory actions are in the news almost daily. Washington state’s economy is more focused on international trade than any other U.S. state – nearly 40 percent of jobs here are tied to trade. That has drawn the attention of local, national and international media seeking to understand what the Trump Administration’s policies and actions mean for American businesses and workers.

The latest round of developments includes tariffs of up to 40 percent imposed by Turkey on a number of U.S. products, including alcohol and liquor, plastics, paper and cars. These represent little direct impact to our state.

Far more concerning are actions taken last week by China with the World Trade Organization (WTO) launching a dispute settlement procedure over state-level renewable energy (solar in particular) incentive programs in several states, including Washington.

According to U.S. Trade’s World Trade Online, China alleges that U.S. subsidies provided its domestic renewable energy industry with an unfair competitive advantage. An article in a Chinese state-run news service refers to prior measures by the U.S. that placed tariffs up to 30 percent on imported photovoltaic products.

The request for consultation refers to Washington state’s Renewable Energy Cost Recovery Incentive Payment Program among disputed programs in California, Michigan and other states. In its document filed Aug. 14, China claims the program breaches the U.S.’s WTO commitments because qualifying customers are authorized to receive annual production incentives from utilities companies for “each kilowatt-hour of electricity generated by a renewable energy system,” and those utilities companies are then eligible for a tax credit for the incentive payments. It also mentions investment cost-recovery incentives. It is not known how or when the WTO will respond.

In the meantime, we continue to emphasize the high value of international trade and business relationships to our state’s economy. In case you missed it, below are linked some recent interviews featuring Gov. Jay Inslee, Chris Green, Senior Trade Adviser Robert Hamilton and me speaking with reporters about potential impact on businesses and jobs here.

Gov. Jay Inslee on CNBC https://www.cnbc.com/video/2018/07/12/jay-inslee-on-trade-and-tariffs-.html

Director Bonlender on China Global TV Network https://news.cgtn.com/news/3567544f33454464776c6d636a4e6e62684a4856/share_p.html

OEDC Assistant Director Chris Green on BBC from the Farnborough International Air Show https://business.facebook.com/WAStateCommerce/videos/1922450247822430/

Senior Trade Advisor Robert Hamilton on KING5 https://www.king5.com/article/news/local/washington-wheat-growers-urge-trade-not-aid/281-577837633

Boat builders feel the pressure of tariffs (Kitsap Sun)https://www.kitsapsun.com/story/news/local/2018/08/18/puget-sound-steel-tariffs-effect-kitsap-transit-fast-ferries/1009383002/

Share this Post