تحديث: الحروب التجارية والتعريفات

  • 22 أغسطس 2018

في الأسابيع الأخيرة ، ظهرت السياسات التجارية والتعريفات والإجراءات الانتقامية في الأخبار بشكل شبه يومي. يركز اقتصاد ولاية واشنطن على التجارة الدولية أكثر من أي ولاية أمريكية أخرى - ما يقرب من 40 في المائة من الوظائف هنا مرتبطة بالتجارة. وقد لفت ذلك انتباه وسائل الإعلام المحلية والوطنية والدولية التي تسعى إلى فهم ما تعنيه سياسات وإجراءات إدارة ترامب للشركات والعاملين الأمريكيين.

وتشمل الجولة الأخيرة من التطورات تعريفات تصل إلى 40 في المائة تفرضها تركيا على عدد من المنتجات الأمريكية ، بما في ذلك الكحول والمسكرات والبلاستيك والورق والسيارات. هذه تمثل القليل من التأثير المباشر على دولتنا.

الأمر الأكثر إثارة للقلق هو الإجراءات التي اتخذتها الصين الأسبوع الماضي مع منظمة التجارة العالمية (WTO) لإطلاق إجراءات تسوية المنازعات بشأن برامج حوافز الطاقة المتجددة على مستوى الدولة (الطاقة الشمسية على وجه الخصوص) في العديد من الولايات ، بما في ذلك واشنطن.

حسب التجارة الأمريكية التجارة العالمية عبر الإنترنت، تدعي الصين أن الإعانات الأمريكية زودت صناعة الطاقة المتجددة المحلية بميزة تنافسية غير عادلة. ان مقال في خدمة إخبارية صينية تديرها الدولة يشير إلى الإجراءات السابقة التي اتخذتها الولايات المتحدة والتي فرضت تعريفات تصل إلى 30 بالمائة على المنتجات الكهروضوئية المستوردة.

يشير طلب الاستشارة إلى برنامج الدفع التحفيزي لاسترداد تكلفة الطاقة المتجددة بولاية واشنطن بين البرامج المتنازع عليها في كاليفورنيا وميتشيغان وولايات أخرى. في وثيقتها المقدمة في 14 أغسطس ، تدعي الصين أن البرنامج ينتهك التزامات الولايات المتحدة تجاه منظمة التجارة العالمية لأن العملاء المؤهلين مرخص لهم بتلقي حوافز الإنتاج السنوية من شركات المرافق مقابل "كل كيلو واط / ساعة من الكهرباء المولدة بواسطة نظام الطاقة المتجددة" وشركات المرافق تلك يصبحون بعد ذلك مؤهلين للحصول على ائتمان ضريبي لمدفوعات الحوافز. كما يذكر حوافز استرداد تكلفة الاستثمار. من غير المعروف كيف ومتى ستستجيب منظمة التجارة العالمية.

في غضون ذلك ، نواصل التأكيد على القيمة العالية للتجارة الدولية والعلاقات التجارية لاقتصاد دولتنا. في حال فاتتك ، فيما يلي بعض المقابلات التي أجريت مؤخرًا مع الحاكم جاي إنسلي ، وكريس جرين ، وكبير المستشارين التجاريين روبرت هاملتون وأنا أتحدث مع المراسلين حول التأثير المحتمل على الأعمال والوظائف هنا.

حاكم الولاية جاي إنسلي على قناة سي إن بي سي https://www.cnbc.com/video/2018/07/12/jay-inslee-on-trade-and-tariffs-.html

المخرج بونليندر على شبكة تلفزيون الصين العالمية https://news.cgtn.com/news/3567544f33454464776c6d636a4e6e62684a4856/share_p.html

مساعد مدير OEDC كريس جرين في بي بي سي من معرض فارنبورو الدولي للطيران https://business.facebook.com/WAStateCommerce/videos/1922450247822430/

كبير المستشارين التجاريين روبرت هاميلتون في KING5 https://www.king5.com/article/news/local/washington-wheat-growers-urge-trade-not-aid/281-577837633

يشعر بناة القوارب بضغط التعريفات (Kitsap Sun)https://www.kitsapsun.com/story/news/local/2018/08/18/puget-sound-steel-tariffs-effect-kitsap-transit-fast-ferries/1009383002/

حصة هذا المنصب

UPDATE: Trade Wars and Tariffs

  • August 22, 2018

In recent weeks, trade policies, tariffs and retaliatory actions are in the news almost daily. Washington state’s economy is more focused on international trade than any other U.S. state – nearly 40 percent of jobs here are tied to trade. That has drawn the attention of local, national and international media seeking to understand what the Trump Administration’s policies and actions mean for American businesses and workers.

The latest round of developments includes tariffs of up to 40 percent imposed by Turkey on a number of U.S. products, including alcohol and liquor, plastics, paper and cars. These represent little direct impact to our state.

Far more concerning are actions taken last week by China with the World Trade Organization (WTO) launching a dispute settlement procedure over state-level renewable energy (solar in particular) incentive programs in several states, including Washington.

According to U.S. Trade’s World Trade Online, China alleges that U.S. subsidies provided its domestic renewable energy industry with an unfair competitive advantage. An article in a Chinese state-run news service refers to prior measures by the U.S. that placed tariffs up to 30 percent on imported photovoltaic products.

The request for consultation refers to Washington state’s Renewable Energy Cost Recovery Incentive Payment Program among disputed programs in California, Michigan and other states. In its document filed Aug. 14, China claims the program breaches the U.S.’s WTO commitments because qualifying customers are authorized to receive annual production incentives from utilities companies for “each kilowatt-hour of electricity generated by a renewable energy system,” and those utilities companies are then eligible for a tax credit for the incentive payments. It also mentions investment cost-recovery incentives. It is not known how or when the WTO will respond.

In the meantime, we continue to emphasize the high value of international trade and business relationships to our state’s economy. In case you missed it, below are linked some recent interviews featuring Gov. Jay Inslee, Chris Green, Senior Trade Adviser Robert Hamilton and me speaking with reporters about potential impact on businesses and jobs here.

Gov. Jay Inslee on CNBC https://www.cnbc.com/video/2018/07/12/jay-inslee-on-trade-and-tariffs-.html

Director Bonlender on China Global TV Network https://news.cgtn.com/news/3567544f33454464776c6d636a4e6e62684a4856/share_p.html

OEDC Assistant Director Chris Green on BBC from the Farnborough International Air Show https://business.facebook.com/WAStateCommerce/videos/1922450247822430/

Senior Trade Advisor Robert Hamilton on KING5 https://www.king5.com/article/news/local/washington-wheat-growers-urge-trade-not-aid/281-577837633

Boat builders feel the pressure of tariffs (Kitsap Sun)https://www.kitsapsun.com/story/news/local/2018/08/18/puget-sound-steel-tariffs-effect-kitsap-transit-fast-ferries/1009383002/

Share this Post