Public Works Board – Board Members, Meetings, and Staff

Board Information


The Legislature created the Public Works Board in partnership with local governments. Its task is to assist local governments in addressing local infrastructure needs. The Public Works Board operates a revolving loan program funded by a dedicated local funding pool. A citizens’ board comprised of local infrastructure representatives oversees the Public Works Board.


The mission of the Public Works Board is to empower Washington communities to build and maintain sustainable infrastructure.


The Public Works Board administers four programs. The primary purpose of these programs is to provide assistance to local governments with infrastructure:

  • Planning
  • Financing
  • Construction
  • Repair
  • Expansion

The Public Works Board is a Category 3 Policy Board. The Board derives its authority from the Washington State Legislature. It is encoded into law in the Revised Code of Washington RCW 43.155. The associated WAC is Title 399.

The Governor of the State of Washington appoints thirteen Public Works Board members for four-year terms. Three represent counties, three represent cities, three represent special purpose districts, and four are from the private sector. Visit the Governor’s Boards & Commissions webpage for more information.

Members meet every month to review applications for financing and deal with administrative issues. The Board conducts a two-day policy retreat in the fall.

Members are encouraged to attend workshops, conferences, and meetings on behalf of the Board. Often members are part of discussion panels at these meetings. Members are also offered opportunities to attend training courses that deal with infrastructure issues.

Board Member Roster and Vacancies

  • Kathryn Gardow, PE – Chair – Position #13, General Public
  • Gary Rowe, PE – Vice-Chair – Position #12, General Public
  • The Honorable Dr. Jeralee Anderson, PE – Position #2, City Elected Official
  • Justin Clary, PE – Position #8, Water & Sewer District
  • The Honorable Jerome Delvin – Position #5, County Elected Official
  • Rob Jammerman – Position #3, City Public Works Director
  • Darlene McHenry – Position #10, General Public
  • The Honorable Lora Petso – Position #7, Water & Sewer District Elected Official
  • Monica Santos-Pinacho – Position #11, General Public
  • Kelly Snyder, MPA – Position #6, County Public Works Director
  • The Honorable Ed Stern – Position #1, City Elected Official
  • Matthew Stevie – Position #9, Public Utility District
  • The Honorable Sharon Trask – Position #4, County Elected Official

At present there are no vacant board seats. Interested applicants should contact the Board Liaison Izabela Kocan for more information.

Meeting Information

Board meetings are open to the public, and all are welcome to attend. Meetings are held in hybrid format, both in-person and online. Please check the 2023 PWB Meeting Schedule (PDF) for connection information and meeting times.

PWB Meeting Date – July 7, 2023

The Public Works Board’s July Meeting is July 7, 2023 from 8:30 AM – 12:00 PM. This meeting will be held online via Zoom, and in person at the Clark Regional Wastewater District in Vancouver, WA. Members of the public are invited to attend. Join the Zoom meeting.

PWB Meeting Date – June 2, 2023

The Public Works Board’s June Monthly Meeting is June 2, 2023 from 8:30 AM – 12:00 PM. This meeting will be held online via Zoom and in person at the Commerce Headquarters in Olympia (1011 Plum St SE, Olympia, WA 98504). Members of the public are invited to attend. Join the Zoom meeting.

Staff Information

Policy support, administrative support, and client outreach are provided for the Public Works Board by the Washington State Department of Commerce.


To sign up for updates from the Public Works Board or access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.
Public Works Board Staff, 2023