فريق القيادة التنفيذية

ليزا براون

مدير

ليزا براون ، مديرة التجارة

تم تعيين ليزا ج.براون ، دكتوراه ، مديرة التجارة من قبل Gov. Inslee وبدأت خدمة الوكالة في فبراير من عام 2019.

ليزا من سكان سبوكان منذ فترة طويلة. قبل أن تعمل مديرة التجارة ، عملت كمستشارة لجامعة ولاية واشنطن وقادت حرم العلوم الصحية هناك ، بما في ذلك إنشاء كلية إلسون إس فلويد للطب. مثلت ليزا منطقة سبوكان في مجلس الولاية من 1993-1996 كزعيم للأقلية وزعيمة للأقلية ، حيث كانت بمثابة أم عازبة عاملة. ثم انتقلت بعد ذلك إلى مجلس الشيوخ حيث أصبحت أول زعيمة ديمقراطية للأغلبية وعملت حتى عام 2013.

ليزا خبيرة اقتصادية ودرّست في جامعة شرق واشنطن وجامعة غونزاغا. حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس في الاقتصاد من جامعة إلينوي ودرجتي الماجستير والدكتوراه من جامعة كولورادو في بولدر. عملت على نطاق واسع في الجهود المبذولة لخلق وظائف ودعم الأسر العاملة في جميع أنحاء ولاية واشنطن. إن أهم أولويتين لها ، بدون ترتيب معين ، هما الانتعاش الاقتصادي العادل والمستدام وحفيدها الرضيع ، بلايز.

كندريك ستيوارت

نائب المدير

نائب المدير كندريك ستيوارتعاد كندريك ستيوارت ، الذي كان موظفًا حكوميًا لأكثر من 20 عامًا ، إلى التجارة في فبراير 2020 لقيادة العمليات الداخلية للوكالة. يشرف على الموارد البشرية ، والرشاقة التنظيمية ، والاتصالات الداخلية ، وإدارة المخاطر والطوارئ ، والسلامة ، والتدقيق الداخلي ، والتنوع ، والمساواة ، والشمول ، واحترام العمل. ينصب تركيزه على تحقيق التميز التشغيلي والحفاظ عليه ومساعدة الأفراد والفرق على الازدهار.

لدى Kendrick شغف بتعلم ما يحفز الناس ، وحل المشكلات التعاوني والخدمة. إنه ملتزم ببناء المجتمع ويطمح إلى ضمان شعور جميع موظفي التجارة بالتقدير لمن هم.

وهو حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الفنون الحرة من جامعة ولاية كولورادو ودرجة الماجستير في الإدارة العامة من جامعة واشنطن.

بعيدًا عن العمل ، يستمتع Kendrick بلعب كرة السلة والاستماع إلى الموسيقى والمشي لمسافات طويلة والقراءة والتواصل مع العائلة والأصدقاء.

مارك باركلي

مساعد مدير شعبة الحكم المحلي

barkley1عمل مارك في وزارة التجارة منذ 2013 ويشغل حاليًا منصب مساعد مدير قسم الحكومة المحلية. تشمل مسؤوليات مارك التنسيق مع مجلس الأشغال العامة ومجلس التنشيط الاقتصادي والاجتماعي (CERB) ، كما يشرف على منح تنمية المجتمع ، والصندوق المتجدد لمياه الشرب ، وصندوق براون فيلدز للقرض المتجدد وخدمات إدارة النمو. لديه أكثر من 20 عامًا من الخبرة في العمل مع كل من العقود الحكومية والفيدرالية ، وبعد أن خدم 25 عامًا في الجيش الأمريكي ، عمل مارك لمدة عامين في وزارة النقل قبل مجيئه إلى التجارة. وهو حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الاقتصاد من جامعة سياتل ودرجة الماجستير في الإدارة العامة من جامعة ميتشيغان المركزية. يعيش مارك في رينييه مع زوجته وأولاده.

مايكل فورز

مساعد مدير قسم الطاقة

فورزي 1مايكل فورز هو مدير مساعد في وزارة التجارة بولاية واشنطن ، حيث يرأس مكتب الطاقة بالولاية. يقود المكتب انتقال ولاية واشنطن إلى مستقبل طاقة نظيفة وعادلة من خلال قيادة السياسات ، والاستثمار في التقنيات النظيفة المتطورة ، والتخطيط والاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ المتعلقة بالطاقة ، وتوسيع الوصول العادل إلى الطاقة النظيفة. يعمل هذا العمل على تقوية المجتمعات ، حتى يتمكن سكان واشنطن من الازدهار في اقتصاد طاقة نظيف ومنصف ومنصف.

يعمل فورز أيضًا في مجلس إدارة الرابطة الوطنية لمسؤولي الطاقة بالولاية. وهو حاصل على درجة الماجستير في التخطيط المجتمعي والإقليمي وشهادة الدراسات العليا في تصميم المدن من جامعة نيو مكسيكو.

عندما لا يركز فورز وعائلته على عمله في مجال الطاقة ، ينتظرون بصبر الشمس لتخرج من حين لآخر من وراء السحب والأمطار في شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ.

كريس الخضراء

مساعد مدير مكتب التنمية الاقتصادية والتنافسية

green1التحق كريس بوزارة التجارة في عام 2015 كمساعد مدير مكتب التنمية الاقتصادية والقدرة التنافسية ، والذي يشمل التجارة الدولية ، وتوظيف / استبقاء الأعمال التجارية ووحدات التنمية الاقتصادية الريفية. عمل كريس سابقًا لمدة سبع سنوات كنائب للرئيس للاحتفاظ بالأعمال والتوسع في مجلس التنمية الاقتصادية لمقاطعة تاكوما بيرس. وقبل ذلك ، عمل في العلاقات الحكومية وكان ضمن طاقم العديد من المسؤولين المنتخبين ، بما في ذلك عضو الكونجرس الأمريكي السابق نورم ديكس وعمدة سياتل إد موراي وعضو الكونجرس الأمريكي ديريك كيلمر. حصل كريس على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية من جامعة باسيفيك اللوثرية وماجستير في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة واشنطن. يعيش هو وزوجته شانون في تاكوما مع أطفالهما الثلاثة.

ديان كلونتز

مساعد مدير شعبة خدمات المجتمع والإسكان

انضمت ديان إلى وزارة التجارة في عام 2001 وتشغل حاليًا منصب مساعد مدير قسم خدمات المجتمع والإسكان. بدأت خدمة الدولة عام 1994. ديان كلونتزتوفر Diane القيادة لمبادرات التجارة الإستراتيجية لتلبية احتياجات الفئات الضعيفة وذات الدخل المنخفض في المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء الولاية.

تتضمن خلفيتها تاريخًا قويًا وناجحًا في إدارة البرامج ، وتطوير السياسات ، والعمل الموجه نحو النتائج ، والعمل بشكل تعاوني مع الموظفين ، والشركاء المجتمعيين ، والأفراد والعائلات في جميع أنحاء الولاية لتقوية المجتمعات. حصلت ديان على درجة البكالوريوس في علم النفس من جامعة ولاية واشنطن.

تشغل منصب الحاكم المعين في خدمة واشنطن ، وتعمل في مجلس المحافظين المشترك بين الوكالات المعني بالتفاوتات الصحية ، وتعمل كعضو ونائب رئيس سابق ورئيس مجلس إدارة المجلس الاستشاري لتعليم الكبار، يعمل كمفوض في لجنة تمويل الإسكان بولاية واشنطن ، ويشارك في قيادة مجموعة عمل الحاكم للحد من الفقر لتفكيك الفقر. كما عملت ديان سابقًا في مجلس إدارة جمعية واشنطن لإعادة الاستثمار المجتمعي ، وحصلت على جائزة الحاكم لعام 2013 للقيادة في الإدارة.

شيريل سميث

مدير السياسات والتخطيط

شيريل سميث

شيريل سميث هي مديرة المشاركة المجتمعية والتواصل بوزارة التجارة بولاية واشنطن ، حيث يساعد فريقها المجتمعات على تلبية الاحتياجات ذات الأولوية من خلال المساعدة التقنية ، وتوجيه برامج التمويل ، والدعوة. كما يطلقون مشاريع مبتكرة ومبادرات لتطوير السياسات تعزز مهمة التجارة في تقوية المجتمعات ، بما في ذلك الجهود المتعلقة برعاية الأطفال والإنصاف.

تتمتع شيريل بسجل حافل من الجهود التعاونية الرائدة في حكومة الولاية والحكومة المحلية لمعالجة القضايا والفرص المعقدة. تشمل خبرتها تمويل البنية التحتية المحلية ، وحماية البيئة ، والتخطيط المجتمعي والمساعدة الذاتية ، وبرامج المنح والقروض ، والتبسيط التنظيمي والعديد من المبادرات لتعزيز العدالة.

وهي خريجة Phi Beta Kappa من جامعة ولاية كانساس ، وحصلت على بكالوريوس الآداب في العلوم السياسية والعلوم الاجتماعية ، وماجستير في الإدارة العامة. كما أنها حاصلة على العديد من شهادات التدريب الشخصية وتعتبر نفسها متعلمة مدى الحياة.

شيريل متحمسة لكونها حليفة للجميع. إنها تقدر العمل مع الفريق الموهوب في Commerce وهي مستوحاة من أشخاص من جميع مناحي الحياة الذين يجعل تفانيهم مجتمعات واشنطن نابضة بالحياة. بعد عملية زرع في ميتشجان ، تعيش شيريل في أوليمبيا مع عائلتها ونمت لتحب شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ والمطر وكل شيء.

مارتن ماكموري

المدير المالي للخدمات الإدارية

مارتن ماكموري

انضم مارتن إلى التجارة في عام 2015 ويقود قسم الخدمات الإدارية ، والذي يشمل المحاسبة والميزانية والعقود وتكنولوجيا المعلومات والخدمات المكتبية. بدأ مارتن حياته المهنية في الولاية في عام 2001 بوظيفة مؤقتة في توصيل أجهزة الكمبيوتر إلى العيادات الصحية الريفية في وزارة الصحة. عمل منذ ذلك الحين في مناصب مختلفة في السياسة والميزانية للولاية ، ليشمل العمل في التجارة في الصندوق الاستئماني للإسكان مرة أخرى في عام 2006 أثناء إكمال درجة الماجستير في الإدارة العامة من كلية Evergreen State College. قبل انضمامه إلى التجارة ، كان مارتن مديرًا للميزانية في إدارة ضمان التوظيف. يحمل مارتن أيضًا درجة البكالوريوس من جامعة واشنطن المركزية ويمكن العثور عليه عادةً على أرض الملعب في أولمبيا وهو يشاهد طفليه يلعبان كرة القدم.

جايمي سميث

مدير الاتصالات

جايمي سميث

يتمتع جايمي سميث بما يقرب من 20 عامًا من الخبرة في مجال الاتصالات والتوعية والسياسات ، معظمها في حكومة الولاية. عملت مؤخرًا كمديرة تنفيذية للاتصالات والشؤون الخارجية للحاكم جاي إنسلي حيث أشرفت على اتصالات الحاكم والخدمات التأسيسية وفرق التواصل. غادرت لفترة وجيزة لتأسيس شركة اتصالات خاصة بها ، لكن جائحة COVID-19 أعادها إلى حكومة الولاية حيث كانت تعمل مديرة لمركز المعلومات المشترك لـ COVID-19 بالولاية في كامب موراي.

خايمي هو مقيم مدى الحياة في ولاية واشنطن ويعيش في تاكوما. تخرجت من جامعة واشنطن. 

ياسمين فاسافادا

المدير التشريعي

المديرة التشريعية ياسمين فاسافاداانضمت ياسمين فاسافادا إلى التجارة في عام 2016 كأخصائية عليا في سياسات الطاقة وبدأت العمل كمديرة تشريعية للتجارة في عام 2018. حصلت على دكتوراه في القانون من جامعة واشنطن وبكالوريوس في العلوم من جامعة هارفارد. ساعدت تلك الخلفية العلمية عندما بدأت العمل على قضايا على مستوى الولاية تتعلق بالسموم في نيوجيرسي. انتقلت إلى عملها في متحف سانتا باربرا للتاريخ الطبيعي ، حيث قامت ياسمين بتجنيد وتدريب فريق مكون من 60 من علماء الطبيعة المتطوعين لتعليم الأطفال كيفية مراقبة الحياة في المحيطات في منشأة جديدة للعلوم البحرية. أثناء دراسة القانون في جامعة واشنطن ، ركزت ياسمين على السياسة على مستوى الولاية وقضت عدة أشهر في أولمبيا مع مكتب المدعي العام ومكتب أبحاث البرامج ، وموظفي اللجنة غير الحزبية في مجلس النواب بولاية واشنطن.

Executive Leadership Team

Lisa Brown

Director

Lisa Brown, Commerce Director

Lisa J. Brown, Ph.D., was appointed Commerce director by Gov. Inslee and began serving the agency in February of 2019.

Lisa is a longtime resident of Spokane. Prior to serving as Commerce director, she served as chancellor of Washington State University and led the health science campus there, including the creation of the Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine. Lisa represented the Spokane area in the state House from 1993-1996 as minority whip and minority floor leader, breaking ground as a single working mother. She then went on to the state Senate where she became the first Democratic female majority leader and served until 2013.

Lisa is an economist and has taught at Eastern Washington University and Gonzaga University. She earned her bachelor’s degree in economics at the University of Illinois and her masters and doctoral degrees at the University of Colorado in Boulder. She has worked extensively on efforts to create jobs and support working families across Washington state. Her top two priorities, in no particular order, are an equitable and sustainable economic recovery and her baby grandson, Blaze.

Kendrick Stewart

Deputy Director

Deputy Director Kendrick StewartA public servant for more than 20 years, Kendrick Stewart returned to Commerce in February 2020 to lead the agency’s internal operations. He oversees Human Resources, Organizational Agility, internal communications, risk and emergency management, safety, internal audits, and diversity, equity, inclusion and respect work. His focus is on achieving and sustaining operational excellence and helping individuals and teams thrive.

Kendrick has a passion for learning what motivates people, collaborative problem-solving and service. He is committed to community building and aspires to ensure all Commerce employees feel valued for who they are.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts from Colorado State University and a master’s of public administration degree from the University of Washington.

Away from work, Kendrick enjoys playing basketball, listening to music, hiking, reading, and connecting with family and friends.

Mark Barkley

Assistant Director, Local Government Division

barkley1Mark has been with the Department of Commerce since 2013 and currently serves as assistant director for the Local Government Division. Mark’s responsibilities include coordinating with the Public Works Board and Community and Economic Revitalization Board (CERB) He also oversees Community Development Block Grants, Drinking Water State Revolving Fund, Brownfields Revolving Loan Fund and Growth Management Services. He has over 20 years of experience working with both state and federal contracts.After serving 25 years in the U.S. Army, Mark worked for two years at the Department of Transportation before coming to Commerce. He has a bachelor’s degree in economics from Seattle University and a master’s degree in public administration from Central Michigan University. Mark lives in Rainier with his wife and children.

Michael Furze

Assistant Director, Energy Division

furze1Michael Furze is an assistant director at the Washington State Department of Commerce, where he heads the State Energy Office. The office leading Washington state’s transition to a clean and just energy future through policy leadership, investing in cutting-edge clean technologies, planning and responding to energy emergencies, and expanding equitable access to clean energy. This work strengthens communities, so Washington residents can thrive in a clean, affordable and equitable energy economy.

Furze also serves on the Board of the National Association of State Energy Officials. He holds a master’s degree in community and regional planning and a graduate certificate in town design from the University of New Mexico.

When not focused on his energy work, Furze and his family patiently wait for the sun to occasionally emerge from behind the clouds and rain of the Pacific Northwest.

Chris Green

Assistant Director, Office of Economic Development and Competitiveness

green1Chris joined the Department of Commerce in 2015 as assistant director for the Office of Economic Development and Competitiveness, which includes the international trade, business recruitment/retention and rural economic development units. Chris previously served for seven years as vice president for business retention and expansion at the Economic Development Board for Tacoma-Pierce County. Prior to that, he worked in government relations and was on the staff of several elected officials, including former U.S. Congressman Norm Dicks, Seattle Mayor Ed Murray and U.S. Congressman Derek Kilmer. Chris earned his bachelor’s degree in political science from Pacific Lutheran University and an MBA from the University of Washington. He and his wife Shannon live in Tacoma with their three children.

Diane Klontz

Assistant Director, Community Services and Housing Division

Diane joined the Department of Commerce in 2001 and currently serves as assistant director for the Community Services and Housing Division. She began state service in 1994. Diane KlontzDiane provides leadership for Commerce’s strategic initiatives to address the needs of vulnerable and low-income populations in communities throughout the state.

Her background includes a strong and successful history in program administration, policy development, results-oriented work, and working collaboratively with staff, community partners, individuals and families across the state to strengthen communities. Diane received her bachelor’s degree in psychology from Washington State University.

She serves as the governor’s appointee on Serve Washington, serves on the board of directors for the Washington Community Reinvestment Association, serves on the Governor’s Interagency Council on Health Disparities, chairs the Adult Education Advisory Council, serves as a commissioner on with the Washington State Housing Finance Commission, and Co-Leads the Governor’s Poverty Reduction Workgroup to Dismantle Poverty. She received the 2013 Governor’s Award for Leadership in Management.

Cheryl Smith

Policy and Planning Director

Cheryl SmithCheryl Smith leads the agency’s Policy and Planning Team, responsible for supporting policy development throughout the agency, enterprise initiatives, tribal and diverse community relations, new projects and ideas, legislative support and strategic planning. 

Cheryl joined Commerce’s Director’s Office in 2008 and has been a long-time public servant working in leadership positions in state and local government, with a track record of leading innovative and collaborative efforts to address challenging problems and potential opportunities.

Cheryl values working with the talented people at Commerce, and with our committed stakeholder communities, to support thriving communities and families across the state.  She earned a Master of Public Administration, undergraduate degrees in political science and social sciences, and several certifications in coaching and considers herself a lifelong learner. 

Martin McMurry

Chief Financial Officer, Administrative Services

Martin McMurry

Martin joined Commerce in 2015 and leads the Administrative Services Division, which includes accounting, budget, contracts, information technology and office services. Martin began his state career in 2001 in a temporary job delivering computer hardware to rural health clinics for the Department of Health. He has since worked in various policy and budget positions for the state, to include working for Commerce in the Housing Trust Fund back in 2006 while completing his master’s degree in public administration from Evergreen State College. Just prior to joining Commerce,  Martin was a budget manager for the Employment Security Department. Martin also holds a bachelor’s degree from Central Washington University and can usually be found on the pitch in Olympia watching his two children play soccer.

Jaime Smith

Director, Communications

Jaime Smith

Jaime Smith has nearly 20 years of communications, outreach and policy experience, much of it in state government. She recently served as Gov. Jay Inslee’s executive director of communications and external affairs where she oversaw the governor’s communications, constituent services and outreach teams. She left briefly to start her own communications firm but the COVID-19 pandemic brought her back into state government where she’s been serving as director of the state’s COVID-19 Joint Information Center at Camp Murray.

Jaime is a lifelong resident of Washington state and lives in Tacoma. She graduated from the University of Washington. 

Jasmine Vasavada

Legislative Director

Legislative Director Jasmine VasavadaJasmine Vasavada joined Commerce in 2016 as a senior energy policy specialist and began working as Commerce’s legislative director in 2018. She earned a Juris Doctorate from the University of Washington and a bachelor of science degree from Harvard University. That background in science helped when she began working on state-level issues related to toxics in New Jersey. It carried forward to her work at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History, where Jasmine recruited and trained a team of 60 volunteer naturalists to teach children how to observe ocean life at a new hands-on marine sciences facility. While studying law at the University of Washington, Jasmine focused on state-level policy and spent several months in Olympia with the Attorney General’s Office and the Office of Program Research, the nonpartisan committee staff in the Washington State House of Representatives.