行政领导团队

莉萨·布朗

Director

丽莎·布朗(Lisa Brown),商务总监

Lisa J.Brown博士被Inslee州长任命为商务总监,并于2019年XNUMX月开始为该机构服务。

丽莎是斯波坎的长期居民。 在担任商务总监之前,她曾担任华盛顿州立大学的校长,领导那里的健康科学校园,包括创建了埃尔森·弗洛伊德医学院。 丽莎(Lisa)在1993年至1996年期间代表州议会大厦的斯波坎地区担任少数派鞭子和少数派领导职务,并以单身工作的母亲身份破土动工。 然后,她进入州参议院,成为第一位民主党女性多数党领袖,任职至2013年。

丽莎是经济学家,曾在东华盛顿大学和冈萨加大学任教。 她在伊利诺伊大学获得了经济学学士学位,并在博尔德的科罗拉多大学获得了硕士学位和博士学位。 她在华盛顿州为创造就业机会和支持工作家庭所做的广泛工作。 她的最优先考虑的两个优先事项(无特定顺序)是公平和可持续的经济复苏以及她的小孙子Blaze。

肯德里克·斯图尔特

副总监

副主任肯德里克·斯图尔特肯德里克·斯图尔特(Kendrick Stewart)是公务员20多年,于2020年XNUMX月返回商务部,领导该机构的内部业务。 他负责人力资源,组织敏捷性,内部沟通,风险和应急管理,安全,内部审计以及多样性,公平,包容和尊重工作。 他的重点是实现和维持卓越的运营,并帮助个人和团队蓬勃发展。

肯德里克(Kendrick)对学习激励人们的热情,协作解决问题和服务的热情。 他致力于社区建设,并致力于确保所有Commerce员工都对自己的身份感到重视。

他拥有科罗拉多州立大学的文科学士学位和华盛顿大学的公共管理硕士学位。

不在工作时,Kendrick喜欢打篮球,听音乐,远足,阅读以及与家人和朋友保持联系。

马克·巴克利

地方政府处副处长

树皮1马克(Mark)自2013年以来一直在商务部工作,目前担任地方政府部门的助理主任。 马克的职责包括与公共工程委员会以及社区和经济振兴委员会(CERB)协调。他还负责监督社区发展整笔拨款,饮用水州循环基金,布朗菲尔德循环贷款基金和增长管理服务。 他拥有超过20年的州和联邦合同工作经验。在美国陆军服役25年后,马克在交通运输部工作了两年,之后才加入商务。 他拥有西雅图大学的经济学学士学位和中央密歇根大学的公共管理硕士学位。 马克与妻子和子女住在雷尼尔(Rainier)。

迈克尔·弗兹(Michael Furze)

能源部助理部长

Furze1迈克尔·弗泽(Michael Furze)是华盛顿州商务部的助理主任,他在那里领导州能源办公室。 该办公室通过政策领导,投资于尖端的清洁技术,规划和应对能源紧急情况以及扩大公平获得清洁能源的机会,领导华盛顿州向清洁和公正的能源的过渡。 这项工作加强了社区,因此华盛顿居民可以在清洁,负担得起的和公平的能源经济中壮成长。

弗兹(Furze)还是国家能源官员协会的董事。 他拥有新墨西哥大学的社区和区域规划硕士学位以及城市设计的研究生证书。

当不专心于能源工作时,Furze和他的家人耐心地等待着太阳偶尔从西北太平洋的云层和雨水后面露出来。

克里斯·格林

经济发展与竞争力办公室助理主任

green1克里斯于2015年加入商务部,担任经济发展与竞争力办公室助理主任,该办公室包括国际贸易,企业招募/保留和农村经济发展部门。 克里斯此前曾在塔科马-皮尔斯县经济发展委员会担任了七年的业务保留和扩展副总裁。 在此之前,他曾在政府关系,是几个民选官员,包括美国前国会议员诺姆·迪克斯,西雅图市市长埃德·默里和美国国会议员德里克·基尔默的工作人员。 克里斯拥有太平洋路德大学的政治学学士学位和华盛顿大学的工商管理硕士学位。 他和妻子香农(Shannon)带着三个孩子住在塔科马。

黛安·克朗兹(Diane Klontz)

社区服务和住房部助理主任

戴安娜(Diane)于2001年加入商务部,目前担任社区服务和住房部的助理主任。 她于1994年开始为国家服务。 黛安·克朗兹(Diane Klontz)戴安娜(Diane)为商务战略举措提供领导,以解决全州社区中弱势和低收入人群的需求。

她的背景包括在计划管理,政策制定,注重结果的工作以及与全州员工,社区合作伙伴,个人和家庭合作以加强社区方面有着悠久而成功的历史。 黛安(Diane)从华盛顿州立大学获得心理学学士学位。

她担任Serve Washington的州长任命,还担任州长健康差异跨机构理事会的成员,并担任过该委员会的成员,前副主席和主席。 成人教育咨询委员会担任华盛顿州住房金融委员会专员,并共同领导州长减贫工作组消除贫困。 戴安娜(Diane)之前还曾担任华盛顿社区再投资协会(Washington Community Reinvestment Association)的董事会成员。她获得了2013年州长的管理领导奖。

谢丽尔·史密斯

政策与规划总监

谢丽尔·史密斯

谢丽尔·史密斯 (Cheryl Smith) 是华盛顿州商务部的社区参与和外展总监,她的团队在该部门通过技术援助、引导资助计划和宣传帮助社区满足优先需求。 他们还启动了创新项目和政策制定计划,以推进商务部加强社区的使命,包括围绕儿童保育和公平的努力。

Cheryl 在领导州和地方政府的协作努力以解决复杂问题和机遇方面有着悠久的记录。 她的经验包括当地基础设施融资、环境保护、社区规划和自助、赠款和贷款计划、监管精简以及多项促进公平的举措。

她是堪萨斯州立大学的 Phi Beta Kappa 毕业生,拥有政治学和社会科学文学学士学位和公共管理硕士学位。 她还持有多项个人教练证书,并认为自己是终身学习者。

Cheryl 热衷于成为所有人的盟友。 她重视与 Commerce 才华横溢的团队合作,并受到各行各业人士的启发,他们的奉献精神使华盛顿的社区如此充满活力。 Cheryl 是密歇根州的一名移植者,她与家人住在奥林匹亚,并逐渐爱上了太平洋西北部、下雨和一切。

马丁·麦克默里

行政服务首席财务官

马丁·麦克默里

马丁于2015年加入商务部,领导行政服务部,该部门包括会计,预算,合同,信息技术和办公服务。 马丁于2001年开始了他的州职业生涯,当时的临时工作是为卫生部的农村卫生所提供计算机硬件。 此后,他曾在该州担任各种政策和预算职位,其中包括2006年在住房信托基金中从事商业工作,同时又获得了长青州立大学的公共管理硕士学位。 在加入Commerce之前,Martin是就业保障部的预算经理。 马丁还拥有中央华盛顿大学的学士学位,通常可以在奥林匹亚的球场上看到他的两个孩子踢足球。

海梅·史密斯

通讯部主任

海梅·史密斯

海梅·史密斯(Jaime Smith)具有近20年的沟通,推广和政策经验,其中很大一部分是在州政府担任的。 她最近担任州长Jay Inslee的沟通和对外事务执行总监,负责监督州长的沟通,选民服务和外展团队。 她短暂离开后成立了自己的通讯公司,但由于COVID-19大流行使她重返州政府,在那里她一直担任墨累营地州COVID-19联合信息中心的主任。

海梅(Jaime)是华盛顿州终身居民,居住在塔科马(Tacoma)。 她毕业于华盛顿大学。 

茉莉花

立法主任

立法主任茉莉花·瓦萨瓦达(Jasmine Vasavada)Jasmine Vasavada于2016年加入Commerce,担任高级能源政策专家,并于2018年开始担任Commerce的立法总监。 她获得了华盛顿大学的法学博士学位和哈佛大学的理学学士学位。 当她开始研究新泽西州与有毒物质有关的州级问题时,这种科学背景有所帮助。 它促进了她在圣塔芭芭拉自然历史博物馆的工作,在那里茉莉花招募并训练了由60名志愿博物学家组成的团队,教孩子们如何在新的动手海洋科学设施中观察海洋生物。 茉莉花在华盛顿大学学习法律时,专注于州一级的政策,并在奥林匹亚与司法部长办公室和计划研究办公室(华盛顿州众议院的无党派人员)呆了几个月。

Executive Leadership Team

Lisa Brown

Director

Lisa Brown, Commerce Director

Lisa J. Brown, Ph.D., was appointed Commerce director by Gov. Inslee and began serving the agency in February of 2019.

Lisa is a longtime resident of Spokane. Prior to serving as Commerce director, she served as chancellor of Washington State University and led the health science campus there, including the creation of the Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine. Lisa represented the Spokane area in the state House from 1993-1996 as minority whip and minority floor leader, breaking ground as a single working mother. She then went on to the state Senate where she became the first Democratic female majority leader and served until 2013.

Lisa is an economist and has taught at Eastern Washington University and Gonzaga University. She earned her bachelor’s degree in economics at the University of Illinois and her masters and doctoral degrees at the University of Colorado in Boulder. She has worked extensively on efforts to create jobs and support working families across Washington state. Her top two priorities, in no particular order, are an equitable and sustainable economic recovery and her baby grandson, Blaze.

Kendrick Stewart

Deputy Director

Deputy Director Kendrick StewartA public servant for more than 20 years, Kendrick Stewart returned to Commerce in February 2020 to lead the agency’s internal operations. He oversees Human Resources, Organizational Agility, internal communications, risk and emergency management, safety, internal audits, and diversity, equity, inclusion and respect work. His focus is on achieving and sustaining operational excellence and helping individuals and teams thrive.

Kendrick has a passion for learning what motivates people, collaborative problem-solving and service. He is committed to community building and aspires to ensure all Commerce employees feel valued for who they are.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts from Colorado State University and a master’s of public administration degree from the University of Washington.

Away from work, Kendrick enjoys playing basketball, listening to music, hiking, reading, and connecting with family and friends.

Mark Barkley

Assistant Director, Local Government Division

barkley1Mark has been with the Department of Commerce since 2013 and currently serves as assistant director for the Local Government Division. Mark’s responsibilities include coordinating with the Public Works Board and Community and Economic Revitalization Board (CERB) He also oversees Community Development Block Grants, Drinking Water State Revolving Fund, Brownfields Revolving Loan Fund and Growth Management Services. He has over 20 years of experience working with both state and federal contracts.After serving 25 years in the U.S. Army, Mark worked for two years at the Department of Transportation before coming to Commerce. He has a bachelor’s degree in economics from Seattle University and a master’s degree in public administration from Central Michigan University. Mark lives in Rainier with his wife and children.

Michael Furze

Assistant Director, Energy Division

furze1Michael Furze is an assistant director at the Washington State Department of Commerce, where he heads the State Energy Office. The office leading Washington state’s transition to a clean and just energy future through policy leadership, investing in cutting-edge clean technologies, planning and responding to energy emergencies, and expanding equitable access to clean energy. This work strengthens communities, so Washington residents can thrive in a clean, affordable and equitable energy economy.

Furze also serves on the Board of the National Association of State Energy Officials. He holds a master’s degree in community and regional planning and a graduate certificate in town design from the University of New Mexico.

When not focused on his energy work, Furze and his family patiently wait for the sun to occasionally emerge from behind the clouds and rain of the Pacific Northwest.

Chris Green

Assistant Director, Office of Economic Development and Competitiveness

green1Chris joined the Department of Commerce in 2015 as assistant director for the Office of Economic Development and Competitiveness, which includes the international trade, business recruitment/retention and rural economic development units. Chris previously served for seven years as vice president for business retention and expansion at the Economic Development Board for Tacoma-Pierce County. Prior to that, he worked in government relations and was on the staff of several elected officials, including former U.S. Congressman Norm Dicks, Seattle Mayor Ed Murray and U.S. Congressman Derek Kilmer. Chris earned his bachelor’s degree in political science from Pacific Lutheran University and an MBA from the University of Washington. He and his wife Shannon live in Tacoma with their three children.

Diane Klontz

Assistant Director, Community Services and Housing Division

Diane joined the Department of Commerce in 2001 and currently serves as assistant director for the Community Services and Housing Division. She began state service in 1994. Diane KlontzDiane provides leadership for Commerce’s strategic initiatives to address the needs of vulnerable and low-income populations in communities throughout the state.

Her background includes a strong and successful history in program administration, policy development, results-oriented work, and working collaboratively with staff, community partners, individuals and families across the state to strengthen communities. Diane received her bachelor’s degree in psychology from Washington State University.

She serves as the governor’s appointee on Serve Washington, serves on the board of directors for the Washington Community Reinvestment Association, serves on the Governor’s Interagency Council on Health Disparities, chairs the Adult Education Advisory Council, serves as a commissioner on with the Washington State Housing Finance Commission, and Co-Leads the Governor’s Poverty Reduction Workgroup to Dismantle Poverty. She received the 2013 Governor’s Award for Leadership in Management.

Cheryl Smith

Policy and Planning Director

Cheryl SmithCheryl Smith leads the agency’s Policy and Planning Team, responsible for supporting policy development throughout the agency, enterprise initiatives, tribal and diverse community relations, new projects and ideas, legislative support and strategic planning. 

Cheryl joined Commerce’s Director’s Office in 2008 and has been a long-time public servant working in leadership positions in state and local government, with a track record of leading innovative and collaborative efforts to address challenging problems and potential opportunities.

Cheryl values working with the talented people at Commerce, and with our committed stakeholder communities, to support thriving communities and families across the state.  She earned a Master of Public Administration, undergraduate degrees in political science and social sciences, and several certifications in coaching and considers herself a lifelong learner. 

Martin McMurry

Chief Financial Officer, Administrative Services

Martin McMurry

Martin joined Commerce in 2015 and leads the Administrative Services Division, which includes accounting, budget, contracts, information technology and office services. Martin began his state career in 2001 in a temporary job delivering computer hardware to rural health clinics for the Department of Health. He has since worked in various policy and budget positions for the state, to include working for Commerce in the Housing Trust Fund back in 2006 while completing his master’s degree in public administration from Evergreen State College. Just prior to joining Commerce,  Martin was a budget manager for the Employment Security Department. Martin also holds a bachelor’s degree from Central Washington University and can usually be found on the pitch in Olympia watching his two children play soccer.

Jaime Smith

Director, Communications

Jaime Smith

Jaime Smith has nearly 20 years of communications, outreach and policy experience, much of it in state government. She recently served as Gov. Jay Inslee’s executive director of communications and external affairs where she oversaw the governor’s communications, constituent services and outreach teams. She left briefly to start her own communications firm but the COVID-19 pandemic brought her back into state government where she’s been serving as director of the state’s COVID-19 Joint Information Center at Camp Murray.

Jaime is a lifelong resident of Washington state and lives in Tacoma. She graduated from the University of Washington. 

Jasmine Vasavada

Legislative Director

Legislative Director Jasmine VasavadaJasmine Vasavada joined Commerce in 2016 as a senior energy policy specialist and began working as Commerce’s legislative director in 2018. She earned a Juris Doctorate from the University of Washington and a bachelor of science degree from Harvard University. That background in science helped when she began working on state-level issues related to toxics in New Jersey. It carried forward to her work at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History, where Jasmine recruited and trained a team of 60 volunteer naturalists to teach children how to observe ocean life at a new hands-on marine sciences facility. While studying law at the University of Washington, Jasmine focused on state-level policy and spent several months in Olympia with the Attorney General’s Office and the Office of Program Research, the nonpartisan committee staff in the Washington State House of Representatives.