انتهاء وقف تشغيل مرافق COVID-19 في 30 سبتمبر ؛ يحث قادة الدولة العملاء الذين تأخروا عن سداد فواتير الطاقة والمياه على الاتصال بالمرافق ووضع خطة للحفاظ على الخدمات

  • 30 أغسطس 2021

أكثر من نصف مليون من سكان واشنطن معرضون لخطر انقطاع الكهرباء أو الغاز الطبيعي أو خدمات المياه

أوليمبيا ، واشنطن - حالة الطوارئ إعلان بمنع قطع خدمات المياه أو الكهرباء أو الغاز الطبيعي من المقرر أن ينتهي في 30 سبتمبر. إنه من بين العديد من تدابير الطوارئ التي اتخذها الحاكم جاي إنسلي في أعقاب COVID-19.

يقدر قادة الولايات ومشغلو المرافق أن أكثر من 500,000 من سكان واشنطن لديهم فواتير متأخرة قد تؤدي إلى إغلاق الخدمات. يحثون العملاء على الاتصال بمرافقهم في أقرب وقت ممكن لوضع خطة للحفاظ على خدماتهم.

اتصل بفائدتك. أعمل خطة. حافظ على خدماتك. Inforgraphic للمساعدة في المرافق

معلومات للعملاء متاحة على Commerce.wa.gov/utility-assistance في لغات شنومك.

قال إنسلي: "لقد وفر هذا الوقف لمئات الآلاف من أسر واشنطن راحة البال التي كانت في أمس الحاجة إليها خلال الوباء ، والآن شركات المرافق حريصة ومستعدة لمساعدة عملائها على وضع خطة تحافظ على خدماتهم". "أحث الناس على إجراء تلك المكالمة بأسرع ما يمكن. يمكن أن تمنح هذه المكالمة الأسرة أقل ما تقلق بشأنه مع اقتراب الخريف والشتاء ".

قالت ماري كيب ، رئيسة شركة بوجيه ساوند إنيرجي ومديرها التنفيذي: "عندما ضرب الوباء لأول مرة ، التزمنا بألا يذهب أي عميل بدون أضواء أو تدفئة أو ماء ساخن". "نحن ملتزمون بذلك مع استمرار الوباء في التأثير على العملاء بعد أكثر من عام من خلال مستوى من المساعدة غير المسبوق والذي يمكن أن يحدث فرقًا كبيرًا لعملائنا."

قال جورج كان ، المدير التنفيذي لجمعية واشنطن PUD ، "تلتزم المرافق غير الهادفة للربح والمملوكة للمجتمع في الولاية بالعمل مع عملائنا الذين يواجهون مشاكل بسبب تأثير COVID". "تستمر جهودنا في التركيز على التواصل مع العملاء ، وربطهم بالمساعدة والعمل مع عملائنا لإنشاء مسار للتعافي".

مرافق الطاقة الخاصة في واشنطن المملوكة للمستثمرين - والتي تغطي حوالي نصف عملاء الولاية - لديها أكثر من 280,000 ألف عميل بفواتير متأخرة. لقد قدموا أكثر من 28.5 مليون دولار من أموال المساعدة خلال الوباء. تم تقديم ما يقرب من 20 مليون دولار من هذا التمويل من خلال برامج المساعدة الخاصة بفيروس كورونا. بدأت المرافق المملوكة للمستهلكين في واشنطن - والتي تخدم ما يقرب من 19 ٪ من أسر واشنطن - مجموعة واسعة من التدابير لإبقاء العملاء على اتصال بالخدمات الأساسية. ويشمل ذلك تعليق قطع الاتصال والتأخير في الرسوم ، وتأخير الزيادات المجدولة في الأسعار ، ووضع خطط سداد للعملاء ، ووضع برامج جديدة لتخفيف المدفوعات وتوسيع معايير الأهلية للبرامج الحالية ، وعقد جامعي تبرعات لدعم برامج مساعدة المرافق ، وتطبيق الودائع على الفواتير الحالية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ربطت المرافق المملوكة للمستهلك العملاء بالمساعدات الفيدرالية ، وفي بعض الحالات ، دخلت في شراكة مع حكومات المقاطعات والمدن لتوجيه جزء من أموال قانون خطة الإنقاذ الأمريكية الفيدرالية لدعم المساعدة في فاتورة المرافق.

ستختلف خيارات مساعدة العملاء عبر موفري الخدمات. تشمل الخيارات التي يمكن للعملاء السؤال عنها ما يلي:

  • خطط الدفع. معظم المرافق قادرة على إعداد خطط دفع على مدى عدة أشهر للعملاء لدفع أرصدة متأخرة السداد.
  • مساعدة مالية. بعض المرافق قادرة على تعويض جزء من رصيد العميل المتأخر وتقليل المبلغ المستحق.
  • المساعدة الفيدرالية. قد تتأهل الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض للحصول على برامج المساعدة الفيدرالية للطاقة والمياه. تسمى هذه البرامج LIHEAP (برنامج مساعدة الطاقة والتدفئة لذوي الدخل المنخفض) و LIHWAP (برنامج مساعدة المياه المنزلية لذوي الدخل المنخفض). يمكن للمرافق تقديم المشورة للعملاء حول كيفية الاتصال بالمنظمات المحلية التي تدير التطبيقات لهذه البرامج نيابة عن وزارة التجارة.

لا يمكن لمرافق المياه والطاقة الخاصة المملوكة للمستثمرين والتي تنظمها لجنة المرافق والنقل فرض رسوم أو ودائع متأخرة حتى أبريل 2022 ويجب أن تقدم خيارات خطة سداد طويلة الأجل تصل إلى 18 شهرًا. يجب عليهم أيضًا إخطار العمولة قبل فصل أي عملاء عند انتهاء الوقف ، لذلك يمكن لموظفي العمولة ضمان إخطار العملاء بشكل صحيح بشأن انقطاع الاتصال وإطلاعهم على خيارات المساعدة.

المرافق العامة المملوكة للمجتمع يحكمها مسؤولون منتخبون محليا. ستختلف سياسات المرافق المملوكة للمجتمع وغير الهادفة للربح وفقًا للاحتياجات المحلية.

يتم تشجيع مرافق الطاقة والمياه المملوكة للمجتمع على:

  • استمر في بذل جهود حسنة النية للوصول إلى العملاء بحسابات مستحقة الدفع ، بما في ذلك الشراكة مع المنظمات المجتمعية ، وتقديم معلومات حول خيارات المساعدة المختلفة.
  • ساعد العملاء في تحديد برامج المساعدة المالية المحلية والتابعة للولاية والفيدرالية التي قد يكونوا مؤهلين لها.
  • عرض خطط سداد ممتدة لمدة 12 شهرًا أو أكثر.
  • التنازل عن قطع الاتصال ، وإعادة الاتصال ، وزيارة الموقع ، والرسوم المتأخرة المتراكمة أثناء وقف قطع الاتصال ، إذا قام العملاء بالتسجيل للحصول على مساعدة في الدفع.
  • الامتناع عن الإبلاغ عن الحسابات المتأخرة إلى مكاتب الائتمان أو وضع امتيازات على العملاء الذين لديهم حسابات متأخرة لمدة 180 يومًا على الأقل.

قال ديف دانر ، رئيس شركة UTC: "أنا ممتن لأن المرافق في جميع أنحاء الولاية تتقدم وتعمل لمساعدة عملائها". "هذه أوقات غير مسبوقة وهذا يستدعي اتخاذ خطوات غير مسبوقة ونحن نعمل على التعافي".

لمزيد من المعلومات ، يمكن للعملاء زيارة Commerce.wa.gov/utility-assistance. المعلومات متوفرة بـ 36 لغة.

# # #

اتصالات وسائل الإعلام:

التجارة:  بيني توماس، (360) 704-9489
التوقيت العالمي:  media@utc.wa.gov، (360) 664-1116
قسم الصحة:  اتصالات DOH

حصة هذا المنصب

COVID-19 utility moratorium ends Sept. 30; state leaders urge customers who are behind on energy and water bills to contact utilities and make a plan to keep services on

  • August 30, 2021

More than half a million Washingtonians are at risk of having electricity, natural gas or water services shut off

OLYMPIA, WA — The emergency proclamation preventing shut-off of water, electricity or natural gas services is slated to end Sept. 30. It is among the many emergency measures enacted by Gov. Jay Inslee in the wake of COVID-19.

State leaders and utility operators estimate more than 500,000 Washingtonians have overdue bills that could result in services shutting off. They urge customers to contact their utilities as soon as possible to make a plan to keep their services on.

Call your utility. Make a plan. Keep your services. inforgraphic for utility assistance

Information for customers is available at commerce.wa.gov/utility-assistance in 36 languages.

“This moratorium has provided hundreds of thousands of Washington families much-needed peace of mind during the pandemic, and now utility companies are eager and ready to help their customers make a plan that keeps their services on,” Inslee said. “I urge people make that call as soon as they can. That call can give a family one less thing to worry about as fall and winter approaches.”

“When the pandemic first hit, we committed that no customer should go without lights, heat or hot water,” said Puget Sound Energy President and CEO Mary Kipp. “We stand by that as the pandemic continues to impact customers more than a year later with a level of assistance that is unprecedented and which can make a significant difference for our customers.”

“The state’s not-for-profit, community-owned utilities are committed to working with our customers facing arrearages due to the impact of COVID,” said Washington PUD Association Executive Director George Caan. “Our efforts continue to focus on making contact with customers, connecting them with assistance and working with our customers to establish a pathway to recovery.”

Washington’s private investor-owned energy utilities – which cover about half the state’s customers – have more than 280,000 customers with overdue bills. They’ve provided more than $28.5 million in assistance funds during the pandemic. Almost $20 million of that funding was through COVID-19 assistance programs. Washington’s consumer-owned utilities – which serve nearly 60% of Washington households – initiated a wide range of measures to keep customers connected to essential services. These include suspending disconnections and late fees, delaying scheduled rate increases, setting up payment plans for customers, instituting new payment relief programs and expanding eligibility criteria for existing programs, holding fundraisers to support utility assistance programs, and applying deposits to existing bills. In addition, consumer-owned utilities connected customers to federal aid and, in some cases, partnered with county and city governments to direct a portion of federal American Rescue Plan Act funds to support utility bill assistance.

Customer assistance options will differ across utility providers. Options that customers can ask about include:

  • Payment plans. Most utilities are able to set up payment plans over several months for customers to pay past-due balances.
  • Financial assistance. Some utilities are able to offset a portion of a customer’s past-due balance and reduce the amount owed.
  • Federal assistance. Low-income households might qualify for federal energy and water assistance programs. These programs are called LIHEAP (low-income heating and energy assistance program) and LIHWAP (low-income household water assistance program). Utilities can advise customers on how to contact local organizations that are managing applications for these programs on behalf of the Department of Commerce.

Private, investor-owned water and energy utilities regulated by the Utilities and Transportation Commission cannot charge late fees or deposits until April 2022 and must offer long-term payment plan options up to 18 months. They must also notify the commission before disconnecting any customers when the moratorium ends, so commission staff can ensure customers were properly notified about the disconnection and made aware of assistance options.

Public, community-owned utilities are governed by locally elected officials. Community-owned, not-for-profit utilities’ policies will vary according to local needs.

Community-owned energy and water utilities are encouraged to:

  • Continue to make good faith efforts to reach customers with past-due accounts, including partnering with community organizations, and provide information about various assistance options.
  • Help customers identify utility, local, state and federal financial assistance programs for which they may be eligible.
  • Offer extended payment plans of 12 months or longer.
  • Waive disconnection, reconnection, site visit and late fees accrued during the disconnection moratorium, if customers sign up for payment assistance.
  • Refrain from reporting overdue accounts to credit bureaus or placing liens on customers with overdue accounts for at least 180 days.

“I am grateful that utilities across the state are stepping up and working to assist their customers,” said Dave Danner, chair of the UTC. “These are unprecedented times and this calls for taking unprecedented steps as we work towards recovery.”

For more information, customers can visit commerce.wa.gov/utility-assistance. Information is available in 36 languages.

# # #

Media contacts:

Commerce:  Penny Thomas, (360) 704-9489
UTC:  media@utc.wa.gov, (360) 664-1116
Dept. of Health:  DOH Communications

Share this Post