Multi-Jurisdictional Drug-Gang Task Force

Washington State’s drug-gang task forces work with federal, state and local drug law enforcement agencies and prosecutors to enhance coordination and intelligence while facilitating multi-jurisdictional criminal investigations. Twenty-six of Washington’s 39 counties are directly served by a task force as a participant, or are represented on task force oversight committees. 95% of the state population is served by these 26 counties. All counties can be recipients of task force investigative services.

The task forces serve 41 of the state’s legislative districts, all nine congressional districts, and 26 counties in the state of Washington. This includes six tribal communities and a population of 6,250,814 people (2010 figures). Eight legislative districts and 13 counties are not served by the task force.

Base authority

  • The Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 (P.L. 90-351), which gives federal assistance to state and local governments in reducing crime.
  • The Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986 (P.L. 99-570), which provides financial assistance to state and local governments and coordinates all U.S. efforts to fight crime and drug abuse problems.
  • 1988 Public Law 100-690, which consolidated and renamed the program to the Edward Byrne Memorial State and Local Law Enforcement Assistance Grant Program (Byrne Formula Grant Program).