Multi-Family Housing Property Tax Exemption Program

The Multi-Family Housing Property Tax Exemption (MFTE) program began in 1995, codified as RCW 84.14, to incentivize residential development in urban centers, designated as “residential targeted areas,” for Washington’s largest cities. The program authorizes 8, 12 and 20-year property tax exemptions to encourage the development of multifamily housing. 

In 2021, significant changes were made to the program, find a summary at this link. All cities and Clark, King, Kitsap, Pierce, and Snohomish counties may now offer an MFTE program.

MFTE Resources

The following resources are available to help local governments develop, adopt and administer MFTE programs. In the 2023-2025 biennium, Commerce has also been directed to develop an auditing program for MFTE projects. 



The reporting deadline is April 1, 2024. Reporting requirements and deadlines are established by RCW 84.14.100.

Local Implementation

Bremerton (external link)
Everett (external link)
Lakewood (external link)
Lakewood video (external link)
Seattle (external link)
Shoreline (external link)
Spokane (external link)
Tacoma (external link)
Vancouver (external link)
Wenatchee (external link)

Bellingham-BMC 17.82 (external link)
Burien-BMC 19.45 (external link)
Camas-CMC 3.86 (external link)
Edmonds-EMC 3.38 (external link)
Kenmore-KMC 3.65 (external link)
Kirkland-KM 5.88 (external link)
Lake Stevens-LSMC 3.27 (external link)
Lakewood-LMC 3.64 (external link)
Lynnwood-LMC 3.82 (external link)
Olympia-OMC 5.86 (external link)
Port Orchard-POMC 3.48 (external link)
Seattle-SMC 5.73 (external link)
Shoreline-SMC 3.27 (external link)
Snohomish-SMC 3.50 (external link)
Snoqualmie-SMC 3.10 (external link)
Spokane-SMC 8.15 (external link)
Tacoma-TMC 6A.110 (external link)
Vancouver-VMC 3.22 (external link)
Walla Walla-WMC 2.28 (external link)
Wenatchee-WMC 5.88 (external link)
Woodinville-WMC 3.43 (external link)