在女人的手上的紅色心臟有在木背景的醫生的聽診器的

性侵犯反應:全州性侵犯護士檢查員的可用性和訪問權限增加

第88章,2018年法律 要求華盛頓州商務部的犯罪受害者宣傳辦公室必須:  

制定最佳做法,當地社區可以自願使用這些最佳做法,以更多地接觸性侵犯護士檢查員,包括但不限於為多個機構提供服務的伙伴關係,流動性侵犯護士檢查員小組以及為性侵犯倖存者提供服務的多學科小組在當地社區...

[並且]制定策略,使州內所有地區的護士都可以進行性侵犯護士檢查員培訓,而無需護士走過不合理的距離或招致不合理的費用……

為了符合《 88年法律》第2018章的意圖, 這個文件 proposes best practices that local communities may use on a voluntary basis to create more access to sexual assault nurse examiners and quality sexual assault responses for adult and adolescent victims.建議最佳做法,當地社區可以自願使用這些最佳做法,以使性侵犯護士檢查員獲得更多機會,並為成年和青少年受害者提供優質的性侵犯應對措施。 These best practices are informed by statewide interviews, surveys, and national literature reviews.這些最佳實踐可通過全州的採訪,調查和國家文獻綜述獲得。 Local communities are encouraged to adopt, tailor and add to them as they best see fit.鼓勵當地社區盡可能採用最適合自己的方式,對其進行調整和添加。

  1. 性侵犯患者需要優先處理,並在到達急診設施時被帶到安全的私人房間。
  2. 患者到達急救設施後,必須立即與性侵犯倡導者聯繫,並且患者告訴辯護者正在其途中,將全面解釋患者的選擇,並且患者可以同意或拒絕與之交談。倡導者。
  3. 如果患者選擇從SANE(經正式SANE培訓的人員)中選擇,則他們需要能夠接受醫療護理和法醫證據以及醫學上適當的性傳播疾病預防和緊急避孕措施。
  4. 每家醫院都應有適當的程序來維護證據保管鏈,為患者提供報告選項,保存證據或將其轉移給執法部門進行測試。
  5. SANE需要接受持續的教育和評估,並且必須及時了解法醫證據收集和創傷知情護理方面的最佳實踐變化。
  6. 如果有要求,SANE應在考試後暫時休息以重新編寫,然後再發送給其他任務。
  7. SANE需要根據情況按通話工資進行補償。 If on-call pay does not make sense in low-population density communities, SANEs should be compensated at a premium per case.如果在人口稀少的社區中,按通話付費沒有意義,則應按情況向SANE收取額外費用。
  8. 醫院應通過制定,維持和改進SANE計劃並支持其社區的SART來幫助其當地社區。
  9. Hospitals unable to support their own SANE program should establish policies and procedures, as well as partnerships with other facilities, to ensure that when a sexual assault patient presents, a SANE is available to assist the patient in a timely manner or have the patient transferred to another hospital with the assistance of an advocate.無法支持自己的SANE計劃的醫院應制定政策和程序,並與其他機構建立夥伴關係,以確保在性侵犯患者出現時,SANE可以及時為患者提供幫助或將患者轉移至在倡導者的幫助下,另一所醫院。 The patient should be seen within an hour of arriving at a SANE staffed hospital.應該在到達SANE醫院的一小時內看到患者。
  10. Hospitals should have established partnerships with a community health agency or physician group that receives trauma informed care training and specialized training in the care of survivors of sexual assault.醫院應該與社區衛生機構或醫師團體建立夥伴關係,後者應接受創傷知情的護理培訓以及性侵犯倖存者護理方面的專門培訓。 Patients should be referred there for follow-up care.應該將患者轉介到那裡進行後續護理。
  11. Preferably, SANE staffed hospitals should have a safe, private room designated for sexual assault patients.最好,由SANE派遣人員的醫院應有一個安全的私人房間,專門為性侵犯患者使用。 If not, a hospital should have an accessible mobile cart—outfitted with the tools necessary for a medical forensic exam—that can be easily moved from one room to another for examinations.如果不是這樣,醫院應該有一輛可移動的推車,配備有法醫檢查所需的工具,可以很容易地從一個房間移到另一個房間進行檢查。
  12. 利益相關者和社區成員應繼續尋找方法為其當地社區提供更好的響應。
  13. 通過建立一個積極主動的環境來解決替代精神創傷的潛在可能性,該環境提供基於團隊的機制,可以針對這些機制進行個性化調整以降低替代精神創傷的風險,例如已建立的支持網絡,可以定期檢查情況並討論應對機制。

不要:

  1. 不要自動將執法部門的成年受害者召喚到醫院。
  2. 請勿要求成年受害人向執法機關報告作為接受考試的條件。
  3. 不要為檢查開具費用給患者或患者的保險。
  1. 兒科患者需要優先分流護理,並在到達急診設施時被護送到安全的私人房間。
  2. 病人出診時,應允許病人和非犯罪父母和照顧者接觸辯護人。
  3. 需要由訓練有素的進行小兒科治療的醫務人員(即小兒SANE(P-SANE))來看望患者,最好是在兒童友好的環境下,例如兒童倡導中心(CAC)。
  4. P-SANE需要“篩选和評估對性虐待,疏忽或可疑虐待的所有急性和非急性關注或披露,根據對時間敏感的檢查或跟踪的需要做出適當的司法授權報告,轉介和移交-向上。”[1]
  5. 當還有其他兒童與受害人住在同一家庭時,P-SANE需要對未公開的虐待兒童保持警惕。 如果對未公開的虐待有任何擔憂,應通知地方當局。
  6. 每個醫院或CAC應該有適當的程序來維護證據保管鏈,存儲證據並將其轉移到執法部門進行測試。
  7. P-SANE需要接受持續的教育和評估,並且必須及時了解法醫證據收集和創傷知情護理最佳實踐的變化。
  8. 如果需要,P-SANE需要在檢查後有時間重新組合,然後再發送給其他任務。 
  9. 對P-SANE需要按情況和即時工資進行補償。 如果在人口稀少的社區中按通話付費沒有意義,則應為每宗案件支付高額的P-SANE補償。
  10. 當“陪伴受害兒童的人是犯罪嫌疑人,涉嫌與犯罪者串通或被認為助長虐待時”,醫院應制定有關患者和工作人員安全的政策。[2]
  11. 如果CAC配備了P-SANE人員,則執法部門和醫院應該知道最近的CAC在哪裡,並且醫院應該與當地CAC建立轉移安排。
  12. 無法支持自己的P-SANE計劃的醫院或CAC應該與其他機構建立夥伴關係,以確保當性侵犯患者出現時,可以盡可能快地看到他們或將其轉介給P-SANE。 如果需要將患者轉移到醫院或CAC,則應在監護人和醫院工作人員的協助下進行。
  13. 在將患者轉移到另一家醫院之前,如果接收醫院不提供24/7全天候服務,則醫院工作人員應確認接收醫院有P-SANE。
  14. 利益相關者和社區成員應繼續尋求方法為其社區提供更好的服務。
  15. 當涉及到兒科患者時,所有醫務人員和法律人員應定期更新並遵循本縣的性虐待協議。
  16. 通過建立一個積極主動的環境來解決替代精神創傷的潛在可能性,該環境提供基於團隊的機制,可以針對這些機制進行個性化調整以降低替代精神創傷的風險,例如已建立的支持網絡,可以定期檢查情況並討論應對機制。

[1] 美國司法部,《兒科性虐待醫學法醫檢查國家協議》: https://www.justice.gov/ovw/file/846856/download

  1. 組成一個由多方利益相關者組成的計劃小組,其中包括地方執法機構,性攻擊受害者辯護者,性攻擊護士檢查員,檢察官,兒童保護服務,治療師,犯罪實驗室專家,醫療管理員,部落官員,兒童權益中心管理員,以及其他相關的利益相關者,例如受害者。
  2. 確定執行領導團隊和協調員,以促進SART或MDT的開發。
  3. 定義SART或MDT的管轄權。
  4. 確定當地的資源和性侵害受害者獲得緊急和長期護理的障礙。
  5. 確定克服這些障礙的方法。
  6. 編寫任務說明。
  7. 建立協議,描述SART或MDT的每個成員的跨學科角色和職責,以及在給定的本地情況下它們如何發揮作用以促進最佳響應。
  8. 確保所有成員了解並了解其對遵守聯邦健康保險可移植性和責任制(HIPAA)以及州保密,特權和隱私法的責任。
  9. 建立定期安排的SART或MDT會議,以徵詢成員的反饋,審查和跟踪案例並促進不斷學習。
  10. 建立與SART或MDT成員以及SART或MDT會議以外的其他主要利益相關者進行溝通的機制。
  11. 確保將服務不足的人群有意義地納入並積極傾聽。
  12. 確定並建立機制,以提高專業人士和公眾對SART或MDT服務的認識和支持。
  13. 與當地的兒童權益倡導中心,社區性侵犯計劃以及其他利益相關方合作,避免SART,MDT和其他機構之間的工作重複。
  14. 建立機制以吸收團隊成員和患者的反饋意見,以評估和改進SART或MDT流程。
  15. 通過建立一個積極主動的環境來解決替代精神創傷的潛在可能性,該環境提供基於團隊的機制,可以針對這些機制進行個性化調整以降低替代精神創傷的風險,例如已建立的支持網絡,可以定期檢查情況並討論應對機制。

程序鏈接

联系信息

塔拉·沃爾夫(MPA)
tara.wolfe@commerce.wa.gov
電話:(360)725 2874

如果您是犯罪的受害者並且正在尋找服務:
ocva@commerce.wa.gov
直撥電話:1-800-822-1067

聯絡我們

犯罪受害者宣傳辦公室
華盛頓州商務部
郵政信箱42525
1011 Plum Street SE
奧林匹亞,華盛頓州98504-2525
受贈人專線:1-866-857-9889
傳真:360-586-7176

如果您是犯罪的受害者並且正在尋找服務:
ocva@commerce.wa.gov
直撥電話:1-800-822-1067

Red heart on woman's hand with doctor's stethoscope on wooden background

Chapter 88, Laws of 2018 required the Office of Crime Victims Advocacy of Washington State’s Department of Commerce to:  

Develop best practices that local communities may use on a voluntary basis to create more access to sexual assault nurse examiners, including, but not limited to, partnerships to serve multiple facilities, mobile sexual assault nurse examiner teams, and multidisciplinary teams to serve sexual assault survivors in local communities…

[And] develop strategies to make sexual assault nurse examiner training available to nurses in all regions of the state without requiring the nurses to travel unreasonable distances or incur unreasonable expenses…

To meet the intent of Chapter 88, Laws of 2018, this document proposes best practices that local communities may use on a voluntary basis to create more access to sexual assault nurse examiners and quality sexual assault responses for adult and adolescent victims. These best practices are informed by statewide interviews, surveys, and national literature reviews. Local communities are encouraged to adopt, tailor and add to them as they best see fit.

  1. Sexual assault patients need to be triaged a high priority for care and escorted to a safe, private room upon arrival at an emergency care facility.
  2. A sexual assault advocate needs to be contacted immediately upon the patient’s arrival at an emergency care facility and the patient told that an advocate is on his or her way, will comprehensively explain the patient’s options, and that the patient may consent or refuse to speak with the advocate.
  3. Patients need to be able to receive medical care and forensic evidence collection and medically appropriate sexually transmitted disease prophylaxis and emergency contraception, if they so choose, from a SANE, defined as someone who has undergone formal SANE training.
  4. Each hospital should have procedures in place for maintaining chain of custody of evidence, providing patients reporting options, and holding evidence or transferring it to law enforcement for testing.
  5. SANEs need to receive continuing education and evaluation and be up-to-date on changes to best practices in forensic evidence collection and trauma-informed care.
  6. If requested, SANEs should receive a temporary break following an exam to recompose, before being sent onto another task.
  7. SANEs need to be compensated on-call wages and per case. If on-call pay does not make sense in low-population density communities, SANEs should be compensated at a premium per case.
  8. Hospitals should assist their local communities by developing, sustaining, and improving their SANE programs and supporting their community’s SART.
  9. Hospitals unable to support their own SANE program should establish policies and procedures, as well as partnerships with other facilities, to ensure that when a sexual assault patient presents, a SANE is available to assist the patient in a timely manner or have the patient transferred to another hospital with the assistance of an advocate. The patient should be seen within an hour of arriving at a SANE staffed hospital.
  10. Hospitals should have established partnerships with a community health agency or physician group that receives trauma informed care training and specialized training in the care of survivors of sexual assault. Patients should be referred there for follow-up care.
  11. Preferably, SANE staffed hospitals should have a safe, private room designated for sexual assault patients. If not, a hospital should have an accessible mobile cart—outfitted with the tools necessary for a medical forensic exam—that can be easily moved from one room to another for examinations.
  12. Stakeholders and community members should continue to seek ways to provide a better response for their local community.
  13. Address the potential for vicarious trauma by building a pro-active environment that provides team-based mechanisms that can be individually tailored to decrease the risk of vicarious trauma, such as established support networks with regular check-ins to debrief and discuss coping mechanisms.

Do not:

  1. Do not automatically call law enforcement to the hospital for adult victims.
  2. Do not require adult victims to report to law enforcement as a condition for receiving an exam.
  3. Do not bill the patient or patient’s insurance for an exam.
  1. Pediatric patients need to be triaged a high priority for care and escorted to a safe, private room upon arrival at an emergency care facility.
  2. The patient and non-offending parents and caregivers should be given access to an advocate upon a patient presenting.
  3. Patients need to be seen by a medical staff trained to conduct pediatric patients [that is, a pediatric SANE (P-SANE)], preferably at a child friendly environment, such as a Child Advocacy Center (CAC).
  4. A P-SANE needs to “screen and assess all acute and non-acute concerns or disclosures of sexual abuse, neglect, or suspected abuse, making proper jurisdictionally mandated reports, referrals, and transfers based on the need for time-sensitive exams or follow-up.”[1]
  5. A P-SANE needs to remain vigilant about non-disclosed child abuse when there are other children living in the same household as the victim. Local authorities should be notified if any concerns about non-disclosed abuse arise.
  6. Each hospital or CAC should have procedures in place for maintaining chain of custody of evidence, storing evidence, and transferring it to law enforcement for testing.
  7. P-SANEs need to receive continuing education and evaluation and be up-to-date on changes to best practices in forensic evidence collection and trauma-informed care.
  8. If requested, P-SANEs need to be given time following an exam to recompose, before being sent to another task. 
  9. P-SANEs need to be compensated on-call wages and per case. If on-call pay does not make sense in low-population density communities, P-SANEs should be compensated at a premium per case.
  10. Hospitals should have policies regarding patient and staff safety when “the person accompanying the child victim is the suspected offender, is suspected to be in collusion with the offender, or is otherwise believed to be contributing to the abuse.”[2]
  11. Law enforcement and hospitals should know where the nearest CACs are, and hospitals should have established transfer arrangements with their local CAC, if the CAC is P-SANE staffed.
  12. Hospitals or CACs unable to support their own P-SANE programs should establish partnerships with other facilities to ensure that when a sexual assault patient presents, they may be seen or referred to a P-SANE in as expeditious of a manner as possible. If a patient needs to be transferred to a hospital or CAC, it should be done with the assistance of an advocate and hospital staff.
  13. Before transferring the patient to another facility, hospital staff should confirm the availability of P-SANEs at the receiving hospital, if that receiving hospital does not offer 24/7 services.
  14. Stakeholders and community members should continue to seek ways to provide better service for their community.
  15. All medical and legal staff should regularly update and follow their county’s sexual abuse protocol when it comes to pediatric patients.
  16. Address the potential for vicarious trauma by building a pro-active environment that provides team-based mechanisms that can be individually tailored to decrease the risk of vicarious trauma, such as established support networks with regular check-ins to debrief and discuss coping mechanisms.

[1] U.S. Department of Justice, A National Protocol for Sexual Abuse Medical Forensic Examinations Pediatric: https://www.justice.gov/ovw/file/846856/download

  1. Form a multi-stakeholder planning team of representatives, which may include local law enforcement, sexual assault victim advocates, sexual assault nurse examiners, prosecutors, child protective services, therapists, crime lab specialists, medical administrators, tribal officials, child advocacy center administrators, and other concerned stakeholders, such as victims.
  2. Identify an executive leadership team and coordinator to facilitate the development of the SART or MDT.
  3. Define the SART’s or MDT’s jurisdiction.
  4. Identify local resources and barriers to access to emergency and long-term care for victims of sexual assault.
  5. Identify ways to overcome these barriers.
  6. Write a mission statement.
  7. Establish protocols that delineate cross-disciplinary roles and responsibilities for each member of the SART or MDT and how they function to promote the best response possible given local circumstances.
  8. Ensure all members understand and are aware of their responsibilities for compliance with the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and state confidentiality, privilege, and privacy laws.
  9. Establish regularly scheduled SART or MDT meetings to elicit feedback from members, review and track cases, and promote constant learning.
  10. Establish mechanisms for communicating with SART or MDT members and other key stakeholders outside of SART or MDT meetings.
  11. Ensure that underserved populations are meaningfully included and pro-actively listened to.
  12. Identify and establish mechanisms to increase professional and public awareness of and support for SART or MDT services.
  13. Work with the local Children’s Advocacy Center, Community Sexual Assault Programs, and other stakeholders to avoid the duplication of work between SARTs, MDTs, and others.
  14. Establish mechanisms to incorporate team member and patient feedback to evaluate and improve the SART or MDT process.
  15. Address the potential for vicarious trauma by building a pro-active environment that provides team-based mechanisms that can be individually tailored to decrease the risk of vicarious trauma, such as established support networks with regular check-ins to debrief and discuss coping mechanisms.

Contact Information

Tara Wolfe, MPA
tara.wolfe@commerce.wa.gov
Phone: (360)725-2874

If you are a victim of a crime and are looking for services:
ocva@commerce.wa.gov
Direct Service Line:1-800-822-1067