支持性住房辦公室

負擔得起的房子

概述

患有慢性精神疾病或藥物濫用疾病的人的住房嚴重短缺。 成千上萬的華盛頓人被困在機構環境中,或者由於缺乏合適的住房而無家可歸。

2017年,華盛頓州立法機構向商務部提供了資金,以創建支持性住房經理。 該職位的任務是與衛生保健局(HCA),社會與衛生服務部(DSHS)和其他州機構進行協調,以擴大精神疾病或藥物濫用疾病患者的支持性住房的供應。 

支持性住房,有時也稱為永久性支持性住房,為符合條件的客戶提供永久性租金補貼。 它還提供旨在幫助租戶住房穩定的自願支持服務。 支持性住房是華盛頓每個社區的重要住房乾預措施,並且是解決無家可歸問題的解決方案的一部分。

訓練課程

房東減災計劃

華盛頓州的《房東減緩法》(RCW 43.31.605)於7年2018月1,000日生效。它為房東提供了激勵,並增強了他們與接受租金援助的租戶合作的安全性。 該計劃向房東提供最高5,000美元的補償,以補償某些可能需要的入住升級,長達XNUMX天的租金損失以及由租戶在租賃期間造成的最高XNUMX美元的合格損害賠償。 有關更多信息,請訪問網站。

租賃保全計劃

驅逐已被證明是導致整個華盛頓無家可歸的新案例的主要原因。 防止租約計劃通過維持租約使房東和租戶都受益。 這樣可以防止房東面臨空缺和上交損失,同時還可以防止驅逐房客的行為,而這會給房客尋找和出租未來房屋的能力造成障礙。

華盛頓州的租賃保留計劃(2019年對RCW 59.18.410(3)和43.31.605(c)的修訂)於29年2019月90日生效出租。 在法院批准的情況下,商務部將向房東發放臨時貸款以保留租約。 房客有最多XNUMX天的時間償還貸款。 有關更多信息,請訪問 網站.

社區行為健康租賃援助(CBRA)以及通過同伴服務長期補貼(HAPS LTS)計劃提供的住房和恢復為行為健康狀況高危的個人和家庭提供永久性租金補貼。 與提供支持性住房服務的計劃(例如華盛頓的基礎社區支持(FCS)計劃,老齡化和長期支持(ALTSA)計劃,通過對等服務的住房和恢復計劃(HARPS)計劃或其他計劃)合作時,易受傷害的複雜人群行為健康需求有機會在他們選擇的社區中獨立生活。

2020年XNUMX月,支持性住房辦公室將以社區行為健康租賃援助計劃的名義開始將CBRA和HARPS LTS計劃合併。

訪問網頁 這裡.

住房和城市發展辦公室(HUD)向商務部授予的811節項目租金援助演示(811 PRA)贈款,將為極低收入,非老年人殘疾家庭提供基於項目的租金援助,為期期限為五年(此後每年根據國會撥款進行更新)。 了解更多信息, 訪問該網頁。

Affordable housing

Overview

There is a significant shortage of housing for persons suffering from chronic mental illness or substance abuse disorders. Thousands of Washingtonians are stuck in institutional settings, or are homeless for lack of suitable housing.

In 2017 the Washington Legislature provided funding to the Department of Commerce to create a Supportive Housing Manager. This position is tasked with coordinating with the Health Care Authority (HCA), the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) and other state agencies to expand the availability of supportive housing for persons with mental health conditions or substance use disorders. 

Supportive housing, sometimes referred to as Permanent Supportive Housing, provides eligible clients with a permanent rental subsidy. It also makes available voluntary supportive services designed to assist tenants with housing stability. Supportive housing is a critical housing intervention for every community in Washington, and is part of the solution to ending homelessness.

Funding Opportunity

The Department of Commerce is soliciting applications from qualified owners/operators of permanent supportive housing (PSH) projects for funding of operating and maintenance costs, as well as reimbursement for the cost of supportive services offered to clients in PSH units. Qualified applicants own or operate multifamily housing projects funded by the Washington State Housing Trust Fund, or other public capital funding sources. The Notice of Funding Availability and application can be found here.

Programs

Landlord Mitigation Program

Washington State’s Landlord Mitigation Law (RCW 43.31.605) became effective June 7, 2018. It provides landlords with an incentive and added security to work with tenants receiving rental assistance. The program offers up to $1,000 to the landlord in reimbursement for some potentially required move-in upgrades, up to fourteen days’ rent loss and up to $5,000 in qualifying damages caused by a tenant during tenancy. For more information, visit the website.

Tenancy Preservation Program

Evictions have proven to be a leading cause of new cases of homelessness throughout Washington. The Tenancy Prevention Program benefits both landlord and tenant by maintaining the tenancy. This prevents landlords from facing vacancy and turn over losses while preventing an eviction that would create barriers in the tenant’s ability to find and rent future housing.

Washington State’s Tenancy Preservation Program (2019 amendments to RCW 59.18.410(3) and 43.31.605(c)) became effective on June 29th, 2019  The program reduces homelessness by providing relief to low-income tenants facing eviction for non-payment of rent.   In court-approved cases, Commerce will issue a temporary loan to landlords to preserve tenancy.  Tenants have up to 90 days to repay the loan. For more information, visit the website.

The Community Behavioral Health Rental Assistance (CBRA) and Housing and Recovery Through Peer Services Long-Term Subsidies( HARPS LTS) programs provide permanent rental subsidy for high-risk individuals and households with behavioral health conditions. When partnered with programs offering supportive housing services such as Washington’s Foundational Community Supports (FCS) program, Aging and Long-Term Supports (ALTSA) programs, Housing and Recovery through Peer Services (HARPS) programs, or others, highly-vulnerable persons with complex behavioral health needs have opportunities to live independently in the communities of their choice.

In July 2020, the Office of Supportive Housing will begin the process of combining the CBRA and HARPS LTS program under the name Community Behavioral Health Rental Assistance Program.

Visit the webpage here.

The Section 811 Project Rental Assistance Demonstration (811 PRA) grant awarded to Commerce by the Office of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) of $5.7 million will provide project-based rental assistance to extremely low-income, non-elderly disabled households for a period of five years (with annual renewals thereafter based upon Congressional appropriations). For more information, visit the webpage.