إصلاح ضحايا الجرائم (VOCA) لدعم صندوق ضحايا الجرائم

  • 19 أغسطس 2021

سيحقق صندوق ضحايا الجرائم قريبًا إيرادات إضافية بفضل مرور إصلاح قانون ضحايا الجرائم HR 1652 (VOCA) للحفاظ على قانون صندوق ضحايا الجرائم لعام 2021. يشار إلى هذا عادةً باسم إصلاح VOCA.

وقع الرئيس جو بايدن على VOCA Fix في 22 يوليو 2021. يعد مرور VOCA Fix انتصارًا هائلاً لمستقبل خدمات الضحايا على المستوى الوطني وفي ولاية واشنطن.

لكن ما الذي أوصلنا إلى هنا وماذا يعني ذلك؟

يقوم VOCA Fix بإعادة توجيه التسويات الجنائية الفيدرالية من اتفاقيات عدم الملاحقة القضائية وتأجيل المقاضاة إلى صندوق ضحايا الجريمة ، مما سيؤدي إلى المزيد من الودائع في صندوق ضحايا الجريمة بمرور الوقت. قبل إصلاح VOCA ، تم إيداع هذه الأموال في الخزانة العامة وكانت الودائع في صندوق ضحايا الجريمة عند أدنى مستوى لها منذ عام 2003.

يتم توزيع أموال VOCA على الولايات من الصندوق الفيدرالي لضحايا الجريمة ، والذي يتألف من غرامات جنائية ومصادرة ورسوم. تصدر الحكومة الفيدرالية مبلغًا مختلفًا من المال لـ VOCA كل عام ، بناءً على مبلغ التمويل في صندوق ضحايا الجريمة.

باستخدام VOCA Fix ، سيتمكن المدعي العام الأمريكي من إصدار تمديدات بدون تكلفة على جوائز VOCA السابقة. هذا يعني أن مكتب الدفاع عن ضحايا الجريمة قد يكون قادرًا على طلب وقت إضافي لإنفاق تمويل VOCA من السنوات السابقة التي لم يتم إنفاقها. سيحدد مكتب الدفاع عن ضحايا الجريمة (OCVA) كيفية توزيع هذه الأموال إذا تمت الموافقة على التمديد.

في حين أن تمرير VOCA Fix أمر جيد لمستقبل خدمات الضحايا ، إلا أنه لن يؤدي إلى تغييرات سريعة في مقدار التمويل المتاح لمقدمي خدمات واشنطن. سوف يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت لإعادة بناء صندوق ضحايا الجريمة ، ولا يؤثر على التمويل الذي تلقته OCVA بالفعل. لمزيد من المعلومات حول تخفيضات التمويل الحالية ، اقرأ منشور المدونة هذا حول تخفيضات تمويل VOCA.

 

أبرزت الزيادة في عدد الضحايا الذين يلتمسون المساعدة وسط جائحة COVID-19 الحاجة الحقيقية والملموسة لمواصلة الاستثمار في الخدمات. تدرك OCVA أهمية تمويل VOCA في ضمان تلبية ضحايا الجريمة بخدمات عالية الجودة تكون على دراية بالصدمات النفسية ومستجيبة ثقافيًا ومناسبة للمجتمعات المتنوعة.

شكرًا لك على التزامك المستمر بخدمة الضحايا والناجين! سوف تقوم OCVA بإيصال التأثيرات إلى المجال كما هي معروفة.

إذا كانت لديك أسئلة إضافية ، يرجى الاتصال OCVA@commerce.wa.gov

صورة الشاطئ عند غروب الشمس
حصة هذا المنصب

Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Fix to Sustain the Crime Victims Fund

  • August 19, 2021

The Crime Victims Fund will soon have additional revenues thanks to the passage of H.R. 1652 Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Fix to Sustain the Crime Victims Fund Act of 2021. This is commonly referred to as the VOCA Fix.

President Joe Biden signed the VOCA Fix on July 22, 2021. Passage of the VOCA Fix is a monumental victory for the future of victim services nationally and in Washington state.

But what got us here and what does it mean?

The VOCA Fix redirects federal criminal settlements from non-prosecution and deferred prosecution agreements into the Crime Victims Fund, which will result in more deposits into the Crime Victims Fund over time. Before the VOCA Fix, these funds were deposited into the General Treasury and deposits into the Crime Victims Fund were at the lowest level since 2003.

VOCA funds are distributed to states from the federal Crime Victims Fund, which is comprised of criminal fines, forfeitures and fees. The federal government releases a different amount of money for VOCA each year, based on the amount of funding in the Crime Victims Fund.

With the VOCA Fix, the U.S. Attorney General will be able to issue no-cost extensions on previous VOCA awards. This means that the Office of Crime Victims Advocacy may be able to request additional time to spend VOCA funding from previous years that was unspent. The Office of Crime Victims Advocacy (OCVA) will determine how to distribute these funds if an extension is approved.

While the passage of the VOCA Fix is a good thing for the future of victim services, it will not result in fast changes to the amount of funding available to Washington service providers. It will take time to rebuild the Crime Victims Fund, and it does not affect the funding OCVA has already received. For more information about the current funding reductions, read this blog post on VOCA funding reductions.

 

The increase in victims seeking assistance amid the COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted a real, tangible need for the continued investment in services. OCVA recognizes the importance of VOCA funding in ensuring that victims of crime are met with high-quality services that are trauma-informed, culturally responsive and appropriate for diverse communities.

Thank you for your continued commitment to serving victims and survivors! OCVA will communicate effects to the field as they are known.

If you have additional questions, please contact OCVA@commerce.wa.gov

Picture of beach at sunset
Share this Post