犯罪受害者法案 (VOCA) 修復以維持犯罪受害者基金

  • 二零二一年八月十日

由於法案的通過,犯罪受害者基金將很快獲得額外收入。 HR 1652 犯罪受害者法案 (VOCA) 修復以維持 2021 年犯罪受害者基金法案. 這通常稱為 VOCA 修復。

喬拜登總統於 22 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日簽署了 VOCA Fix。VOCA Fix 的通過是全國和華盛頓州受害者服務未來的巨大勝利。

但是是什麼讓我們來到這裡,這意味著什麼?

VOCA Fix 將聯邦刑事和解協議從不起訴和延期起訴協議重新定向到犯罪受害者基金,隨著時間的推移,這將導致更多存款進入犯罪受害者基金。 在 VOCA Fix 之前,這些資金存入財政部,而存入犯罪受害者基金則處於 2003 年以來的最低水平。

VOCA 基金從聯邦犯罪受害者基金分配給各州,該基金由刑事罰款、沒收和費用組成。 聯邦政府根據犯罪受害者基金的資金數額,每年為 VOCA 發放不同數額的資金。

有了 VOCA Fix,美國司法部長將能夠免費延長之前的 VOCA 獎項。 這意味著犯罪受害者權益保護辦公室可能會要求額外的時間來花費前幾年未動用的 VOCA 資金。 如果延期獲得批准,犯罪受害者權益保護辦公室 (OCVA) 將決定如何分配這些資金。

雖然 VOCA Fix 的通過對受害者服務的未來來說是一件好事,但它不會導致華盛頓服務提供商可用資金數額的快速變化。 重建犯罪受害者基金需要時間,並且不會影響 OCVA 已經收到的資金。 有關當前資金削減的更多信息,請閱讀有關 VOCA 資金削減的博客文章。

 

在 COVID-19 大流行期間尋求援助的受害者增加,凸顯了對持續投資服務的真實、切實的需求。 OCVA 認識到 VOCA 資金在確保犯罪受害者獲得高質量服務的重要性,這些服務了解創傷、文化敏感且適合不同社區。

感謝您繼續致力於為受害者和倖存者服務! OCVA 將向現場傳達已知的效果。

如有其他疑問,請聯繫 OCVA@commerce.wa.gov

夕陽下的海灘圖片
分享這個帖子

Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Fix to Sustain the Crime Victims Fund

  • August 19, 2021

The Crime Victims Fund will soon have additional revenues thanks to the passage of H.R. 1652 Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Fix to Sustain the Crime Victims Fund Act of 2021. This is commonly referred to as the VOCA Fix.

President Joe Biden signed the VOCA Fix on July 22, 2021. Passage of the VOCA Fix is a monumental victory for the future of victim services nationally and in Washington state.

But what got us here and what does it mean?

The VOCA Fix redirects federal criminal settlements from non-prosecution and deferred prosecution agreements into the Crime Victims Fund, which will result in more deposits into the Crime Victims Fund over time. Before the VOCA Fix, these funds were deposited into the General Treasury and deposits into the Crime Victims Fund were at the lowest level since 2003.

VOCA funds are distributed to states from the federal Crime Victims Fund, which is comprised of criminal fines, forfeitures and fees. The federal government releases a different amount of money for VOCA each year, based on the amount of funding in the Crime Victims Fund.

With the VOCA Fix, the U.S. Attorney General will be able to issue no-cost extensions on previous VOCA awards. This means that the Office of Crime Victims Advocacy may be able to request additional time to spend VOCA funding from previous years that was unspent. The Office of Crime Victims Advocacy (OCVA) will determine how to distribute these funds if an extension is approved.

While the passage of the VOCA Fix is a good thing for the future of victim services, it will not result in fast changes to the amount of funding available to Washington service providers. It will take time to rebuild the Crime Victims Fund, and it does not affect the funding OCVA has already received. For more information about the current funding reductions, read this blog post on VOCA funding reductions.

 

The increase in victims seeking assistance amid the COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted a real, tangible need for the continued investment in services. OCVA recognizes the importance of VOCA funding in ensuring that victims of crime are met with high-quality services that are trauma-informed, culturally responsive and appropriate for diverse communities.

Thank you for your continued commitment to serving victims and survivors! OCVA will communicate effects to the field as they are known.

If you have additional questions, please contact OCVA@commerce.wa.gov

Picture of beach at sunset
Share this Post