人口販運– 2020年XNUMX月

  • 十一月 2 日(2020)

什麼是人口販運?

人口販運包括勞工和性販運。 儘管許多人希望相信這種犯罪在我們社區中沒有發生,但確實如此。 人口販運活動正在華盛頓州發生,並影響到兒童,青年,成人和家庭。

人口販運是指使用武力,欺詐或脅迫手段將某人逼入任何(合法 or 違法)的工作或服務形式。

人口販運是一個過程,而不是一個事件。 

點擊圖片放大 

2020年,撥款3.35萬美元,用於支持七(7)個三年期贈款(四項勞動和三性交易),以支持和協助人口販運的受害者和倖存者,處於危險中的個人和外展活動。

勞工販運受助人

  • 西雅圖API Chaya
  • 亞基馬西北司法項目
  • 西雅圖西北移民權利項目(NWIRP)
  • 華盛頓華盛頓反人口販運響應網絡(WARN),西雅圖

性販運受助人

  • 溫哥華Janus青年計劃
  • REST,西雅圖
  • 支持,宣傳,資源中心(SARC),本頓縣和富蘭克林縣
  • 勞工販運:某人以任何方式招募,窩藏,運輸,轉讓,提供,獲取,購買,購買或接收另一人明知或re顧事實的任何行為,即屬第一級人口販運, RCW 9A.36.070中定義的武力,欺詐或脅迫將用於使該人從事以下活動:強迫勞動; 非自願奴役。 [1]
  • 性交易: 是出於商業性行為的目的招募,窩藏,運輸,提供或獲取個人,其中商業性行為是通過武力,欺詐或脅迫誘使的。 [2]
  • 對未成年人的商業性虐待-未成年人的同意並不構成抗辯。
任何人在以下情況下犯有對未成年人進行商業性虐待的罪名:(a)他或她向未成年人或第三人提供任何有價值的東西,作為對與未成年人進行性行為的未成年人的補償; (b)他或她提供或同意向未成年人或第三人提供任何有價值的東西,條件是該未成年人為此將與其進行性行為作為回報; or (c)他或她請求,提供或要求與未成年人發生性行為,以收取費用[3] [1] RCW 9A.40.100 [2] 同上 [3] RCW 9A.20
  • 勞工販運:一個人被判犯有一級販運罪 招募,港口,運輸,轉移,提供,獲取,購買,購買或接收 他人知道或不顧後果地means顧以下任何手段:(A)RCW 9A.36.070所定義的武力,欺詐或脅迫將被用於使該人從事以下活動:強迫勞動; 非自願奴役。 [1]
  • 性交易: 是出於商業性行為的目的招募,窩藏,運輸,提供或獲取個人,其中商業性行為是通過武力,欺詐或脅迫誘使的。 [2]
  • 對未成年人的商業性虐待-未成年人的同意並不構成抗辯。

在以下情況下,任何人犯有對未成年人進行商業性虐待的罪行:
(a)他或她向未成年人或第三人提供任何有價值的東西,以補償與該未成年人發生性行為的未成年人;
(b)他或她提供或同意向未成年人或第三人提供任何有價值的東西,條件是該未成年人為此將與其進行性行為作為回報; or (c)他或她請求,提供或要求與未成年人發生性行為,以收取費用[3]

[1] RCW 9A.40.100
[2] 同上
[3] RCW 9A.20

儘管我們沒有“聽說過”有關勞動力販運的活動,並且也沒有太多有關此問題的培訓,資源或討論,但發生這種情況的可能性與性販運類似。

在我們州經歷過人口販運的個人是合法居民,外國國民的年輕人和成年人。 示例包括:

  • 由值得信賴的朋友或家人帶到美國(合法和非法)工作的個人,並承諾提供安全,教育和居住的房屋,
  • 在這里合法工作的個人 進而 -
  • 販運者拿走了身份證,證件和/或偽造的證件,拿走了所有現金,拿了電話,並使用威脅,羞辱,孤立,扣留了基本需求以迫使個人工作並“償還”欠販運者的錢食物,房租和其他“費用”。

人口販運發生在各種行業中,包括但不限於旅館和汽車旅館,山羊和綿羊放牧,建築,家務勞動(保姆,房屋清潔工),農業,飯店,林業和屠宰場。 在農村地區,大城市和小城鎮中發生勞動和性販運。

販運者使用“商業模式”賺錢。 販運者可以是男性,女性,陌生人,可信賴的朋友和家人。 他們利用各種策略來利用個人和家庭的脆弱性來“賣夢”。 脆弱性包括個人的基本生理需求,例如食物,住所,滿足家庭基本需求的經濟支持以及其他需求。 販運者還針對與安全,保障,愛心和歸屬感有關的需求。 戰術包括暴力,威脅和謊言,孤立,就業承諾以及對愛和支持的承諾等。 

遭受貧窮,壓迫,沒有家人和朋友等任何支持的個人以及遭受創傷的人處於較高的風險中。 被販運的受害者還包括外國公民和美國公民,男性,女性,被確認為女同性戀,男同性戀,雙性戀,變性者,同志,詢問和兩性戀(LGBTQ2 +)的個人,兒童,青年,成人和老人。 男孩和男人經歷勞動和性販運。 研究表明,經歷過性交易的男性比例大約等於經歷過性交易的女性比例。

HT危險因素

點擊圖片放大

有關勞工和性販運的數據很難收集,有時甚至不存在。 經歷過勞動和/或性交易的個人不知道他們所發生的或正在發生的是“犯罪”。 通常,個人 標識為“受害者”或“倖存者”。 販運者使用各種威脅,例如暴力,羞辱,孤立,不滿足基本需求(食物,水)來製造壁壘,因此個人將不會分享他們已經或正在發生的事情。 結果,個人不會分享他們的經驗,不會尋求支持。

分享這個帖子

Human Trafficking – October 2020

  • November 2, 2020

What is Human Trafficking?

Human trafficking includes labor and sex trafficking. While many would like to believe this crime does not occur in our communities, it does. Human trafficking is occurring in Washington State and impacts children, youth, adults and families.

Human Trafficking is the use of force, fraud or coercion to compel a person into any (legal or illegal) form of work or service against their will.

Human Trafficking is a process, not an event. 

Click on picture to enlarge 

In 2020 $3.35 million was allocated to support seven (7) three-year grants (four labor and three sex trafficking) to support and assist victims and survivors of human trafficking, individuals at-risk and outreach activities.

Labor Trafficking Grantees

  • API Chaya, Seattle
  • Northwest Justice Project, Yakima
  • Northwest Immigrant Rights Project (NWIRP), Seattle
  • Washington Anti-Trafficking Response Network (WARN), Seattle

Sex Trafficking Grantees

  • Janus Youth Programs, Vancouver
  • REST, Seattle
  • Support, Advocacy, Resource Center (SARC), Benton and Franklin counties
  • Labor trafficking: A person is guilty of trafficking in the first degree when such person recruits, harbors, transports, transfers, provides, obtains, buys, purchases or receives by any means another person knowing, or in reckless disregard of the fact, (A) that force, fraud, or coercion as defined in RCW 9A.36.070 will be used to cause the person to engage in: forced labor; involuntary servitude. [1]
  • Sex trafficking: is the recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, or obtaining of a person for the purposes of a commercial sex act, in which the commercial sex act is induced by force, fraud, or coercion. [2]
  • Commercial sexual abuse of a minor — Consent of minor does not constitute defense.
A person is guilty of commercial sexual abuse of a minor if: (a) He or she provides anything of value to a minor or a third person as compensation for a minor having engaged in sexual conduct with him or her; (b) He or she provides or agrees to provide anything of value to a minor or a third person pursuant to an understanding that in return therefore such minor will engage in sexual conduct with him or her; or (c) He or she solicits, offers, or requests to engage in sexual conduct with a minor in return for a fee[3] [1] RCW 9A.40.100 [2] Ibid [3] RCW 9A.20
  • Labor trafficking: A person is guilty of trafficking in the first degree when such person recruits, harbors, transports, transfers, provides, obtains, buys, purchases or receives by any means another person knowing, or in reckless disregard of the fact, (A) that force, fraud, or coercion as defined in RCW 9A.36.070 will be used to cause the person to engage in: forced labor; involuntary servitude. [1]
  • Sex trafficking: is the recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, or obtaining of a person for the purposes of a commercial sex act, in which the commercial sex act is induced by force, fraud, or coercion. [2]
  • Commercial sexual abuse of a minor — Consent of minor does not constitute defense.

A person is guilty of commercial sexual abuse of a minor if:
(a) He or she provides anything of value to a minor or a third person as compensation for a minor having engaged in sexual conduct with him or her;
(b) He or she provides or agrees to provide anything of value to a minor or a third person pursuant to an understanding that in return therefore such minor will engage in sexual conduct with him or her; or (c) He or she solicits, offers, or requests to engage in sexual conduct with a minor in return for a fee[3]

[1] RCW 9A.40.100
[2] Ibid
[3] RCW 9A.20

While we don’t “hear” about labor trafficking and there aren’t many trainings, resources or discussions about this issue- it is occurring, more than likely, at a similar level as sex trafficking.

Individuals who have experienced labor trafficking in our state are legal residents, foreign nationals youth and adults. Examples include:

  • Individuals brought to the U.S. (legally and illegally) by trusted friends or family members for employment and a promise of safety, education and a home to live in,
  • Individuals who are here legally to work and then
  • Traffickers took their identification, documents and/or falsified documents, took any cash they had, took their phone and used threats, shame, isolation, withholding of basic needs to force individuals to work and to “pay” back money owed to the trafficker for food, rent and other “expenses”.

Human Trafficking occurs in a variety of industries including but not limited to, hotels and motels, goat and sheep herding, construction, domestic work (nannies, house cleaners), agriculture, restaurants, forestry and slaughterhouses. Labor and sex trafficking are occurring in rural areas, large cities and small towns.

Traffickers use a “business model” to make money. Traffickers can be male, female, strangers, trusted friends and family members. They use a variety of tactics to manipulate individuals and families by exploiting their vulnerabilities in order to “sell the dream”. Vulnerabilities include an individual’s basic physiological needs such as food, shelter, financial support to meet basic needs of their family and other needs.  Traffickers also target needs related to safety, security, love and belonging. Tactics include violence, threats and lies, isolation, promises of employment and promises of love and support to name a few. 

Individuals who experience poverty, oppression, have limited to no supports such as family and friends and a history of trauma are at higher risk. Trafficking victims also include foreign nationals and U.S. citizens, males, females, individuals who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning and two-spirit (LGBTQ2+), children, youth, adults and elderly. Boys and men experience labor and sex trafficking. Research demonstrates the proportion of males who experience sex trafficking is about equal to the proportion of females who experience sex trafficking.

HT Risk Factors

Click on picture to enlarge

Data on labor and sex trafficking is difficult to capture and sometimes doesn’t exist. Individuals who have experienced labor and/or sex trafficking do not know that what has or is happening to them is a “crime”. Generally, individuals do not identify as “victims” or “survivors”. Traffickers use a variety of threats such as violence, shame, isolation, withholding of basic needs (food, water) to create barriers so individuals will not share what has or is happening to them. As a  result, individuals don’t share their experience, don’t seek or have access to support.

Share this Post