審查家庭暴力意識和預防月

  • 17 月2019, XNUMX

家庭暴力意識和預防-2019年XNUMX月l

安全地方

]  家庭暴力意識

在25月份,SafePlace與Equal Latin合作。 Equal Latin是最近在奧林匹亞市中心開業的一家餐廳,提供拉丁風味的菜餚。 本月,SafePlace能夠向Equal Latin提供條形過山車,活動掛圖交談入門和為兒童塗色頁。 XNUMX月XNUMX日,SafePlace的工作人員設置了一個帶有捐款箱的小信息表,與他們在午餐時間和晚餐時間走進Equal Latin的顧客進行交談。 在此事件中脫穎而出的是知道或聽說過SafePlace的個人數量。 人們似乎真的很喜歡現有的小冊子和資源。 我們將與眾不同的一件事是晚飯時間事件的外觀。 我們意識到那些時間很忙,並且由於信息表沒有那麼有用。 在那段時間裡,我們希望舉辦一場生動有趣的活動,以不同的方式吸引客戶。 

此次活動的聯絡點是Joanna Zapien和Esmeralda Triplett。 可以通過SafePlace的業務辦公室360-786-8754與他們聯繫。

基督教女青年會克拉克縣

信息就是力量

在日常工作中支持家庭暴力倖存者

DV 101服務提供商

 在今年的DVAM中,我們為社區合作夥伴提供了“家庭暴力101”培訓,這些培訓還為社區中的人們提供直接服務。 我們經常收到此類演示的請求,並很高興為服務提供商創造時間學習如何更有效地支持家庭暴力倖存者。 參加培訓的人員還對家庭暴力的不同方面以及我們的計劃如何為倖存者提供了更全面的了解。 此外,我們還舉辦了“ In Her Shoes”活動,以促進參與者之間的同理心。 練習後,參與者對倖存者的日常生活表示震驚和敬畏。 總體反饋是積極的,參與者很高興有機會了解更多有關家庭暴力以及如何將其客戶與我們的計劃聯繫起來的機會。

有意義的電影

愛來襲

有意義的電影-LoveStruck

在DVAM期間,我們與當地的分會合作 有意義的電影 in Ridgefield, Washington to screen LoveStruck, a three-part documentary about domestic violence survivors.在華盛頓州里奇菲爾德(Ridgefield)放映《愛情打擊》(LoveStruck),這是一部由三部分組成的關於家庭暴力倖存者的紀錄片。 Following the screening, we hosted a panel featuring advocates from our program and Pathways to Healing.放映後,我們主持了一個小組討論,由來自我們計劃和“康復之路”的倡導者組成。 The panel discussion was made into a podcast, which can be accessed at this link:小組討論被製作成一個播客,可通過以下鏈接訪問: https://crisiscycling.blogspot.com/2019/11/mmr-domestic-violence-podcast.html.

Local law enforcement also ran a DVAM campaign during the month to raise awareness in the community.本月,當地執法部門還開展了DVAM運動,以提高社區的知名度。 Our program collaborated to provide trainings to officers about the services our program provides, as well as how to connect survivors with our services.我們的計劃合作為人員提供了有關我們計劃提供的服務以及如何將倖存者與我們的服務聯繫起來的培訓。 Advocates provided training to nearly 100 patrol officers who work across the city.擁護者為全市近XNUMX名巡邏人員提供了培訓。 We received positive feedback for our trainings, as well as appreciation for answering questions and offering resources during the trainings.我們的培訓收到了積極的反饋,並感謝您在培訓期間回答問題和提供資源。 

華盛頓州反對家庭暴力聯盟

WSCADV活動包括:

西澳大利亞州峽谷行動計劃,《和平生活計劃》

  • 和平生活計劃在城鎮主要街道上的樹木和電線桿上綁上紫色絲帶,每張弓上都貼有層壓紙,說明其含義。
  • 他們用動力和控制輪以及一些DV事實懸掛在窗戶上。
  • 他們在Goldendale舉行了一次活動,分發了DV贓物和信息手冊。 他們還在克利基塔特(Klickitat)舉行了一個活動,在那裡張貼傳單和小冊子。
  • 和平生活計劃製作了在活動中分發的鈕扣和緞帶,並每週將圖片上傳到其Facebook頁面。

SAFE聖胡安

SAFE San Juans舉辦了家庭暴力無聲證人表演和守夜活動。 這些顯示旨在紀念41年在華盛頓州因家庭暴力行為而喪生的2018名華盛頓州人。SAFE San Juans邀請守夜的參與者走在這些人物中間,並在現場提供的日記中寫下他們的想法。 舉行了三個守夜儀式; 一處在Orcas島上,一處在洛佩茲島上,一處在聖胡安島上。

無聲證人保持警惕的鏈接

指向有關DV意識月的另一篇文章的鏈接 通過Safe San 胡安的 員工 

 

支援中心

 

支持中心在整個5月內舉辦了XNUMX次活動,以通過採取行動打擊家庭暴力來傳播意識。

10/3 – DVAM開幕活動
10/7 – DVAM Love喜歡這個社區合作
10/14 – DVAM在她的鞋子社區合作中
10/21 – DVAM如何幫助社區合作
10/18 – DVAM社區遊行與開放日

有抽獎獎品,茶點和社區。

受虐聾婦女宣傳服務

Ecotherapy

一個簡短的會議,討論應對創傷的多種治療方法。 這涉及到討論,冥想,儀式和茶道。 所有這些使參與者能夠與自己和自然聯繫起來。 該事件收到的反饋總體是積極的。 

受害者支持團隊培訓@西雅圖警察局

培訓有關家庭暴力的內容以及一般信息,包括聾人社區內家庭暴力的動態以及了解統計數據。 這涉及與HSDC(聽力言語和聾人中心)合作,以共享有關如何應對情況的口譯人員信息。 反饋:參與其中的志願者非常感謝這些信息並學到了很多東西。 對於是否必須與聾人一起處理緊急情況,他們感到更有信心。

DVAM神話

每週的錄像帶打破了家庭暴力神話。 反饋:基於回應和高度參與,這對於傳播信息至關重要。 處理人們過去曾說過的某些事情,甚至我們自己可能已經說過或看到某人說的事情肯定會產生更大的影響。 

人類反應網絡

人類響應網絡的DVAM活動包括“節慶”滾輪德比錦標賽。

YWCA斯波坎

YWCA斯波坎舉辦了許多活動,包括:

  • 點燃斯波坎,蒸汽廠用紫色的煙囪點燃煙囪,YWCA斯波坎鼓勵企業和個人這樣做,向社區中許多沉默寡言的受害者表明他們並不孤單。
  • 粉筆散步,十月的每個星期一,當地機構,企業和個人都花一點時間在斯波坎的人行道上寫東西,向家庭暴力的受害者和倖存者表示支持。
  • Sweet Frostings Blissful Bakeshop的End The Silence曲奇在整個XNUMX月份都在銷售。 A portion of the proceeds were to go directly to support YWCA Spokane's End The Silence movement.收益的一部分將直接用於支持基督教女青年會斯波坎的“消極沉默”運動。

https://ywcaspokane.org/end-the-silence-2019/

聖詹姆斯家庭中心/夏洛特宮

聖詹姆斯家庭中心的活動包括:

·         擁有30多家企業(主要在大街上)的企業通過在窗戶上顯示紫色燈光以及張貼海報來參與。 還會顯示紫色絲帶和紫色風車。

·         在咖啡袖上創建帶有聯繫信息的標籤,並將其提供給當地的咖啡店,並為當地餐館創建餐桌帳篷。

·         與當地的高中足球隊和啦啦隊一起工作,穿著紫色的運動褲,絨球和紫色的臉彩。 標語被顯示,播音員在中場休息時提到夏洛特之家以解釋他們提供的服務。

·         用DVAM信息和Charlotte House的聯繫信息創建書籤,然後將它們交給圖書館分發。

生命線

LifeWire的DVAM活動包括:

  • 參加幾個小型籌款活動
  • 在宣布十月DVAM的六個城市進行演講,並與城市進行協調以分享有關他們可以如何幫助結束DV的信息。
  • 最大的事件是他們每年的早餐籌款活動,其中有倖存者演講,以及有關倖存者為何難以離開虐待性關係的視頻。

鏈接到視頻

基督教青年會皮爾斯縣

YWCA皮爾斯縣活動包括:

  • 舉辦“希望之鄉”活動,邀請邀請董事會成員和捐助者的人在當地的水坑里度過一個夜晚。 當晚訂購的每杯啤酒,企業都會向YWCA捐款1美元。 該活動向所有性別開放,但許多男人參加,活動期間,一位主持人談到了男人關心家庭暴力及其參與方式的重要性。
  • 另一個事件是三重T:巡迴賽,敬酒和品嚐。 這是YWCA的一個公開活動,旨在向參觀者展示Y所提供的服務和支持的範圍。這裡有不同的茶點,開胃菜和甜點,還設置了咖啡站,以使YWCA的計劃有趣而內容豐富區域,例如法律程序,兒童程序等。有關YWCA的歷史和程序的信息已由幾位工作人員發表。 這是讓社區成員深入了解皮爾斯縣基督教女青年會的工作和使命的好方法。

Whatcom縣的家庭暴力和性侵犯服務 

點擊海報圖片放大

緊急支援收容所–霍利茨

以下是緊急支援庇護所(ESS)在年度燭光守夜活動中舉行的活動,以紀念因家庭暴力而喪生的人,並向社區宣傳:

  • 一位家庭暴力偵探是特邀發言人,一個倖存者講述了他們的故事。
  • 代理商小組朗誦了由他們的法律代言人撰寫的口語詩歌。
  • 守夜的記憶椅上寫著一首詩,描繪了因家庭暴力而喪生的人。
  • 與事件參與者分享了有關其社區內暴力影響的詳細信息和統計數據
  • 為了鼓勵人們做出積極的改變,我們為那些想加入社交媒體的人們推廣了#1Thing挑戰和#1Thing“自拍照”站。
  • 展出了許多倖存者創作的藝術品
  • 傍晚時分,Lauren Daigle的You Say和一首互動歌曲分享了沉默。
分享這個帖子

Domestic Violence Awareness and Prevention Month In Review

  • December 17, 2019

Domestic Violence Awareness and Prevention - October 2019l

SafePlace

]  Domestic Violence Awareness

For the month of October, SafePlace collaborated with Equal Latin. Equal Latin is a restaurant that recently opened in downtown Olympia that serves Latin inspired dishes. SafePlace was able to provide bar coasters, flip chart conversation starters and kids coloring pages to Equal Latin for the month. On Oct. 25, staff from SafePlace set up a small informational table with a donation box to talk to customers as they walked into Equal Latin during the lunch hours and dinner hours. The thing that stood out during this event was the amount of individuals that knew or had heard of SafePlace. People seemed to really enjoy the brochures that were available and the resources. One thing that we would do differently is the way the event looked during the dinner hours. We realized that those hours were pretty busy and due to that an informational table was not as useful. We would love to do a livelier event during that time to engage customers in different ways. 

The points of contacts for this event were Joanna Zapien and Esmeralda Triplett. They can be reached at SafePlace’s business office at 360-786-8754.

YWCA Clark County

Information is Power

Supporting Domestic Violence Survivors in Your Everyday Work

DV 101 for Service Providers

 During DVAM this year, we provided a ‘Domestic Violence 101’ training to community partners that also provide direct service work to people in our community. We often get requests for this type of presentation and were happy to create a time for service providers to learn how to more effectively support domestic violence survivors. Participants in the training also gained a more comprehensive understanding of the different facets of domestic violence and how our program can support survivors. In addition, we ran “In Her Shoes” to promote empathy-building among the participants. After this exercise, the participants expressed shock and awe at the day-to-day lives of survivors. The overall feedback was positive and participants were grateful for the chance to learn more about domestic violence and how to connect their clients to our program.

Meaningful Movies

Lovestruck

Meaningful Movies- LoveStruck

During DVAM, we partnered with our local chapter of Meaningful Movies in Ridgefield, Washington to screen LoveStruck, a three-part documentary about domestic violence survivors. Following the screening, we hosted a panel featuring advocates from our program and Pathways to Healing. The panel discussion was made into a podcast, which can be accessed at this link: https://crisiscycling.blogspot.com/2019/11/mmr-domestic-violence-podcast.html.

Local law enforcement also ran a DVAM campaign during the month to raise awareness in the community. Our program collaborated to provide trainings to officers about the services our program provides, as well as how to connect survivors with our services. Advocates provided training to nearly 100 patrol officers who work across the city. We received positive feedback for our trainings, as well as appreciation for answering questions and offering resources during the trainings. 

Washington State Coalition Against Domestic Violence

WSCADV activities included:

Programs for Peaceful Living, WA Gorge Action Programs

  • Programs for Peaceful Living tied purple ribbons on trees and poles down main street in town with laminated paper on each bow stating what it stands for.
  • They hung window displays with the power and control wheel, as well as some DV facts.
  • They held an event in Goldendale where DV swag as well as informational brochures were handed out.  They also held an event in Klickitat where they posted flyers and brochures.
  • Programs for Peaceful Living made buttons and ribbons that were be handed out at the events and pictures were uploaded onto their facebook page weekly.

SAFE San Juans

SAFE San Juans hosted Domestic Violence Silent Witness Displays and Vigils. These displays are meant to honor the 41 people in Washington State who were killed in acts of domestic violence in Washington State in 2018.  SAFE San Juans invited vigil participants to walk among the figures and write their thoughts in a journal provided on-site. Three vigils were held; one on Orcas Island, one on Lopez Island, and one on San Juan Island.

The link to the silent witness vigil

A link to another article written for DV awareness month by Safe San Juan’s staff 

 

The Support Center

 

The Support Center hosted 5 events throughout the month of October in order to spread awareness by taking action against Domestic Violence.

10/3 – DVAM Opening Event
10/7 – DVAM Love Like This Community Collaboration
10/14 – DVAM In her Shoes Community Collaboration
10/21 – DVAM How to Help Community Collaboration
10/18 – DVAM Community March &Open House

There were raffle prizes, refreshments, and community.

Abused Deaf Women’s Advocacy Services

Ecotherapy

A short session to address multiple healing methods to cope with Trauma.  This Involved a discussion, meditation, ritual, and tea ceremony.  All of these which allowed participants to connect with themselves and nature.  Feedback received for this event was generally positive. 

Victim support team Training @Seattle Police Department

Training on what domestic violence is along with general information including the dynamics of domestic violence within the deaf community and knowing the statistics.  This involved working with HSDC (Hearing Speech and Deaf Center) to share information regarding how to work with interpreters if responding to a situation.  Feedback: The volunteers who were a part of this really appreciated the information and learned a lot.  They feel a lot more confident in terms of if they had to handle an emergency with deaf individuals.

DVAM Myths

Weekly videos busting Domestic Violence Myths.  Feedback: Based on the responses and the high engagement, this was vital to spreading the word.  Addressing certain things that people have said in the past that even us ourselves might have said or seen someone say definitely has a bigger impact. 

Human Response Network

Human Response Network’s DVAM events included “Knocktoberfest” Roller Derby Tournament.

YWCA Spokane

YWCA Spokane hosted many events including:

  • Light Up Spokane where the Steam Plant lights up their smokestacks purple and YWCA Spokane encourages businesses and individuals alike to do the same to show the many silenced victims in their community that they are not alone.
  • Chalk walk where every Monday in October local agencies, businesses and individuals take a moment to write on sidewalks across Spokane to show support to victims and survivors of domestic violence.
  • Sweet Frostings Blissful Bakeshop had End The Silence cookies for sale through the entire month of October. A portion of the proceeds were to go directly to support YWCA Spokane’s End The Silence movement.

https://ywcaspokane.org/end-the-silence-2019/

St. James Family Center/The Charlotte House

St. James Family Center activities included:

·         Having over 30 businesses (mostly on Main Street) participate by displaying purple lights in their windows along with a poster.  Also purple ribbons, and purple pinwheels are displayed.

·         Creating labels with their contact information on coffee sleeves and supplied those to the local coffee shops and creating table tents for local restaurants.

·         Working with the local high school football team and cheerleaders, in which purple sweatbands, pom poms, and purple face paint was worn.  Banners were displayed and the announcer mentioned the Charlotte House at half time to explain the services they provide.

·         Creating bookmarks with DVAM information and Charlotte House contact information and give them to the library to hand out.

LifeWire

LifeWire’s DVAM activities included:

  • Participation in several small fundraisers
  • Speaking engagements at six cities that proclaimed October DVAM and coordination with cities to share information about what they can do to help end DV.
  • The biggest event was their annual Breakfast fundraiser which featured a survivor speaker and the video on why it’s so hard for survivors to leave abusive relationships.

Link to video

YWCA Pierce County

YWCA Pierce County activities included:

  • Hosting a Hops for Hope event in which they invite men that are board members and donors to host an evening at a local water hole. Every beer ordered that night, the establishment donates $1 back to the YWCA.  The event was open to all genders, but many men attend and during the event, one host spoke about the importance of men caring about domestic violence and ways they can get involved.
  • Another event was the Triple T: Tour, Toast, and Tastes.  It was an open house event at the YWCA  designed to show visitors an overview of the range of services and supports provided by the Y. There were different refreshment, appetizer and dessert, coffee stops set up for a fun and informative tour of the YWCA’s program areas e.g. legal program, children’s program, etc.   Information about the YWCA’s history and programs was covered by several staff speakers.  It was a great way for community members to get a deeper look into the work and mission of the YWCA of Pierce County.

Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Services of Whatcom County 

Click on poster images to enlarge

Emergency Support Shelter – Cowlitz County

Below is a list of the activities that the Emergency Support Shelter (ESS) held during their annual Candlelight Vigil to commemorate those who have lost their lives due to Domestic Violence and to bring awareness to their community:

  • A Domestic Violence Detective was the Guest Speaker and a Survivor told their story.
  • The Agency Team recited Spoken Word poetry that was written by their Legal Advocate.
  • There was a Memory Chair at the vigil that represented the lives lost to domestic violence along with a poem.
  • Detail and statistics were shared with event attendees on the impact of violence within their community
  • To encourage action to make positive changes, a #1Thing challenge was promoted along with a #1Thing “selfie” station for those that wanted to participate on social media.
  • Artwork created by many of their Survivors was displayed
  • At the end of the evening a moment of silence was shared along with an interactive song by Lauren Daigle, You Say.
Share this Post