مكتب سلامة الأسلحة النارية ومنع العنف

أنشأت الهيئة التشريعية مكتب سلامة الأسلحة النارية ومنع العنف في عام 2020 لتوفير القيادة والتنسيق والمساعدة الفنية على مستوى الولاية لتعزيز الجهود الحكومية والمحلية الفعالة للحد من الإصابات والوفيات التي يمكن الوقاية منها بسبب عنف الأسلحة النارية. يعمل المكتب مع الكيانات الحكومية ووكالات إنفاذ القانون والمنظمات المجتمعية والأفراد من خلال الدولة لتنفيذ السياسات والاستراتيجيات والتدخلات القائمة على الأدلة للحد من آثار العنف باستخدام الأسلحة النارية في مجتمعات واشنطن. (الفصل 43.330A RCW)

تم إطلاق مكتب سلامة الأسلحة النارية ومنع العنف في مارس 2021 مع التركيز على العنف المجتمعي باستخدام الأسلحة النارية. يُعرَّف عنف المجتمع المحلي (ويسمى أيضًا في المناطق الحضرية) بأنه عنف شخصي خطير وقاتل يحدث في الشارع. في واشنطن وأماكن أخرى ، يكون للعنف المجتمعي باستخدام الأسلحة النارية تأثير غير متناسب بشكل كبير على المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمجتمعات الملونة ، مع تعرض الشباب الملونين للخطر بشكل خاص. يفرض هذا العنف خسائر جسدية وعاطفية ومالية عالية على العائلات والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء الولاية. يعتبر عنف المجتمع باستخدام السلاح مشكلة خاصة للغاية مع حلول خاصة وراسخة.

تشمل خدمات وأنشطة مكتب سلامة الأسلحة النارية ومنع العنف ما يلي:

  • تنسيق تنفيذ استراتيجيات التدخل والوقاية القائمة على العنف باستخدام الأسلحة النارية في المجتمعات المحلية في جميع أنحاء الولاية.
  • تسهيل تبادل المعلومات عبر الولايات القضائية وكذلك التعلم من نظير إلى نظير من خلال الاجتماعات والزيارات الميدانية والندوات عبر الإنترنت والمكالمات الجماعية.
  • تقديم التدريب والمساعدة الفنية من الخبراء المعترف بهم وطنيا.
  • تحديد مصادر البيانات المتاحة ، وطرق جمع البيانات وآليات مشاركة البيانات وتحسينها.
  • إصدار إرشادات أفضل الممارسات والعمليات النموذجية.
  • إدارة برنامج منحة التدخل ومنع العنف باستخدام الأسلحة النارية.
  • تنسيق أجهزة الدولة.

في كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 2021 ، سيقدم المكتب تقريرًا إلى لجان السياسات التشريعية المناسبة بشأن التقدم المحرز والنتائج في تحليل البيانات ، ووضع استراتيجيات لمنع العنف باستخدام الأسلحة النارية ، وتوصيات بشأن خيارات سياسية تشريعية إضافية.

نهج قائم على البيانات للحد من عنف السلاح

يتطلب الحد من عنف المجتمع باستخدام السلاح سياسات واستراتيجيات مختلفة عن الأشكال الأخرى للعنف المسلح مثل الانتحار أو العنف المنزلي. البيانات ضرورية للمساعدة في تحديد المجتمعات التي تعاني من ارتفاع معدلات جرائم القتل. وسيعمل المكتب مع تلك المجتمعات للتنسيق والمساعدة في تنفيذ استراتيجيات الوقاية القائمة على الأدلة.

خريطة WA لجرائم القتل المرتبطة بالأسلحة النارية
تُظهر خريطة الحرارة هذه الأماكن التي يوجد بها تركيز أعلى لجرائم القتل المرتبطة بالأسلحة النارية في واشنطن (بناءً على مكان إقامة الضحية). بيانات من 2016-2019. المصدر: وزارة الصحة بواشنطن ، مركز الإحصاءات الصحية.

مكتب سلامة الأسلحة النارية ومنع العنف

مصادر

اتصل بنا

كيت كيلي
مدير
مكتب سلامة الأسلحة النارية ومنع العنف
kate.kelly@commerce.wa.gov
360-628-6846

تحديثات البريد الإلكتروني

للتسجيل للحصول على التحديثات أو للوصول إلى تفضيلات المشترك الخاصة بك ، يرجى إدخال معلومات الاتصال الخاصة بك أدناه.

Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention

The Legislature created the Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention in 2020 to provide statewide leadership, coordination and technical assistance to promote effective state and local efforts to reduce preventable injuries and deaths from firearm violence. The office works with government entities, law enforcement agencies, community-based organizations and individuals through the state to implement evidence-based policies, strategies and interventions to reduce the impacts of firearm violence in Washington’s communities. (Ch. 43.330A RCW)

The Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention launched in March 2021 with a focus on community gun violence. Community (also called urban) gun violence is defined as serious, potentially lethal interpersonal violence that occurs on the street. In Washington and elsewhere, community gun violence has a dramatically disproportionate impact on low-income communities and communities of color, with young men of color being particularly vulnerable. This violence imposes a high physical, emotional, and financial toll on families and communities across the state. Community gun violence is a very particular problem with very particular, well-established solutions.

The services and activities of the Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention include:

  • Coordinating the implementation of evidence-based firearm violence intervention and prevention strategies in communities across the state.
  • Facilitating cross-jurisdictional information sharing as well as peer-to-peer learning with meetings, site visits, webinars and conference calls.
  • Offering training and technical assistance from nationally recognized experts.
  • Identifying and improving upon available data sources, data collection methods and data-sharing mechanisms.
  • Issuing best practices guidance and model processes.
  • Administering a firearm violence intervention and prevention grant program.
  • Coordinating state agencies.

In Dec. 2021, the office will report to the appropriate legislative policy committees on its progress and findings in analyzing data, developing strategies to prevent firearm violence, and recommendations for additional legislative policy options.

A data-driven approach to reducing gun violence

Reducing community gun violence requires different policies and strategies than other forms of gun violence such as suicide or domestic violence. Data is crucial for helping identify which communities are experiencing higher rates of homicides. The office will work with those communities to coordinate and help implement evidence-based prevention strategies.

WA map of firearm-related homicides
This heat map shows where there is a higher concentration of firearm-related homicides in Washington (based on the residence of the victim). Data from 2016-2019. Source: Washington Dept. of Health, Center for Health Statistics.

Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention

Resources

Contact

Kate Kelly
Director
Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention
kate.kelly@commerce.wa.gov
360-628-6846

Email updates

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.