槍支安全與暴力預防辦公室

立法機關於2020年成立了槍支安全和暴力預防辦公室,以提供全州的領導,協調和技術援助,以促進州和地方的有效努力,以減少槍支暴力可預防的傷害和死亡。 該辦公室通過州與政府實體,執法機構,社區組織和個人合作,實施基於證據的政策,策略和乾預措施,以減少槍支暴力對華盛頓社區的影響。 (頻道43.330A RCW)

槍支安全和暴力預防辦公室於2021年XNUMX月成立,重點是社區槍支暴力。 社區(也稱為城市)槍支暴力被定義為在街上發生的嚴重的,可能致命的人際暴力。 在華盛頓和其他地方,社區槍支暴力對低收入社區和有色人種造成了嚴重的不成比例的影響,有色人種尤其容易受到傷害。 這種暴力行為給全州的家庭和社區造成了巨大的身體,情感和經濟損失。 社區槍支暴力是一個非常特殊的問題,其解決方案非常特殊且行之有效。

槍支安全和暴力預防辦公室的服務和活動包括:

  • 協調全州社區實施基於證據的槍支暴力干預和預防策略。
  • 通過會議,現場訪問,網絡研討會和電話會議,促進跨轄區的信息共享以及對等學習。
  • 提供由國家認可的專家提供的培訓和技術援助。
  • 確定和改進可用的數據源,數據收集方法和數據共享機制。
  • 發布最佳實踐指南和模型流程。
  • 管理槍支暴力干預和預防補助計劃。
  • 協調國家機構。

該辦公室將於2021年XNUMX月向有關的立法政策委員會報告其在分析數據,制定預防槍支暴力的戰略以及其他立法政策選擇建議方面的進展和發現。

以數據為導向的減少槍支暴力的方法

減少社區槍支暴力與其他形式的槍支暴力(例如自殺或家庭暴力)相比,需要採取不同的政策和策略。 數據對於幫助確定哪些社區的兇殺案發生率至關重要。 該辦公室將與這些社區合作,以協調和幫助實施基於證據的預防策略。

槍支兇殺熱圖
該熱圖顯示了華盛頓(與受害者的住所有關)在與槍支相關的兇殺案集中度較高的地方。 2016年至2020年的數據。 資料來源:華盛頓衛生統計中心衛生統計中心。
居住縣
國王261
刺穿142
亞基馬109
斯諾克米西62
斯波坎42
Alice41
瑟斯頓26
本頓19
授予15
傑薩普14
庫里茨12
格雷斯港12
斯卡吉特11
劉易斯10
表 1:2016 年至 2020 年按居住縣分列的槍支兇殺案。包括 10 年至 2016 年發生超過 2020 起案件的縣(上次更新時間為 6 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日)。

槍支安全與暴力預防辦公室

資源

聯絡我們

凱特·凱利
董事
槍支安全與暴力預防辦公室
kate.kelly@commerce.wa.gov
360-628-6846

電子郵件更新

要註冊更新或訪問您的訂戶首選項,請在下面輸入您的聯繫信息。

Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention

The Legislature created the Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention in 2020 to provide statewide leadership, coordination and technical assistance to promote effective state and local efforts to reduce preventable injuries and deaths from firearm violence. The office works with government entities, law enforcement agencies, community-based organizations and individuals through the state to implement evidence-based policies, strategies and interventions to reduce the impacts of firearm violence in Washington’s communities. (Ch. 43.330A RCW)

The Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention launched in March 2021 with a focus on community gun violence. Community (also called urban) gun violence is defined as serious, potentially lethal interpersonal violence that occurs on the street. In Washington and elsewhere, community gun violence has a dramatically disproportionate impact on low-income communities and communities of color, with young men of color being particularly vulnerable. This violence imposes a high physical, emotional, and financial toll on families and communities across the state. Community gun violence is a very particular problem with very particular, well-established solutions.

The services and activities of the Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention include:

  • Coordinating the implementation of evidence-based firearm violence intervention and prevention strategies in communities across the state.
  • Facilitating cross-jurisdictional information sharing as well as peer-to-peer learning with meetings, site visits, webinars and conference calls.
  • Offering training and technical assistance from nationally recognized experts.
  • Identifying and improving upon available data sources, data collection methods and data-sharing mechanisms.
  • Issuing best practices guidance and model processes.
  • Administering a firearm violence intervention and prevention grant program.
  • Coordinating state agencies.

In Dec. 2021, the office will report to the appropriate legislative policy committees on its progress and findings in analyzing data, developing strategies to prevent firearm violence, and recommendations for additional legislative policy options.

A data-driven approach to reducing gun violence

Reducing community gun violence requires different policies and strategies than other forms of gun violence such as suicide or domestic violence. Data is crucial for helping identify which communities are experiencing higher rates of homicides. The office will work with those communities to coordinate and help implement evidence-based prevention strategies.

WA map of firearm-related homicides
This heat map shows where there is a higher concentration of firearm-related homicides in Washington (based on the residence of the victim). Data from 2016-2019. Source: Washington Dept. of Health, Center for Health Statistics.

Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention

Resources

Contact

Kate Kelly
Director
Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention
kate.kelly@commerce.wa.gov
360-628-6846

Email updates

To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.