华盛顿可再生能源投资组合标准下可再生资源的地理资格

  • 八月 6, 2018

Glenn Blackmon博士

华盛顿的《能源独立法》(EIA)要求,一定规模的电力公司必须使用可再生资源来提供其向零售客户提供的部分能源。 EIA为可再生资源中的公用事业提供了灵活性,可用于满足此要求。 但是,像其他所有州可再生能源投资组合标准(RPS)一样,EIA也包括对资格的限制。 不仅有任何可再生资源都符合EIA的资格。 本文介绍了环境影响评估中可再生资源资格的地理限制。

地理资格的基本标准是,可再生资源必须来自西北太平洋地区的发电设施。 那么什么是“西北太平洋”? 蒙大拿州进出还是进出? 它包括不列颠哥伦比亚省吗? 公用事业公司可以使用怀俄明州的风能资源还是内华达州的地热资源?

商务人员经常收到类似的问题,随着越来越多的公司开始向公用事业和消费者提供可再生能源的业务,问题的数量似乎随着时间的流逝而增加。

“西北太平洋”定义:水文,历史和州界的复杂组合

在EIA法规中查找地理资格定义的任何人(第19.285条RCW)会发现答案不在州法律中。 在创建EIA时,它使用了从 1980年联邦法律 成立了太平洋西北电力与保护规划委员会。

这个联邦定义是各种农村电力合作社的政治边界,水文边界和传统服务区域的复杂混合。 这是联邦法律的完整定义:

“西北太平洋”,“区域”或“区域”是指-

(A)包括俄勒冈州,华盛顿州和爱达荷州,大陆分界线以西的蒙大拿州的部分以及内华达州,犹他州和怀俄明州的部分区域,包括哥伦比亚河排泄区盆地; 和

(B)距主管机关75年5月1980日服务的农村电力合作社客户服务区域的一部分的,与(A)项所述区域相距不超过XNUMX海里的连续区域,它有一个分配系统,既可以在该区域内也可以不在该区域内使用。

该定义最明显的部分是指特定的政治界限:华盛顿,俄勒冈州和爱达荷州的整个州都有资格。 这些州任何地方的任何可再生发电机组都符合地理资格标准。 同样,该定义排除了加拿大的任何项目,因为仅包括州或州的部分地区。

从那里开始,定义变得更加复杂。 它依赖于哥伦比亚河流域的物理边界,该边界既包括哥伦比亚河本身,也包括直接或间接流入该河流的所有河流。 该边界将足够复杂,但随后将通过“连续区域”条款加以扩展。 这项规定增加了1980年以前任何农村电力合作社为客户服务的区域,只要该区域距河流边界不超过75英里即可。

EIA地理边界仅包括怀俄明州,内华达州,犹他州和加利福尼亚州的一小部分

EIA的地理定义是如此复杂,以至于很少有人会理解。 它特别提到了七个州,这使得合格地区看起来比实际范围更广。

这种误解在怀俄明州,内华达州,犹他州和加利福尼亚州最为常见。 定义中提到了这些状态,但是实际的合格区域实际上很小。 例如,在加利福尼亚州,它只是该州最东北角的区域, 惊奇谷电气化公司。 是本地实用程序。 这四个州中的大多数不在EIA的地理资格范围之内。

BPA的客户地图是我们地理区域的最佳指南

西北太平洋地区定义中最复杂的部分与Bonneville电力管理局(BPA)的公用事业客户的服务区域相连。 因此,商务部发现BPA的客户服务区地图为确定地面上的特定地点是在正式的“太平洋西北地区”内部还是外部提供了最佳指南。 BPA的制图师团队(或地理信息系统专家)制作了一张概述服务区域的地图。 这里显示了快照,但是使用地图的最佳方法是 ,使用缩放功能检查特定位置。 (选择“ BPA服务区域”层,然后取消选择其他任何内容。)

BPA地图

BPA客户地图

用户应牢记 法律免责声明 BPA客户地图附带了这些信息,但是它提供了关于华盛顿EIA中的内容和内容的最佳可用信息。

即使这个复杂的“西北太平洋”定义也有例外

整理地理资格的另一个挑战是,在某些情况下,“西北太平洋”边界实际上并不重要。 这些例外是:

管道和运河中的水力发电设施–这些项目的地理资格仅限于华盛顿的设施。

多州公用事业公司–在华盛顿州以外的州经营的公用事业公司可以在有客户的其他州使用可再生资源。 例如,PacifiCorp使用了怀俄明州项目的风能,这些项目位于太平洋西北边界以外。 该规定不适用于水力设施,公用事业必须拥有或具有可再生资源的长期购买电力合同。

实时输送到华盛顿的电力–如果“电力在不进行整形,存储或集成服务的情况下实时输送到华盛顿州,则地理边界不适用”。 该规定不适用于水力设施。

实时交付例外非常不可思议,EIA法规未定义此处使用的任何术语。 但是,商务部发布了 咨询意见 在2016年将该条款与电力公司用于管理电力传输系统的技术联系起来。 它提供了一种方法,项目所有者和华盛顿公用事业公司可以使用该方法来限定EIA下的区域外资源。 一种 最近的一项研究 BPA及其合作伙伴得出的结论是,使用这种方法,开发商可能会在蒙大拿州东部建设风能项目,并有资格将实时的电力实时输送到华盛顿,这将符合华盛顿的EIA。

更简单的定义会有所帮助

BPA映射是有用的资源,但更好的定义是不太复杂的定义。 对于开发新的可再生能源项目的公司来说,这个定义是不透明的,甚至华盛顿公用事业公司的员工也经常需要帮助来确定哪些是合格的,哪些是不合格的。 很难得出关于加利福尼亚,犹他州,内华达州,怀俄明州或蒙大拿州的资源是否合格的错误结论。

拥有如此复杂的地理边界也很难看到任何为公共目的服务的事情。 对地理资格的限制旨在支持合理接近华盛顿客户的可再生资源的开发。 该目的可以通过基于状态线的简单边界来实现。 例如,地理资格边界可能包括华盛顿州,俄勒冈州,爱达荷州和蒙大拿州的整个州。 这将删除内华达州,犹他州,加利福尼亚州和怀俄明州的一小部分,同时增加蒙大拿州的东面。

分享这篇文章

Geographic Eligibility of Renewable Resources under the Washington Renewable Portfolio Standard

August 6, 2018|Energy Blog

By Glenn Blackmon, Ph.D.

Washington’s Energy Independence Act (EIA) requires that electric utilities over a certain size use renewable resources for a portion of the energy that they deliver to their retail customers. The EIA provides flexibility to utilities in the renewable resources that they can use to meet this requirement. However, like every other state renewable portfolio standard (RPS), the EIA also includes limitations on eligibility. Not just any renewable resource is eligible under the EIA. This article explains the geographic limits on renewable resource eligibility under the EIA.

The basic standard for geographic eligibility is that the renewable resource must be from a generating facility in the Pacific Northwest. So what is the “Pacific Northwest”? Is Montana in or out? Does it include British Columbia? Can a utility use a wind resource in Wyoming or a geothermal resource in Nevada?

Commerce staff receive questions like this frequently, and it seems that that the volume of questions is going up over time as more companies get into the business of providing renewable energy to utilities and consumers.

The “Pacific Northwest” definition:  A complex mix of hydrology, history, and state boundaries

Anyone who looks up the geographic eligibility definition in the EIA statute (Chapter 19.285 RCW) will discover the answer is not in state law. When the EIA was created, it used a geographic definition borrowed from a 1980 federal law that established the Pacific Northwest Electric Power and Conservation Planning Council.

This federal definition is a complicated mixture of political boundaries, hydrologic boundaries, and legacy service areas of various rural electric cooperatives. Here is the full definition in federal law:

‘‘Pacific Northwest’’, ‘‘region’’, or ‘‘regional’’ means—

(A) the area consisting of the States of Oregon, Washington, and Idaho, the portion of the State of Montana west of the Continental Divide, and such portions of the States of Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming as are within the Columbia River drainage basin; and

(B) any contiguous areas, not in excess of 75 air miles from the area referred to in subparagraph (A), which are a part of the service area of a rural electric cooperative customer served by the Administrator on Dec. 5, 1980, which has a distribution system from which it serves both  within and without such region.

The most obvious part of this definition is where it refers to specific political boundaries: The entire states of Washington, Oregon and Idaho are eligible. Any renewable generating unit anywhere in those states meets the geographic eligibility standard. Also, the definition rules out any project in Canada, since only states or portions of states are included.

From there, the definition gets considerably more complicated. It relies on the physical boundaries of the Columbia River drainage basin, which includes both the Columbia River itself and all of the streams that directly or indirectly flow into it. This boundary would be complicated enough, but it is then expanded by the “contiguous areas” provision. This provision adds the areas where any rural electric cooperative was serving customers back in 1980, as long as that area is not any further than 75 miles from the river-based boundary.

The EIA geographic boundary includes only small portions of Wyoming, Nevada, Utah, and California

The EIA geographic definition is so complicated that few people would ever understand it. It specifically mentions seven states, and that makes the eligible area seem broader than it really is.

This misunderstanding is most common for Wyoming, Nevada, Utah and California. These states are mentioned in the definition, but the actual eligible area is actually very small. For example, in California, it is just the area in the extreme northeast corner of the state, where Surprise Valley Electrification Corp. is the local utility. Most of those four states are outside the EIA’s geographic eligibility boundary.

BPA’s customer map is our best guide to geographic area

The most complicated portions of the Pacific Northwest definition are connected to the service areas of the utility customers of the Bonneville Power Administration (BPA). Therefore Commerce has found that BPA’s map of its customer service areas provides the best guide in figuring out whether a particular spot on the ground is inside or outside the official “Pacific Northwest” area. BPA’s team of cartographers (or geographic information system specialists) has produced a map that outlines the service area. A snapshot is shown here, but the best way to use the map is online, using the zoom feature to examine specific locations. (Select the “BPA Service Area” layer and unselect anything else.)

BPA Map

BPA customer map

Users should keep in mind the legal disclaimers that come with the BPA customer map, but it provides the best available information on what’s in and what’s out under the Washington EIA.

Even this complicated “Pacific Northwest” definition has exceptions

A further challenge in sorting out geographic eligibility is that in some cases, the “Pacific Northwest” boundary does not actually matter. These exceptions are:

Hydroelectric facilities in pipes and canals – The geographic eligibility of these projects is restricted to facilities in Washington.

Multi-state utilities – A utility that operates in states other than Washington may use renewable resources in another state where it has customers. For example, PacifiCorp has used wind energy from Wyoming projects that are located outside the Pacific Northwest boundary. This provision does not apply to hydro facilities, and the utility must own or have a long-term purchased power contract for the renewable resource.

Power delivered into Washington on a real-time basis – The geographic boundary does not apply if the electricity is “delivered into Washington state on a real-time basis without shaping, storage, or integration services.” This provision does not apply to hydro facilities.

The real-time delivery exception is pretty arcane, and the EIA statute does not define any of the terms used there. However, Commerce issued an advisory opinion in 2016 that ties this provision to the techniques electric utilities use to manage the electric power transmission system. It provides an approach that a project owner and a Washington utility could use to qualify an out-of-region resource under the EIA. A recent study by BPA and its partners concluded that by using this approach, developers could likely build wind projects in eastern Montana and eligible real-time deliveries of the electricity into Washington that would be eligible under the Washington EIA.

A more straightforward definition would be helpful

The BPA map is a helpful resource, but even better would be a less complicated definition. The definition is opaque to the companies that develop new renewable energy projects, and even the staff at Washington utilities often need help in figuring out what is eligible and what is not. It is too easy to reach an incorrect conclusion about whether a resource in California, Utah, Nevada, Wyoming or Montana is eligible.

It also is hard to see any public purpose being served by having such a complex geographic boundary. The limit on geographic eligibility is meant to support the development of renewable resource that are reasonably close to Washington’s customers. That purpose could be served with a simple boundary based on state lines. For example, the geographic eligibility boundary could include the entire states of Washington, Oregon, Idaho and Montana. This would remove the small slices of Nevada, Utah, California, and Wyoming while adding the eastern side of Montana.

Share this Post: