历史性预算加快了对帮助企业,家庭和地方政府反弹和增长的投资

  • 五月14日, 2021

正如您现在可能已经知道的那样,2021-23年的州两年期预算对大流行之后华盛顿的复苏和增长轨迹进行了历史性投资。 在Commerce,我们正在为未来的重大工作做准备,因为我们将执行2.7亿美元的运营预算和2.4亿美元的资本金。 我们的团队正在壮大–我们正在招募杰出的团队成员,因此我邀请您退房并分享当前发布的职位,并关注更多 点击此处 随着我们增强我们的能力,尤其是在公平和包容性以及经济发展和社区外联方面。 像往常一样,商务部将有足够的能力来应对未来的重大挑战,我们很高兴能接受如此众多重要计划的任务,这些计划将在未来两年及以后的时间内加强全州的社区。 以下是2021年会议和预算中的一些要点。

宽带: 随着学校和社区为限制聚会而保持开放的努力,每个人都难以承受负担得起的高质量互联网访问的差距。 这 华盛顿宽带办事处 该项目于2019年秋季启动,当时只有两名全职员工,没有自己的资金,并且领导了与州议会,机构,地方,联邦和私营部门合作伙伴的非凡努力和合作,以规划和定位华盛顿社区,以实现通用宽带接入。 2024年。现在,立法机关已经提供了400亿美元的基础设施资金,再加上由州议会管理的宽带资金 社区经济振兴委员会 (CERB)和 公共工程委员会,将连接并填补服务不足的农村地区和服务不足的社区中的宽带服务缺口,并利用额外的联邦资金。 由于SB 5383和HB 1336的通过,将授权公用事业区和其他地方政府部门向客户提供直接零售服务。商务部还将启动数字股权计划,以确保在有基础设施的地方,社区也有有意义的访问权限设备,订阅和数字技能。

住房和无家可归: 前所未有的投资将帮助人们避免迁离并支付房租,包括658亿美元的 租金协助 以及增加文件记录费,这将随着时间的流逝而带来可持续的收入,以解决无家可归者问题并创造永久性的支持性住房。 商业的 住房信托基金 将管理超过175亿美元的经济适用房,包括125亿美元的竞争性资金,另外120亿美元将拨给地方政府和非营利组织,以支持快速购置房地产,以便在最需要的地方提供更多住房。 提供了超过190亿美元,以帮助房主保住房屋并避免丧失抵押品赎回权。 低收入房主和租房者都将能够通过该计划获得额外的80万美元的公用事业援助。 低收入家庭和能源援助计划 (LIHEAP)来解决安装电费和水费的问题。 预算还加深了该州对“锚社区”的持续投资,这是在皮尔斯,斯波坎,瓦拉瓦拉和亚基马县成功开展的地区性举措,旨在为无家可归的年轻人和年轻人提供预防和服务。 商务部还将为住房所有权种族差异工作组配备人员,以识别并向立法机关提出建议,以消除住房所有权障碍。

经济发展: 商业的 经济发展与竞争力办公室 将管理第五轮华盛顿工作紧急小企业援助赠款。 此外,得益于两党立法HB 1170,商务部还将能够在支持和发展先进制造业的区域努力中加深战略投资,这是持久的经济复苏的核心支柱,持久的经济复苏将创造并维持良好的家庭工资工作。 商务部将制定一项计划,通过州小企业信贷计划实施138亿美元的联邦资金,我们将把在大流行期间试行的小企业弹性网络转变为持久计划,以帮助小企业与具有文化背景的服务相连接并平等获得机会。

气候与环境正义: 在我们整个机构中,商务部将努力将环境正义原则纳入我们的决策中,从预算制定到资金决策。 我们的 能源部 帮助领导了复杂的技术工作 SB 5141。 我们将采取行动来执行这一变革性任务,以减少商务部和其他州机构之间的环境与健康差距,同时在通知实施两项使华盛顿跃居应对气候变化的州首位的法案的法案中扮演新的支持角色:《气候承诺法》和清洁燃料标准。 商务部的增长管理服务部门将在此过渡期间制定指南,以便地方政府可以在其综合计划中应对气候变化和弹性。 此外, 清洁能源基金 将继续投资和促进能源创新,包括通过运输电气化赠款。

社区服务: 华盛顿州介入了15万美元,以填补由商务部管理的犯罪受害人服务联邦资金的暂时缺口 犯罪受害者宣传办公室 (OCVA)。 继布雷克(Blake)决定之后,我们还将首次为提供再入服务的非营利组织管理一项5万美元的赠款计划。 新的 枪支安全办公室 将有资金用于社区拨款。 商务部还将以儿童保育合作工作队的开创性工作为基础,为儿童保育设施的翻新工作提供新的资金,并促进区域合作伙伴关系,以解决所有人都无法获得优质,负担得起的儿童保育的问题。

地方政府和基础设施: 公共工程委员会将为基础设施实施129亿美元的超低利率贷款,预计该贷款将随着时间的流逝而转回该帐户。 该委员会还将管理公共基础设施的额外联邦拨款。 新的资本预算还包括对社区设施的深入投资,包括行为健康和早期学习。

公平宣传: 商务部将参与社区外展和倾听会议,以找出目前阻碍实现以社区为中心的项目的州资本融资计划中的障碍,并管理5万美元的专门用于解决此类障碍的资本资金。 我们还将通过将近50个其他条件帮助提供资金,这些条件可以帮助特定计划或梦想成为全州社区的现实。

这只是对我们机构未来激动人心的工作的快速概览。 我感谢我们的商务团队成员的辛勤工作,专业知识和奉献精神,他们所有人都在使本届会议取得成功中发挥了作用,在我们执行委托给我们的资金和计划的过程中,他们将焕发光芒。 我真的很荣幸能领导这个杰出的团队。

分享这篇文章

Historic budget accelerates investments in helping businesses, families and local governments rebound and grow

  • May 14, 2021

As you are likely aware by now, the 2021-23 state biennial budget makes historic investments in Washington’s recovery and growth trajectory coming out of the pandemic. At Commerce, we are preparing for significant work ahead as we implement a $2.7 billion operating budget and $2.4 billion in capital funding. Our team is growing – we’re recruiting exceptional team members, so I invite you to check out and share positions currently posted and watch for more here as we enhance our capabilities, particularly around equity and inclusion, and economic development and community outreach. As always, Commerce will be well-equipped to tackle the big challenges ahead, and we’re excited to be tasked with so many important programs that will strengthen communities throughout the state over the next two years and beyond. Here are some highlights from the 2021 session and budget.

Broadband: As schools and communities struggled to stay open through restrictions on physical gathering, gaps in access to affordable, high-quality internet access became painfully apparent to everyone.  The Washington Broadband Office launched in fall of 2019 with two full-time staff and no funding of its own, and led an exceptional effort and collaboration with state boards, agencies, local, federal and private sector partners to map out and position Washington communities for universal broadband access by 2024. Now, the Legislature has provided $400 million in infrastructure funding, which, combined with broadband funding administered by the Community Economic Revitalization Board (CERB) and Public Works Board, will connect and fill broadband service gaps in unserved rural areas and underserved communities and leverage additional federal funds.   Public utility districts and other local government subdivisions will be empowered to provide direct retail service to customers thanks to the passage of SB 5383 and HB 1336. Commerce will also launch a digital equity program to ensure that where there is infrastructure, communities also have meaningful access to devices, subscriptions and digital skills.

Housing and homelessness: Unprecedented investments will help people avoid eviction and pay their rent, including $658 million in rental assistance and an increase in document recording fees, which will dedicate sustainable revenues over time to address homelessness and create permanent supportive housing.  Commerce’s Housing Trust Fund will administer more than $175 million for affordable housing, including $125 million in competitive funding, and an additional $120 million will be granted to local governments and nonprofits to support rapid acquisition of properties to make more housing units available where they’re needed most.  More than $190 million is provided to help homeowners keep their homes and avoid foreclosure.  Both low-income homeowners and renters will be able to access an additional $80 million in utility assistance through the Low-Income Home and Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) to address mounting power and water bills.  The budget also deepens the state’s ongoing investment in “anchor communities,” successful regional initiatives launched in Pierce, Spokane, Walla Walla and Yakima counties targeting prevention and services for homeless youth and young adults.  Commerce will also staff a homeownership racial disparities work group to identify and make recommendations to the Legislature for removing barriers to homeownership.

Economic development: Commerce’s Office of Economic Development and Competitiveness will administer a fifth round of Working Washington emergency small business assistance grants. In addition, thanks to bipartisan legislation HB 1170, Commerce will also be able to deepen strategic investments in regional efforts to support and grow advanced manufacturing, a central pillar of enduring economic recovery that creates and sustains good, family-wage jobs.  Commerce will develop a plan to implement $138 million in federal funding through the State Small Business Credit Initiative, and we will transition the small business resiliency network that we piloted during the pandemic into an enduring program, helping connect small businesses with culturally competent services and equal access to opportunity.

Climate and Environmental Justice: Across our agency, Commerce will work to incorporate environmental justice principles in our decision-making, from budget development to funding decisions.  Our Energy Division helped lead the complex technical work behind SB 5141. We will move to implement this transformative mandate to reduce environmental and health disparities across Commerce and other state agencies, while simultaneously playing a new supporting role in informing implementation of two bills that catapult Washington to the forefront of states tackling climate change: the Climate Commitment Act and the Clean Fuel Standard.  Commerce’s Growth Management Services unit will work this interim to develop guidance so that local governments can address climate change and resiliency in their comprehensive plans.  Additionally, the Clean Energy Fund will continue to invest and promote energy innovation, including through transportation electrification grants.

Community Services: Washington state stepped in with $15 million to fill what is hopefully a temporary gap in federal funding for crime victim services administered by Commerce’s Office of Crime Victims’ Advocacy (OCVA).  In the wake of the Blake decision, we will also for the first time administer a $5 million grant program for nonprofits that provide reentry services.  The new Office of Firearm Safety will have funding for grants to communities. Commerce will also build on pioneering work by the Childcare Collaborative Task Force, implementing new funding for renovation of childcare facilities and to promote regional collaborative partnerships addressing lack of access to quality, affordable childcare for all.

Local Government and Infrastructure: The Public Works Board will implement $129 million for infrastructure as very-low-interest loans that will be expected to revolve back to the account over time. The board also will manage an additional federal appropriation for public infrastructure.  The new capital budget also includes deep investments in community facilities including for behavioral health and early learning.

Equity outreach: Commerce will engage in community outreach and listening sessions to identify barriers in state capital funding programs that currently prevent the realization of community-centered projects, and administer $5 million in capital funding directed specifically to address such barriers.  We will also help deliver funding through nearly 50 other provisos that help a specific initiative or dream become reality for communities all over the state.

This is just a quick survey of the exciting work ahead for our agency. I am grateful for the hard work, expertise and dedication of our Commerce team members, all of whom played a role in making this session successful and will now shine as we implement the funding and programs entrusted to us.  I am truly honored to lead this exceptional group.

Share this Post