التعرف على وجوه التشرد المتعددة

  • يناير

في ليلة الخميس ، 23 يناير / كانون الثاني ، انضممت إلى إحصاء الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في ملاجئ المشردين وفي السيارات وفي الشوارع وأماكن أخرى غير صالحة للسكن البشري.

لم أكن مستعدًا لعدد الأشخاص الذين رأيتهم في مسقط رأسي في سبوكان ، على الرغم من أنني زرت مكانين فقط. أول شخص قابلته في ذلك المساء في Union Gospel Mission Spokane كان له نفس عيد ميلاد ابني. من بين الأشخاص الآخرين الذين التقيت بهم كان جيمس ، مع صديقه المقرب من الفرو دوري (في الصورة) في ملجأ دافىء في شارع كانون بدون عوائق.

ولم أكن مستعدًا لمدى كرمهم معي في مشاركة التفاصيل الحميمة المؤلمة لحياتهم وكيف أن قصة كل شخص لها تفاصيل مؤثرة ربطتني بهم.

غالبًا ما كان فقدان أحد أفراد العائلة أو صديق مهم هو أصعب جزء من القصص التي شاركها الناس. من بين جميع التحديات التي لا تعد ولا تحصى التي واجهوها - البطالة ، والأمراض الجسدية أو العقلية ، والإدمان ، والعنف - يبدو أن فقدان علاقة إنسانية داعمة كان دافعًا شائعًا لحياة تتجه نحو التشرد.
لقد تأثرت أيضًا بالأشخاص العاملين في كلا المسكنين. لقد كانوا شرسين في إيمانهم بما يفعلونه ودفاعهم عن كرامة كل شخص.

أنا ممتن لما تعلمته في تلك الليلة.

يوفر العدد السنوي لمحة سريعة للمساعدة في قياس تقدمنا ​​في جعل التشرد نادرًا ومختصرًا ولمرة واحدة. في جميع أنحاء الولاية ، نقوم بهذا العمل مع شركاء المجتمع المتفانين ، مثل الجمعيات الخيرية الكاثوليكية في شرق واشنطن ، والتي تؤدي إلى جلب الناس إلى الداخل وتحريكهم نحو أمن الإسكان. يمكنك قراءة المزيد عن الجهود التعاونية المماثلة في والا والا في هذا القصة في نشرة الاتحاد أو تحقق من ملف بودكاست KNKX "Outsiders" بالشراكة مع مبادرة سياتل تايمز Project Homeless.

جلب الجميع إلى الداخل أولاً أمر بالغ الأهمية. إنه هدف شاق ، لكن الميزانية المقترحة من قبل الحاكم إنسلي ستمنح الحكومات المحلية الموارد التي هي في أمس الحاجة إليها لتقليل معدل التشرد غير المأوى على مستوى الولاية. يمكن للاستثمارات المقترحة إخراج الآلاف من الشوارع بينما تمهد الطريق لاستثمارات مستمرة في الحلول الدائمة.

ستوفر المنح المحلية الجديدة 66 مليون دولار لجلب الناس إلى الملاجئ - وهي الخطوة الأولى الحاسمة التي أثبتت فعاليتها. 30 مليون دولار أخرى ستخلق ملاجئ محسنة جديدة مع مرافق غسيل الملابس والحمامات ومساحات التخزين ، مع منح إضافية للحكومات المحلية لتنظيف مخيمات المشردين غير الآمنة وغير الآمنة.

بناءً على ما نعرف أنه مفيد ، تستهدف ميزانية المحافظ مساعدة إضافية للسكان الضعفاء ، بما في ذلك 2,300 فرد آخر مؤهل للإسكان والاحتياجات الأساسية ، والإسكان الانتقالي للشباب المشردين ، وتحسين البرامج التي تخدم المسنين والمكفوفين والمعوقين من المشردين.

تتعاون حكومات الولايات والحكومات المحلية أيضًا بشكل وثيق لتحسين أداء هذه المشاريع وغيرها من مشاريع المشردين. نضع توقعات واضحة وقابلة للقياس في جميع العقود التي تحكم الأموال العامة ، ونطلب إجراءات تصحيحية عندما لا تلبيها المقاطعات والمشاريع.

في اقتراح الحاكم ، ستتلقى وزارة التجارة ما يقرب من 850,000 ألف دولار لدعم نظامنا الخاص بمعايير الإسكان الميسور ، وجمع البيانات القوي وإعداد التقارير لقياس النجاح ، وضمان المساءلة في أداء نظام المشردين على مستوى الولاية. (ابحث عن البيانات والتحليل المقارن في بطاقات التقارير التفاعلية وحسابات الإنفاق على موقع التجارة.)

تعد تحسينات النظام ، وقياس الأداء الأفضل ، والتعاون القوي بين الشركاء الفيدراليين والولائيين والمحليين والخيريين جزءًا من الإجابات طويلة الأجل لهذه الأزمة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية قبل كل شيء.

لكن علينا أن نجعل الناس في الداخل.

اقتراح المحافظ هو خطة جريئة وواقعية لإيواء المزيد من الناس بسرعة. إن ضمان حصول كل شخص على مكان آمن ولائق ومستقر للنوم أمر ضروري لأي من الأساليب الواعدة لترسيخها.

حصة هذا المنصب

Getting to know the many faces of homelessness

  • January 31, 2020

On Thursday night, January 23, I joined in the annual one-night Point-in-Time count of people living in homeless shelters, in cars, on the streets and other places not fit for human habitation.

I was not prepared for how many people I saw in my hometown of Spokane, even though I visited only two places. The first person I interviewed that evening at Union Gospel Mission Spokane had the same birthday as my son. Among the others I met was James, with his furry best friend Dori (pictured) at a no-barrier Cannon Street warming shelter.

And I was not prepared for how generous they were with me in sharing painful intimate details of their lives and how each person’s story had a poignant detail that connected me to them.

The loss of a family member or important friend was often the toughest part of the stories people shared. Of all the myriad challenges they faced – unemployment, physical or mental illness, addiction, violence – losing a supportive human relationship seemed to be a common trigger for a life spiraling downward into homelessness.
I was also moved by the people working in both shelters. They were fierce in the belief in what they were doing and in their defense of the dignity of each person.

I’m grateful for what I learned that night.

The yearly count provides a snapshot to help benchmark our progress on making homelessness rare, brief and one-time. Throughout the state, we do this work with dedicated community partners, such as Catholic Charities of Eastern Washington, that lead to bringing people inside and moving them toward housing security. You can read more about the similar collaborative efforts in Walla Walla in this story in the Union-Bulletin or check out a new KNKX “Outsiders” podcast in partnership with the Seattle Times Project Homeless initiative.

Bringing everyone inside first is critical. It is a daunting goal, but Gov. Inslee’s proposed budget would give local governments resources they desperately need to dramatically decrease the rate of unsheltered homelessness statewide. The proposed investments can get thousands off the streets while setting the stage for continued investments in permanent solutions.

New local grants would provide $66 million to bring people into shelters – the crucial first step that has proven to work. Another $30 million would create new enhanced shelters with laundry facilities, bathrooms and storage spaces, with additional grants for local governments to clean up vacated, unsafe homeless encampments.

Building on what we know works, the governor’s budget targets additional assistance for vulnerable populations, including 2,300 more individuals qualifying for Housing and Essential Needs, transitional housing for homeless youth, and improvements to programs serving aged, blind and disabled homeless clients.

Our state and local governments also collaborate closely to improve performance of these and other homeless projects. We set clear and measurable expectations in all contracts governing public funds, and we require corrective action when counties and projects don’t meet them.

In the governor’s proposal, The Department of Commerce would receive nearly $850,000 to support our system of affordable housing benchmarks, robust data collection and reporting to measure success, and ensure accountability in statewide homeless system performance. (Find the data and comparative analysis in interactive report cards and accounts of spending on Commerce’s website.)

System improvements, better performance measurement, solid collaboration between federal, state, local and philanthropic partners are all part of the long-term answers to this foremost social and economic crisis.

But we have to get people indoors.

The governor’s proposal is a bold and realistic plan to shelter more people quickly. Ensuring everyone has a safe, decent, stable place to sleep is necessary for any of the promising most approaches to take hold.

Share this Post