了解无家可归的许多面孔

  • 31月2020, XNUMX

23月XNUMX日星期四晚上,我参加了一年一夜的时间点统计,这些人生活在无家可归者收容所,汽车,街道和其他不适合人类居住的地方。

即使只拜访了两个地方,我也没有为在家乡斯波坎见过多少人做好准备。 那天晚上,我在斯波坎联合福音传教团面试的第一个人和我儿子的生日相同。 我遇到的其他人中有詹姆斯,他与他的毛茸茸的最好的朋友多里(Dori)(如图)一起在无障碍的Cannon Street暖房。

而且,我对他们在分享痛苦而亲密的生活细节时如何慷慨地对待我以及每个人的故事如何将我与他们联系在一起的凄美细节并没有做好准备。

失去家人或重要朋友常常是人们分享故事中最艰难的部分。 在他们所面临的无数挑战中,失业,身体或精神疾病,成瘾,暴力,失去支持的人际关系似乎是导致生活陷入无家可归的普遍原因。
在两个避难所工作的人也让我感动。 他们对自己所做的事情充满信心,并捍卫每个人的尊严。

我感谢那天晚上学到的东西。

年度统计提供了一个快照,以帮助衡量我们在使无家可归,罕见和短暂的无家可归方面取得的进展。 在整个州范围内,我们与敬业的社区合作伙伴(例如东华盛顿天主教慈善组织)一起开展这项工作,该合作伙伴将人们带入内部并朝着住房保障的方向发展。 您可以在此阅读有关Walla Walla的类似合作成果的更多信息。 联合公报中的故事 或签出新的 KNKX“局外人”播客 与西雅图时报项目无家可归者倡议合作。

让所有人进入内部至关重要。 这是一个艰巨的目标,但因斯利州州长的拟议预算将为地方政府提供急需的资源,以大大降低全州无家可归的无家可归者的比率。 拟议的投资可以使成千上万的人流连忘返,同时为永久解决方案的持续投资打下基础。

新的地方赠款将提供66万美元,以将人们带入收容所-已证明行之有效的关键第一步。 另外的30万美元将用于新建带有洗衣机,浴室和储藏空间的增强型避难所,并为地方政府提供额外赠款,以清理空旷的,不安全的无家可归者营地。

在我们所知道的有效工作的基础上,州长的预算目标是为弱势群体提供更多援助,包括再增加2,300名有资格满足住房和基本需求的人,为无家可归的年轻人提供过渡性住房,以及改善为老年,盲人和残疾人无家可归的客户提供服务的计划。

我们的州政府和地方政府也密切合作,以改善这些项目和其他无家可归项目的绩效。 我们在管理公共资金的所有合同中都设定了明确且可衡量的期望,并且当县和项目无法满足要求时,我们需要采取纠正措施。

在州长的提议中,商务部将获得近850,000万美元,以支持我们的经济适用住房基准系统,可靠的数据收集和报告以衡量成功,并确保全州无家可归者系统的性能负责。 (在交互式报告卡中找到数据和比较分析,并在 商业网站.)

系统改进,更好的绩效衡量,联邦,州,地方和慈善合作伙伴之间的牢固合作,都是应对这一最重要的社会和经济危机的长期解决方案。

但是我们必须让人们进入室内。

州长的提议是一项大胆而现实的计划,以迅速容纳更多人。 对于任何有希望的大多数方法,必须确保每个人都有一个安全,体面,稳定的睡眠场所。

分享这篇文章

Getting to know the many faces of homelessness

  • January 31, 2020

On Thursday night, January 23, I joined in the annual one-night Point-in-Time count of people living in homeless shelters, in cars, on the streets and other places not fit for human habitation.

I was not prepared for how many people I saw in my hometown of Spokane, even though I visited only two places. The first person I interviewed that evening at Union Gospel Mission Spokane had the same birthday as my son. Among the others I met was James, with his furry best friend Dori (pictured) at a no-barrier Cannon Street warming shelter.

And I was not prepared for how generous they were with me in sharing painful intimate details of their lives and how each person’s story had a poignant detail that connected me to them.

The loss of a family member or important friend was often the toughest part of the stories people shared. Of all the myriad challenges they faced – unemployment, physical or mental illness, addiction, violence – losing a supportive human relationship seemed to be a common trigger for a life spiraling downward into homelessness.
I was also moved by the people working in both shelters. They were fierce in the belief in what they were doing and in their defense of the dignity of each person.

I’m grateful for what I learned that night.

The yearly count provides a snapshot to help benchmark our progress on making homelessness rare, brief and one-time. Throughout the state, we do this work with dedicated community partners, such as Catholic Charities of Eastern Washington, that lead to bringing people inside and moving them toward housing security. You can read more about the similar collaborative efforts in Walla Walla in this story in the Union-Bulletin or check out a new KNKX “Outsiders” podcast in partnership with the Seattle Times Project Homeless initiative.

Bringing everyone inside first is critical. It is a daunting goal, but Gov. Inslee’s proposed budget would give local governments resources they desperately need to dramatically decrease the rate of unsheltered homelessness statewide. The proposed investments can get thousands off the streets while setting the stage for continued investments in permanent solutions.

New local grants would provide $66 million to bring people into shelters – the crucial first step that has proven to work. Another $30 million would create new enhanced shelters with laundry facilities, bathrooms and storage spaces, with additional grants for local governments to clean up vacated, unsafe homeless encampments.

Building on what we know works, the governor’s budget targets additional assistance for vulnerable populations, including 2,300 more individuals qualifying for Housing and Essential Needs, transitional housing for homeless youth, and improvements to programs serving aged, blind and disabled homeless clients.

Our state and local governments also collaborate closely to improve performance of these and other homeless projects. We set clear and measurable expectations in all contracts governing public funds, and we require corrective action when counties and projects don’t meet them.

In the governor’s proposal, The Department of Commerce would receive nearly $850,000 to support our system of affordable housing benchmarks, robust data collection and reporting to measure success, and ensure accountability in statewide homeless system performance. (Find the data and comparative analysis in interactive report cards and accounts of spending on Commerce’s website.)

System improvements, better performance measurement, solid collaboration between federal, state, local and philanthropic partners are all part of the long-term answers to this foremost social and economic crisis.

But we have to get people indoors.

The governor’s proposal is a bold and realistic plan to shelter more people quickly. Ensuring everyone has a safe, decent, stable place to sleep is necessary for any of the promising most approaches to take hold.

Share this Post