社區訪問證實了夥伴關係的實力

  • 二零二一年八月十日

Summertime is perfect for getting out on the road to check in with the many partners who help Commerce fulfill our mission of strengthening communities.夏季非常適合出門在外,與眾多幫助Commerce履行我們增強社區使命的合作夥伴進行簽到。 I enjoy nothing more than learning directly from individuals and organizations across the state how we are doing and how we can do better at improving the lives of the people we serve.我享受的無非就是直接向全州的個人和組織學習我們的工作方式以及如何在改善我們服務的人們的生活方面做得更好。

在此簡短更新中,有太多要討論的要點-而且在秋天之前,我的“公路旅行”日曆上還有幾個停靠點-但在這裡我將分享一些內容,以使您了解在每個角落髮生的重大事件華盛頓。

與華盛頓州婦女委員會的里賈納·馬爾沃(Regina Malveaux)

我有幸與該組織的成員和支持者講話並會晤 華盛頓州婦女委員會包括世界青年女青年會斯波坎執行委員Regina Malveaux的委員,在由岡薩加大學共同贊助的WSWC會議和外展活動上。 由於經濟,社會和歷史原因,不成比例的婦女發現自己處於不利地位或與機會均等的利益隔離。 該委員會成立於2018年,旨在為州政府提供一個解決婦女問題的聯絡點,因為它知道改善婦女的福利將對更大的社會問題產生積極影響。 我鼓勵你 了解更多 並參與WSWC的議程和工作。

合作結束無家可歸

在斯波坎的Home Yard Cottages,國家住房信託基金資助的永久性支持性住房項目

我去過 院子小屋 in Spokane, a permanent supportive housing project serving low-income, disabled and formerly homeless people including women and children.在斯波坎,這是一個永久性的支持性住房項目,為包括婦女和兒童在內的低收入,殘疾人和以前無家可歸的人提供服務。 Our我們的 住房信託基金 幫助資助了24所房屋,其中15座為零,並配有太陽能電池板。 它們建在兩英畝的土地上,曾經用作斯波坎兒童之家的孤兒院,被稱為“家庭院子”。 隔壁是 過渡生活中心,提供案例管理和服務,包括在附近的New Leaf麵包店咖啡館和餐飲業的工作培訓(New Leaf滿足了斯波坎的華盛頓州婦女委員會活動!)Home Yard是整個州與當地人合作的數百個例子之一,聯邦,私營非營利組織和其他合作夥伴,以幫助結束華盛頓的無家可歸現象。

金縣霍布森廣場的奠基

另一個在這裡開創性地 霍布森廣場,金縣的85套經濟適用房專門為有特殊需要和精神病的人提供。 Commerce授予了300,000萬美元的贈款,以幫助其建設。

了解今年夏天達到里程碑的其他重大項目和住房合作夥伴,包括 指南針房屋 在埃弗里特,以及 瑪格努森廣場 在西雅圖

合作加強區域經濟

Carbitex首席執行官Ron Bonninger在討論三城市地區在材料科學和先進製造方面的優勢時解釋了他們的高性能碳纖維材料。

技術創新正在推動華盛頓多個行業的驚人增長。 當您聽到“科技”時可能會想到普吉特海灣地區,但這個世界比環繞大西雅圖的家喻戶曉的大得多。 我們最近在喀斯喀特(Cascades)以東旅行,重申三城市是科學和工程領導層帶來的機遇的溫床。 卡比泰克斯例如,通過具有靈活特性的碳纖維增強了碳纖維的強度,耐用性和輕量優勢,這些特性正在改變高性能鞋類,時尚和旅行裝備。 首席執行官羅恩·邦寧格(Ron Bonninger)同意,探索學徒制和高等教育合作夥伴關係,以建立具有先進材料製造和材料科學技能的強大本地技術工人庫,是我們在這裡支持蓬勃發展的區域技術經濟的一種方式。

太平洋西北國家實驗室(PNNL) 是清潔能源技術研發的領導者。 能源與環境局副實驗室主任Jud Virden博士向我們介紹了PNNL正在開發的先進電池技術,這在一定程度上得益於華盛頓清潔能源基金的資助。 電池和能量存儲對於開發更清潔,更具彈性和更可靠的電網至關重要,它將使低碳未來成為可能。

由Jud Virden博士領導的PNNL正在開發的電池和能量存儲技術,對於清潔,更具彈性和可靠性的電網至關重要,它將使未來的低碳經濟成為現實。

除了清潔能源技術研究之外,PNNL科學家本週還因其在新型輕質金屬的低能耗生產方面的開拓性工作而備受關注,這是另一個清潔能源基金項目! 剪切輔助加工和擠出(ShAPE™) 是一種新型材料和製造方法,具有非凡的性能並降低了能耗。 在工業規模上,ShAPE™有潛力使汽車和飛機更省油,更堅固。

華盛頓工程師和科學家不斷向世界展示的技術進步總是令人嘆為觀止。

Lamb Weston的全球供應鏈副總裁Mark Schuster提到LW創新中心,然後參觀了世界上規模最大,規模最大的大型,最新的速凍馬鈴薯業務。

說到令人振奮,我們的訪問 羔羊韋斯頓 Richland的總部表明了技術對農業和食品加工的影響。 在參觀了他們超級秘密的創新中心並瞥見了馬路對面的公司新建築後,全球供應鏈副總裁Mark Schuster帶領我們參觀了他們最先進的冷凍馬鈴薯業務-最大和最好的在世界上。 每天在這裡加工約5萬磅華盛頓種植的馬鈴薯,銷往全球市場。 在經濟發展戰略儲備基金的支持下,Lamb Weston在這裡的擴張受到了鼓勵。

我們與Shuster及其團隊討論的主要出口商面臨的挑戰包括不穩定的聯邦貿易政策和關稅,以及海港周圍交通擁堵的困難。

NoaNet正在擴大寬帶接入和質量,這是在農村社區建立機會均等的強大區域經濟的關鍵。

建立強大的區域經濟和在農村社區中發展機遇的關鍵是數字平等–人人享有可靠的高速互聯網訪問。

Gordon Thomas Honeywell副總裁Cindy Zehnder安排了一次參觀 NoaNet的網絡運營中心 在斯波坎。 通過農村寬帶法案後,我們獲得了有關寬帶基礎設施顯著擴展的詳細更新。

在他們的網站上了解更多信息: https://noanet.net/.

分享這個帖子

Community visits validate strength in partnerships

  • August 26, 2019

Summertime is perfect for getting out on the road to check in with the many partners who help Commerce fulfill our mission of strengthening communities. I enjoy nothing more than learning directly from individuals and organizations across the state how we are doing and how we can do better at improving the lives of the people we serve.

There are too many highlights to talk about in this brief update – and I still have several stops on my “road trip” calendar before fall – but I’ll share a few here to give a sense of the great things happening in every corner of Washington.

With Washington State Women’s Commission’s Regina Malveaux

I had the privilege of speaking and meeting with members and supporters of the Washington State Women’s Commission, including commissioner Regina Malveaux, executive director of the YWCA Spokane, at WSWC’s meeting and outreach event co-sponsored by Gonzaga University. For economic, social, and historical reasons, a disproportionate number of women find themselves disadvantaged or isolated from the benefits of equal opportunity.  The commission was established in 2018 to provide a focal point in state government for addressing women’s issues, knowing that improving the well-being of women will have a positive impact on larger societal issues.  I encourage you to learn more and engage with the WSWC’s agenda and work.

Partnering to end homelessness

At Home Yard Cottages in Spokane, permanent supportive housing project aided by the state Housing Trust Fund

I visited Home Yard Cottages in Spokane, a permanent supportive housing project serving low-income, disabled and formerly homeless people including women and children. Our Housing Trust Fund helped fund the 24 homes – 15 of which are net-zero, complete with solar panels. They are built on two acres once used as the Spokane Children’s Home orphanage and known as “the home yard.” Next door is a Transitional Living Center, providing case management and services including job training at the nearby New Leaf Bakery Café and catering business (New Leaf catered the Washington State Women’s Commission event in Spokane!)  Home Yard is one example among hundreds throughout the state of how Commerce is working with local, federal, private nonprofits and other partners to help end homelessness in Washington.

Groundbreaking for Hobson Place in King County

Another is seen here at the groundbreaking for Hobson Place, 85 units of affordable housing in King County designated for people with special needs and mental illness. Commerce awarded a $300,000 grant to help with construction.

Read about other great projects and housing partners hitting milestones this summer, including Compass Housing in Everett, and Mercy Magnuson Place in Seattle.

Partnering to strengthen regional economies

Carbitex CEO Ron Bonninger explains their high-performance carbon fiber material during discussion of Tri-Cities region’s strengths in materials science and advanced manufacturing.

Technology innovation is driving impressive growth across multiple industry sectors in Washington. While you might think of the Puget Sound region when you hear “tech,” the world is much bigger than the household names orbiting Greater Seattle. Our recent trip east of the Cascades reaffirmed that Tri-Cities is a hotbed of opportunities springing from science and engineering leadership. Carbitex, for example, is augmenting the strength, durability and light weight advantages of carbon fiber with flexible properties that are transforming high performance footwear, fashion and travel gear. CEO Ron Bonninger agrees that exploring apprenticeships and higher education partnerships to create a robust pool of local tech workers with skills applicable to advanced materials manufacturing and materials science is one way we can support a burgeoning regional tech economy here.

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) is a leader in clean energy technology research and development. Dr. Jud Virden, Associate Laboratory Director for the Energy and Environmental Directorate, updated us on advanced battery technologies being developed at PNNL, thanks in part to a grant from Washington’s Clean Energy Fund. Batteries and energy storage are essential to development of a cleaner, more resilient and reliable electric grid that will enable a low-carbon future.

Batteries and energy storage technology being developed at PNNL, led by Dr. Jud Virden, are essential to a cleaner, more resilient and reliable electric grid that will enable the future low-carbon economy.

In addition to clean energy technology research, PNNL scientists this week are in the spotlight for their pioneering work on low energy manufacturing of new lightweight metals – another Clean Energy Fund project! Shear Assisted Processing and Extrusion (ShAPE™) is a new materials and manufacturing method offering extraordinary properties and reduced energy consumption. At industrial scale, ShAPE™ has the potential to make cars and planes more fuel efficient and super strong.

It’s always mind-blowing to see the advances in technology that Washington engineers and scientists continue to bring to the world.

Lamb Weston’s Mark Schuster, global supply chain VP, points to LW Innovation Center before we tour their massive, state-of-the-art frozen potato operations – the largest and best in the world.

Speaking of mind-blowing, our visit to Lamb Weston HQ in Richland showed the impact of technology in agriculture and food processing. After seeing their super secret Innovation Center and getting a glimpse of the company’s new construction across the street, Mark Schuster, global supply chain vice president, gave us a tour of their state-of-the-art frozen potato operations – the largest and best in the world. About 5 million pounds of Washington-grown potatoes are processed here every day for global markets.  Lamb Weston’s expansion here was encouraged with support from the economic development strategic reserve fund.

Among the challenges for major exporters that we discussed with Shuster and his team are volatile federal trade policy and tariffs, and difficulty with transportation congestion around our sea ports.

NoaNet is expanding broadband access and quality, a key to building strong regional economies with equal opportunities in rural communities.

Key to building strong regional economies and developing opportunities in rural communities is digital equity – reliable, high-speed internet access for all.

Cindy Zehnder, vice president, Gordon Thomas Honeywell, arranged a tour of NoaNet’s Network Operating Center in Spokane. We got a detailed update on significant broadband infrastructure expansion enabled by passage of the Rural Broadband bill.

Learn more at their website: https://noanet.net/.

Share this Post