الزيارات المجتمعية تؤكد قوة الشراكات

  • 26 أغسطس 2019

الصيف مثالي للخروج على الطريق لتسجيل الوصول مع العديد من الشركاء الذين يساعدون التجارة على تحقيق مهمتنا المتمثلة في تعزيز المجتمعات. لا أستمتع بشيء أكثر من التعلم مباشرة من الأفراد والمنظمات في جميع أنحاء الولاية كيف نفعل وكيف يمكننا أن نفعل بشكل أفضل في تحسين حياة الأشخاص الذين نخدمهم.

هناك الكثير من النقاط البارزة التي يجب التحدث عنها في هذا التحديث الموجز - ولا يزال لدي عدة نقاط توقف في تقويم "رحلة الطريق" قبل الخريف - لكنني سأشارك القليل هنا لإعطاء فكرة عن الأشياء الرائعة التي تحدث في كل ركن من أركان واشنطن.

مع ريجينا مالفو من لجنة المرأة في ولاية واشنطن

كان لي شرف التحدث واللقاء مع أعضاء وأنصار لجنة المرأة في ولاية واشنطن، بما في ذلك المفوضة ريجينا مالفو ، المديرة التنفيذية لجمعية الشابات المسيحيات سبوكان ، في اجتماع WSWC وحدث التوعية برعاية مشتركة من جامعة غونزاغا. لأسباب اقتصادية واجتماعية وتاريخية ، يجد عدد غير متناسب من النساء أنفسهن محرومات أو معزولات عن مزايا تكافؤ الفرص. تأسست اللجنة في عام 2018 لتكون نقطة محورية في حكومة الولاية لمعالجة قضايا المرأة ، مع العلم أن تحسين رفاهية المرأة سيكون له تأثير إيجابي على القضايا المجتمعية الأكبر. أنا أشجعك على لمعرفة المزيد والمشاركة في جدول أعمال WSWC وعملها.

الشراكة لإنهاء التشرد

في Home Yard Cottages في سبوكان ، مشروع إسكان داعم دائم بمساعدة الصندوق الاستئماني للإسكان الحكومي

انا ذهبت أكواخ هوم يارد في سبوكان ، وهو مشروع إسكان داعم دائم يخدم ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمعاقين والمشردين سابقًا بما في ذلك النساء والأطفال. لنا الصندوق الاستئماني للإسكان ساعدت في تمويل 24 منزلاً - 15 منها صافي الصفر ، كاملة مع الألواح الشمسية. تم بناؤها على مساحة فدانين كانت تستخدم في السابق كملاجئ للأيتام في منزل سبوكان للأطفال والمعروفة باسم "ساحة المنزل" المجاور هو أ مركز المعيشة الانتقالية، توفير إدارة الحالات والخدمات بما في ذلك التدريب على العمل في مقهى New Leaf Bakery القريب وتجارة المطاعم (قدمت New Leaf حدث لجنة المرأة في ولاية واشنطن في Spokane!) يعد Home Yard أحد الأمثلة من بين مئات في جميع أنحاء الولاية حول كيفية عمل التجارة مع المحلي ، والمنظمات الفيدرالية والخاصة غير الربحية وغيرها من الشركاء للمساعدة في إنهاء التشرد في واشنطن.

وضع حجر الأساس لمكان هوبسون في مقاطعة كينج

شوهد آخر هنا في وضع حجر الأساس لـ هوبسون بليس85 وحدة سكنية بأسعار معقولة في مقاطعة كينج مخصصة لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة والأمراض العقلية. منحت التجارة منحة قدرها 300,000 دولار للمساعدة في البناء.

اقرأ عن المشاريع الكبيرة الأخرى وشركاء الإسكان الذين حققوا معالم هذا الصيف ، بما في ذلك البوصلة للاسكان في إيفريت و مكان الرحمة ماغنوسون في سياتل.

الشراكة لتعزيز الاقتصادات الإقليمية

يشرح الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Carbitex Ron Bonninger مادة ألياف الكربون عالية الأداء خلال مناقشة نقاط القوة في منطقة Tri-Cities في علم المواد والتصنيع المتقدم.

يقود الابتكار التكنولوجي نموًا مثيرًا للإعجاب عبر قطاعات صناعية متعددة في واشنطن. بينما قد تفكر في منطقة Puget Sound عندما تسمع كلمة "تكنولوجيا" ، فإن العالم أكبر بكثير من أسماء العائلات التي تدور حول مدينة سياتل الكبرى. أكدت رحلتنا الأخيرة شرق Cascades مجددًا أن Tri-Cities هي مرتع للفرص التي تنبثق من القيادة العلمية والهندسية. كاربيتكسعلى سبيل المثال ، هو زيادة القوة والمتانة ومزايا الوزن الخفيف لألياف الكربون بخصائص مرنة تعمل على تحويل الأحذية والأزياء ومعدات السفر عالية الأداء. يوافق الرئيس التنفيذي رون بونينغر على أن استكشاف التلمذة الصناعية وشراكات التعليم العالي لإنشاء مجموعة قوية من العاملين في مجال التكنولوجيا المحليين بمهارات تنطبق على تصنيع المواد المتقدمة وعلوم المواد هي إحدى الطرق التي يمكننا من خلالها دعم الاقتصاد التكنولوجي الإقليمي المزدهر هنا.

مختبر شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ الوطني (PNNL) هي شركة رائدة في مجال البحث والتطوير في مجال تكنولوجيا الطاقة النظيفة. قام الدكتور جود فيردن ، مدير المختبر المساعد لمديرية الطاقة والبيئة ، بإطلاعنا على تقنيات البطاريات المتقدمة التي يتم تطويرها في PNNL ، ويرجع الفضل في ذلك جزئيًا إلى منحة من صندوق الطاقة النظيفة بواشنطن. تعد البطاريات وتخزين الطاقة ضروريين لتطوير شبكة كهربائية أنظف وأكثر مرونة وموثوقية من شأنها أن تمكن من مستقبل منخفض الكربون.

تعد البطاريات وتكنولوجيا تخزين الطاقة التي يتم تطويرها في PNNL ، بقيادة الدكتور جود فيردن ، ضرورية لشبكة كهربائية أكثر نظافة ومرونة وموثوقية من شأنها تمكين الاقتصاد المستقبلي منخفض الكربون.

بالإضافة إلى أبحاث تكنولوجيا الطاقة النظيفة ، فإن علماء PNNL هذا الأسبوع في دائرة الضوء لعملهم الرائد في تصنيع معادن خفيفة الوزن منخفضة الطاقة - مشروع آخر لصندوق الطاقة النظيفة! المعالجة والقذف بمساعدة القص (ShAPE ™) هي عبارة عن مواد وطريقة تصنيع جديدة توفر خصائص غير عادية واستهلاك أقل للطاقة. على المستوى الصناعي ، تمتلك ShAPE ™ القدرة على جعل السيارات والطائرات أكثر كفاءة في استهلاك الوقود وقوة خارقة.

من المذهل دائمًا رؤية التطورات في التكنولوجيا التي يواصل مهندسو وعلماء واشنطن إدخالها إلى العالم.

يشير مارك شوستر ، نائب رئيس سلسلة التوريد العالمية ، لامب ويستون ، إلى مركز LW للابتكار قبل أن نقوم بجولة في عمليات البطاطس المجمدة الضخمة والحديثة - الأكبر والأفضل في العالم.

الحديث عن الذهن ، زيارتنا ل لامب ويستون أظهر المقر الرئيسي في ريتشلاند تأثير التكنولوجيا في الزراعة وتجهيز الأغذية. بعد رؤية مركز الابتكار السري الخاص بهم وإلقاء نظرة على البناء الجديد للشركة عبر الشارع ، أعطانا مارك شوستر ، نائب رئيس سلسلة التوريد العالمية ، جولة في أحدث عمليات البطاطس المجمدة - أكبر وأفضل في العالم. تتم معالجة حوالي 5 ملايين رطل من البطاطس المزروعة في واشنطن يوميًا للأسواق العالمية. تم تشجيع توسع Lamb Weston هنا بدعم من صندوق الاحتياطي الاستراتيجي للتنمية الاقتصادية.

من بين التحديات التي تواجه المصدرين الرئيسيين التي ناقشناها مع شوستر وفريقه سياسة التجارة الفيدرالية المتقلبة والتعريفات ، وصعوبة ازدحام النقل حول موانئنا البحرية.

تعمل NoaNet على توسيع نطاق الوصول إلى النطاق العريض وجودته ، وهو مفتاح لبناء اقتصادات إقليمية قوية مع تكافؤ الفرص في المجتمعات الريفية.

إن مفتاح بناء اقتصادات إقليمية قوية وتطوير الفرص في المجتمعات الريفية هو العدالة الرقمية - وصول موثوق وعالي السرعة للإنترنت للجميع.

رتبت سيندي زيندر ، نائب الرئيس ، جوردون توماس هانيويل ، جولة في مركز تشغيل شبكة NoaNet في سبوكان. حصلنا على تحديث مفصل عن التوسع الكبير في البنية التحتية للنطاق العريض الذي تم تمكينه من خلال تمرير فاتورة النطاق العريض في المناطق الريفية.

تعرف على المزيد على موقع الويب الخاص بهم: https://noanet.net/.

حصة هذا المنصب

Community visits validate strength in partnerships

  • August 26, 2019

Summertime is perfect for getting out on the road to check in with the many partners who help Commerce fulfill our mission of strengthening communities. I enjoy nothing more than learning directly from individuals and organizations across the state how we are doing and how we can do better at improving the lives of the people we serve.

There are too many highlights to talk about in this brief update – and I still have several stops on my “road trip” calendar before fall – but I’ll share a few here to give a sense of the great things happening in every corner of Washington.

With Washington State Women’s Commission’s Regina Malveaux

I had the privilege of speaking and meeting with members and supporters of the Washington State Women’s Commission, including commissioner Regina Malveaux, executive director of the YWCA Spokane, at WSWC’s meeting and outreach event co-sponsored by Gonzaga University. For economic, social, and historical reasons, a disproportionate number of women find themselves disadvantaged or isolated from the benefits of equal opportunity.  The commission was established in 2018 to provide a focal point in state government for addressing women’s issues, knowing that improving the well-being of women will have a positive impact on larger societal issues.  I encourage you to learn more and engage with the WSWC’s agenda and work.

Partnering to end homelessness

At Home Yard Cottages in Spokane, permanent supportive housing project aided by the state Housing Trust Fund

I visited Home Yard Cottages in Spokane, a permanent supportive housing project serving low-income, disabled and formerly homeless people including women and children. Our Housing Trust Fund helped fund the 24 homes – 15 of which are net-zero, complete with solar panels. They are built on two acres once used as the Spokane Children’s Home orphanage and known as “the home yard.” Next door is a Transitional Living Center, providing case management and services including job training at the nearby New Leaf Bakery Café and catering business (New Leaf catered the Washington State Women’s Commission event in Spokane!)  Home Yard is one example among hundreds throughout the state of how Commerce is working with local, federal, private nonprofits and other partners to help end homelessness in Washington.

Groundbreaking for Hobson Place in King County

Another is seen here at the groundbreaking for Hobson Place, 85 units of affordable housing in King County designated for people with special needs and mental illness. Commerce awarded a $300,000 grant to help with construction.

Read about other great projects and housing partners hitting milestones this summer, including Compass Housing in Everett, and Mercy Magnuson Place in Seattle.

Partnering to strengthen regional economies

Carbitex CEO Ron Bonninger explains their high-performance carbon fiber material during discussion of Tri-Cities region’s strengths in materials science and advanced manufacturing.

Technology innovation is driving impressive growth across multiple industry sectors in Washington. While you might think of the Puget Sound region when you hear “tech,” the world is much bigger than the household names orbiting Greater Seattle. Our recent trip east of the Cascades reaffirmed that Tri-Cities is a hotbed of opportunities springing from science and engineering leadership. Carbitex, for example, is augmenting the strength, durability and light weight advantages of carbon fiber with flexible properties that are transforming high performance footwear, fashion and travel gear. CEO Ron Bonninger agrees that exploring apprenticeships and higher education partnerships to create a robust pool of local tech workers with skills applicable to advanced materials manufacturing and materials science is one way we can support a burgeoning regional tech economy here.

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) is a leader in clean energy technology research and development. Dr. Jud Virden, Associate Laboratory Director for the Energy and Environmental Directorate, updated us on advanced battery technologies being developed at PNNL, thanks in part to a grant from Washington’s Clean Energy Fund. Batteries and energy storage are essential to development of a cleaner, more resilient and reliable electric grid that will enable a low-carbon future.

Batteries and energy storage technology being developed at PNNL, led by Dr. Jud Virden, are essential to a cleaner, more resilient and reliable electric grid that will enable the future low-carbon economy.

In addition to clean energy technology research, PNNL scientists this week are in the spotlight for their pioneering work on low energy manufacturing of new lightweight metals – another Clean Energy Fund project! Shear Assisted Processing and Extrusion (ShAPE™) is a new materials and manufacturing method offering extraordinary properties and reduced energy consumption. At industrial scale, ShAPE™ has the potential to make cars and planes more fuel efficient and super strong.

It’s always mind-blowing to see the advances in technology that Washington engineers and scientists continue to bring to the world.

Lamb Weston’s Mark Schuster, global supply chain VP, points to LW Innovation Center before we tour their massive, state-of-the-art frozen potato operations – the largest and best in the world.

Speaking of mind-blowing, our visit to Lamb Weston HQ in Richland showed the impact of technology in agriculture and food processing. After seeing their super secret Innovation Center and getting a glimpse of the company’s new construction across the street, Mark Schuster, global supply chain vice president, gave us a tour of their state-of-the-art frozen potato operations – the largest and best in the world. About 5 million pounds of Washington-grown potatoes are processed here every day for global markets.  Lamb Weston’s expansion here was encouraged with support from the economic development strategic reserve fund.

Among the challenges for major exporters that we discussed with Shuster and his team are volatile federal trade policy and tariffs, and difficulty with transportation congestion around our sea ports.

NoaNet is expanding broadband access and quality, a key to building strong regional economies with equal opportunities in rural communities.

Key to building strong regional economies and developing opportunities in rural communities is digital equity – reliable, high-speed internet access for all.

Cindy Zehnder, vice president, Gordon Thomas Honeywell, arranged a tour of NoaNet’s Network Operating Center in Spokane. We got a detailed update on significant broadband infrastructure expansion enabled by passage of the Rural Broadband bill.

Learn more at their website: https://noanet.net/.

Share this Post