商务部启动新的枪支安全和暴力预防办公室

  • 四月2日, 2021

Shalisa Hayes是一位执行使命的母亲。

2011年17月,她经历了母亲最大的痛苦-失去了在错误的时间在错误的位置的小儿子。 比利·雷·雪莉(Billy Ray Shirley III)XNUMX岁。 他在华盛顿州塔科马市的一个聚会上被枪杀致死。

对于海斯来说,这不是她第一次用枪支暴力。 她小时候就失去了父亲杀人罪。 这种损失带来的悲痛可能会瘫痪,但海斯在过去的十年中一直在行动。 海斯(Hayes)领导了在塔科马(Tacoma)东区的一个新社区中心的负责,并已成为制止在媒体和政策制定者经常忽视的社区中枪支暴力的主要声音。

海耶斯说:“多年来,有色人种对枪支暴力反应平淡,而不是植根于预防。” “作为多次遭受枪支暴力直接影响并努力减少枪支暴力的人,我们需要为社区提供必要的资源,以帮助改变持续不断的有害和致命趋势。”

新创建的 枪支安全与暴力预防办公室 美国商务部将领导全州范围内的工作,以协调基于证据的干预和预防策略,以解决社区枪支暴力问题。

阅读 全文 在Commerce的Medium网站上。

分享这篇文章

Commerce launches new Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention

  • April 2, 2021

Shalisa Hayes is a mother with a mission.

In August 2011, she experienced the deepest pain a mother could feel — the loss of her young son who happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. Billy Ray Shirley III was 17 years old. He was shot and killed leaving a party in Tacoma, WA.

For Hayes, this wasn’t her first brush with gun violence. She had lost her father to homicide when she was a young girl. The grief from such loss can be paralyzing, but Hayes has spent the last decade in motion. Hayes led the charge for a new community center in Tacoma’s eastside neighborhood and has become a leading voice for stopping gun violence in communities often overlooked by the media and policy-makers.

“For too many years, communities of color have seen a lackluster reaction to gun violence, as opposed to one rooted in prevention,” Hayes said. “As someone who’s been directly impacted by gun violence on multiple occasions, and who has worked to help reduce it, we need to supply our communities with the resources necessary to help shift an ongoing harmful and deadly trend.”

The newly-created Office of Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention at the Department of Commerce will lead a statewide effort to coordinate evidence-based intervention and prevention strategies to address community gun violence.

Read the full story on Commerce’s Medium site.

Share this Post