Board Information

The Legislature created the Public Works Board in partnership with local governments. Its task is to assist local governments in addressing local infrastructure needs. The Public Works Board operates a revolving loan program funded by a dedicated local funding pool. A citizens’ board comprised of local infrastructure representatives manages the Public Works Board.

The mission of the Public Works Board is to empower Washington communities to build and maintain sustainable infrastructure.

Board Responsibilities:
The Public Works Board administers four programs. The primary purpose of these programs is to provide assistance to local governments with infrastructure:

• Planning.
• Financing.
• Construction.
• Repair.
• Expansion.

History of the Public Works Board (PDF)

The Board derives its authority from the Washington State Legislature. It is encoded into law in the Revised Code of Washington.

RCW 43.155

The associated WAC is Title 399.

Archived Rulemaking Documents 2019-2020

The Governor appoints thirteen Board members for four-year terms. Three represent counties, three represent cities, three represent special purpose districts, and four are from the private sector.

Members meet every month to review applications for financing and deal with administrative issues. The Board conducts a two-day policy retreat in the fall.

Members are encouraged to attend workshops, conferences, and meetings on behalf of the Board. Often members are part of discussion panels at these meetings. Members are also offered opportunities to attend training courses that deal with infrastructure issues.

Kathryn Gardow, PE – Chair – Position #13, General Public

JC Baldwin – Vice Chair – Position #11, General Public

The Honorable Dr. Jeralee Anderson, PE – Position #2, City Elected Official

Justin Clary, PE – Position #8, Sewer & Water District

The Honorable Jerome Delvin – Position #5, County Elected Official

Mark Dorsey, PE – Position #3 – City Engineer

The Honorable Lora Petso – Position #7, Sewer & Water District Elected Official

Gary Rowe, PE – Position #12, General Public

Kelly Snyder, MPA – Position #6, Snohomish County Public Works Director

The Honorable Ed Stern – Position #1, City Elected Official

Matthew Stevie – Position #9, Public Utility District

The Honorable Sharon Trask – Position #4, County Elected Official


Position #10, General Public.

Interested applicants should contact the designated nominating organizations, or Board Liaison Ava Gombosky for more information.

Public Works Board members are appointed by the Governor of the State of Washington. View the Governor’s Boards & Commissions webpage here.

Board Meeting Information

Board Meeting:

Friday, November 5, 2021

This meeting will be held via Zoom. Information on how to join or call in will be included with the agenda packet.

2021 Public Works Board Meeting Schedule (PDF)
2021 Public Works Board Special Meeting Notice (PDF)

Board meetings are open to the public, and all are welcome to attend. These meetings are being held virtually on ZOOM through the end of 2020. Please utilize the monthly Board Meeting Agenda for connection information and meeting times.

If you would like to be on the Public Works Board email distribution list, please send an email to

Staff Information

Karin Berkholtz
Executive Director
Phone: 360-688-0313

Cindy Chavez
Budget Analyst
Phone: 360-725-3154

Jason Freeze
Resource and Development Project Manager
Phone: 360-764-9429

Ava Gombosky
Board Liaison

Maria Jawad
Management Analyst

Chase Johnson
Project Manager
Phone: 360-764-0392

Sheila Richardson
Broadband Program Manager
Phone: 564-999-1927

Policy support, administrative support, and client outreach are provided for the Public Works Board by the Washington State Department of Commerce.