وفقًا لـ RCW 82.14.330 ، تفوض الهيئة التشريعية توزيع الأموال من حساب مساعدة العدالة الجنائية البلدية (MCJA) إلى الحكومات المحلية لدعم وظائف وأنشطة السلامة العامة الأساسية. يمول جزء من حساب MCJA على وجه التحديد: (1) تطبيق القانون المبتكر ، (2) الأطفال المعرضون للخطر أو الذين يتعرضون للإساءة ، (3) الحد من العنف المنزلي ، و (4) التعاقد على خدمات إنفاذ القانون.

على الرغم من أن المبادرة 695 قد ألغت ضريبة الاستهلاك على السيارات (MVET) كمصدر رئيسي للإيرادات لحساب MCJA ، فإن الصندوق العام للولاية يواصل دعم هذه الخدمات. بدون الفروق في الإيرادات التي تم تجربتها سابقًا مع MVET ، سيظل تمويل برنامج المدن المحلية متسقًا مع مستوى تمويل العام السابق ، وسيزداد بشكل طفيف كل عام بواسطة عامل النمو المالي. يتم تحويل التمويل إلكترونيًا إلى المدن والبلدات كل ربع سنة من خلال مكتب أمين خزانة الولاية.

في عام 2003 ، تم تمرير مشروع قانون يلغي شرط المدن بالتقدم سنويًا إلى وزارة التجارة للمناطق (1) حتى (4) (أعلاه). تم دمج المناطق (1) إلى (3) تحت عنوان جديد ، "برامج العدالة الجنائية الخاصة" ، مع كود BARS 336.06.26 ؛ تظل المنطقة 4 تحت رمز BARS 336.06.25. على الرغم من الجمع بين المدفوعات ربع السنوية ، كان الهدف الأصلي هو دعم الخدمات في جميع المجالات الثلاثة على النحو التالي: المنطقة 1 (26 في المائة) - المنطقة 2 (37 في المائة) والمنطقة 3 (37 في المائة).

تظل المنطقة 4 "مقاولات العدالة الجنائية" ، وسيستمر توزيعها من قبل مكتب أمين خزانة الدولة بناءً على معلومات التطبيق السابقة ، أو على النحو التالي. في كل عام ، يجب على المدن المؤهلة حديثًا للحصول على هذا التمويل إخطار وزارة التجارة كتابيًا بحلول 30 نوفمبر للسنة التقويمية القادمة. تتحمل المدن أيضًا مسؤولية إخطار وزارة التجارة بأي تغييرات في ترتيباتها التعاقدية لخدمات إنفاذ القانون والتي من شأنها أن تجعلها غير مؤهلة للحصول على هذا التمويل. سيتم إجراء التعديلات في صيغة التوزيع لإضافة مدن أو حذفها فقط للسنة التقويمية القادمة ؛ لن يتم إجراء أي تعديلات بأثر رجعي.

Per RCW 82.14.330, the Legislature authorizes the distribution of funds from the Municipal Criminal Justice Assistance (MCJA) Account to local governments to support essential public safety functions and activities. A portion of the MCJA Account specifically funds: (1) Innovative Law Enforcement, (2) At-Risk or Abused Children, (3) Reducing Domestic Violence, and (4) Contracting for Law Enforcement Services.

Even though Initiative 695 eliminated the Motor Vehicle Excise Tax (MVET) as a major revenue source for the MCJA Account, the State General Fund continues to support these services. Without the revenue variances formerly experienced with MVET, local cities’ program funding will remain consistent with the prior year’s funding level, and will increase slightly each year by the fiscal growth factor. Funding is transferred electronically to cities and towns each quarter through the Office of the State Treasurer.

In 2003, a bill was passed eliminating the cities’ requirement to apply annually to the Department of Commerce for Areas (1) through (4) (above). Areas (1) through (3) have been combined under a new title, “Criminal Justice Special Programs,” with BARS code 336.06.26; area 4 remains under BARS code 336.06.25. Even though the quarterly payment is combined, the original intent was to support services in all three areas as follows: Area 1 (26 percent) – Area 2 (37 percent) and Area 3 (37 percent).

Area 4 remains “Criminal Justice Contracting,” and will continue to be distributed by the State Treasurer’s Office based on previous application information, or as follows. Each year, cities newly qualifying for this funding must notify the Department of Commerce in writing by Nov. 30 for the upcoming calendar year. Cities have the responsibility also to notify the Department of Commerce of any changes in their contractual arrangements for law enforcement services that would make them ineligible for this funding. Adjustments in the distribution formula to add or delete cities will only be made for the upcoming calendar year; no adjustments will be made retroactively.