服務社區

顯示家庭,消防員和建築師的圖像拼貼

建設強大的社區對於經濟繁榮至關重要。 我們的名字“商務”通常使人們首先想到我們是在促進商業和經濟發展。 我們這樣做,但更重要的是,一個健康,安全的社區是經濟繁榮的基礎。 一個不能沒有另一個。

社區發展和經濟發展是同一事物的兩個方面。 充滿活力的經濟是成功企業和自給自足的人的命脈。 我們在Commerce的工作是幫助縣市實現正增長。 我們通過一系列廣泛的計劃,服務和融資機會來做到這一點。 我們是改善當地建築,供水系統,學校,經濟適用房,公共安全,公共服務,公園和綠道,清潔環境和其他重要社區資產的合作夥伴

加強社區是我們工作的核心,華盛頓的立法者委託商務部每年在該州的資本預算中投資約1億美元。 我們與全州的縣,市,港口和其他地區合作,為我們所有居民打造更美好的未來。

住房是人類的基本需求。 如果沒有一個安全,體面的居住環境,那些可能在生存中掙扎的人們將幾乎沒有希望獲得滿足身體和精神健康需求,上學,找份工作並為兒童和其他家庭提供服務和機會的機會成員。 穩定的住房常常是克服依賴性並找到自給自足的途徑的第一個障礙。

為了創建高質量的社區,商務部與地方和地區機構,執法機構,非營利組織和個人攜手合作,通過倡導,預防和向受害者提供服務來應對犯罪,藥物濫用和暴力的影響。

農村社區

充滿活力的社區-人們想要生活,工作和娛樂的地方-對於支持經濟活動至關重要。 農村社區擁有獨特的資產和挑戰。 詢問城市中心以外城鎮中的地方領導人,他們最需要什麼來支持其人民和企業,答案也隨州的景觀和人口而異。 了解我們可以做什麼來支持您的目標。

商務部監督該州的《增長管理計劃》活動,該活動可幫助地方政府管理增長,從規劃關鍵區域和自然資源土地到指定城市增長區域,以及通過資本投資和發展法規執行計劃。

華盛頓州商務部為地方政府,非營利組織和社區行動機構提供所需的工具,以確保每個人都住在自己的社區中。 我們的工作範圍從增加可負擔住房存量的資本計劃到防止家庭無家可歸的計劃。

華盛頓州的所有縣市和城鎮都與Commerce保持聯繫,以獲取資源,資金和服務來幫助他們成長。 從供水系統和其他公共基礎設施到可持續發展計劃和經濟發展,我們為社區提供或指導他們獲得成功所需的支持。

針對企業和房主的氣候化計劃,用於提高公共建築能源效率的贈款,用於開創性的清潔技術研發的資金……這些僅僅是商務在幫助確保華盛頓州清潔能源未來的一些方式。

資產建設計劃為一系列本地組織提供支持,以幫助提高中低收入家庭的財務技能,從而實現長期的財務獨立。 WorkFirst與全州的社區組織簽訂了合同,以幫助有需要的家庭臨時援助(TANF)的受助人獲得報酬。

Serving Communities

Collage photo for Building Communities showing contractors reviewing blueprints, an at-risk youth, a police officer and a carpenter finishing a roof

Building strong communities is essential to economic prosperity. Our name "Commerce" often makes people first think of us as championing business and economic development. We do that, but more important is the notion that a healthy, safe community is the foundation for economic prosperity. One can't exist without the other.

Community development and economic development are two sides of the same coin. Vibrant economies are the lifeblood for successful businesses and self-sufficient people. Our job at Commerce is to help counties, cities and towns achieve positive growth. We do that through a broad portfolio of programs, services and funding opportunities. We are partners in improving local buildings, water systems, schools, affordable housing, public safety, human services, parks and greenways, a clean environment and other essential community assets.

Two binders that say projects and funding rest on a desk among other office tools

Strengthening communities is at the heart of our work, and Washington's lawmakers entrust Commerce to invest about $1 billion of the state's capital budget each year. We work with counties, cities, ports and others around the state to build a better future for all of our residents.

And elderly man sits alone on a park bench

Shelter is a basic human need. Without a safe, decent place to live, people who may be struggling to survive have little hope of connecting with services and opportunities to tackle physical and mental health needs, go to school, get and hold down a job or provide for children and other family members. Stable housing is often the first hurdle to overcoming dependence and finding a pathway to self-sufficiency.

//www.commerce.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/public-safety-landing1.jpg

To create quality communities, the Department of Commerce works hand-in-hand with local and regional agencies, law enforcement, nonprofit organizations and individuals to address the impact of crime, substance abuse and violence through advocacy, prevention and services to victims.

//www.commerce.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/rural11.jpg

Vibrant communities – places where people want to live, work and play – are critical to support economic activity. Rural communities have unique assets and challenges. Ask local leaders in towns outside of our urban centers what they need most to support their people and businesses, and the answers are as varied as the landscape and population of our state. Learn about what we can do to support your goals.


An aerial view of downtown Bellevue

The Department of Commerce oversees the state's Growth Management Plan activities, which helps local governments manage growth, from planning for critical areas and natural resource lands to designating urban growth areas and carrying out the plans through capital investments and development regulations.


Workers add framing to a new housing project

The Washington State Department of Commerce provides local governments, nonprofits and community action agencies with the tools they need to ensure that everyone is housed in their communities. Our work ranges from capital programs for increasing affordable housing stock to programs that prevent families from becoming homeless.

//www.commerce.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/local-government-landing1.jpg

Counties, cities and towns all over Washington connect with Commerce for resources, funding and services to help them grow. From water systems and other public infrastructure to sustainable growth planning and economic development, we provide or guide communities to the support they need to succeed.

//www.commerce.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/energy-landing1.jpg

Weatherization programs for businesses and homeowners, grants to make public buildings more energy efficient, funding for groundbreaking clean tech R&D...these are just some of the ways Commerce is helping secure Washington State's clean energy future.

A man in a wheelchair waits for a wheelchair accessible bus to arrive at a bus stop

The Asset Building Program provides support to an array of local organizations to help improve the financial skills of low- and moderate-income families leading to long-term financial independence. WorkFirst contracts with community organizations across the state to help Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) recipients become gainfully employed.

 

Share